We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel in busy city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel in busy city centre”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed here in January as a treat for my girlfriend for Xmas, we arrived around 10.30 to be greeted by the friendly doormen, unfortunately our room wasn't ready so we had a walk round, e town centre, we returned around 1 and it still wasn't ready this was the only slight downfall of the hotel. I know check in wasn't till 2pm but usual most places have rooms ready on time.

The hotel throughout was really nice and elegantly decorated with the huge chandelier above the main staircase,

We only ate desert here and breakfast in bed which was really nice and perfect for us to have a lazy morning before checkout. The food was really nice and very well presented.

The rooms are really big and couldn't fault them at all, with a sofa area and desk area, the bed was huge and really comfy.

The reception also brought us DVDs to the room on request which I thought was a really good idea having this service as we wanted a quite night.

I would 100% stay here again when visiting Chester and recommend other people to do the same, it's a lovely retreat in a busy little shopping centre. We will probably return in the summer.

Thanks Chester grosvenor for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glen1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,410
    387
    154
    72
    29
See reviews for
274
1,253
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My husband bought me a night at the Grosvenor as a Christmas present. Loved the valet parking, the sit down check-in and being personally shown to our room. A bit small, a bit chilly,not the bath we had booked, but nice enough to head back to after dinner. We tried the Michelin starred tasting menu, a bit of fun and theatre but bite size servings. After midnight however Chester city centre became hooligan hell and with a room overlooking the main entrance we endured four and a half hours of shouting and screaming and police sirens, which would have woken the dead. I know the hotel can't change its neighbours, but for a business that sells sleep, it is truly shameful that they rent that room at all. They've offered an upgrade if we go back, but we won't need it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank hmbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed for one night as special treat. The hotel is nice the rooms are very traditional. We stayed in a delux room which was spacious and comfortable. Even though the bed was very comfortable I was awoken in the early hours of the morning by two drunk men singing very loudly in the street below. I then found it hard to get back to sleep and heard the street sweeper at around 5-6 am. So didn't feel rested and relaxed the next day. We ate at the Simon Radley restaurant which was good but very expensive. Everything seems to be an added expense in this hotel. They have a spa but charge £35 pp to use it. A cooked breakfast is an extra charge, service charges are added on to the already high prices. No hot drinks in the room and these are charged as another extra. The service is excellent but I wouldn't return. It is overpriced for what it is and I have stayed in other 5 star hotels where you better value of your money and better overall experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Getwhstyiupayfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed here for one night 1st January. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, nothing too much trouble! The Michelin starred restaurant was closed because it was New Year's Day so we dined in the normal restaurant in the evening and the steak was delicious, cocktails fabulous too! Yes it is isnt the cheapest hotel around but worth every penny and we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angnboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

No doubt about it an excellent hotel but is it living on past glories? We upgraded to a deluxe room but not sure it's is really worth the price. A few minor points, no tea and coffee in room but they will bring fresh coffee before breakfast but I prefer flexibility of making my own when I want a cup. Arrived mid afternoon on a Saturday to find car park was full so had to wait until a few cars left. Bath and shower as slightly small but I guess it is very difficult to modernise an old building such as this. Staff were very helpful and polite. Been here many times but its starting to look tired and need to ask themselves whether they can still justify these prices. In saying that it is extremely popular and always full. Final point we booked bed and breakfast only to find it was a continental breakfast and if we wanted a grill it would have cost more.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

During our shopping trips to Chester over the years we always start our morning with coffee and breakfast at the Grosvenor. It has always been an excellent way to start the day.
This time however it had noticeably gone down hill. On entering the Arkle bar lounge the waiter was more interested in his computer than us. No personal touches like a polite "good morning", or taking the coats as usual. Coffee was half the size it used to be and no chocolate brownies, other guest seemed to have these but the waiter was unfriendly and not attentive at all. The bacon sandwiches we also cold.
Two regular customers who may never return?
5 star.......more like 2!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gazel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We were looking for a city break, hotel right in the city centre, with a spa and are we glad we found this hotel!
It was our first anniversary and from booking right through to departing the service we received was exemplary. We had a standard room yet it was beautifully spacious - especially the Queen sized bed! The bathroom off a lobby area was a good size, with plenty of amenities.
We were very fortunate to get into the Simon Radley restaurant for dinner and this really was the icing on the cake for a romantic getaway. The staff so attentive, yet respectful of privacy, and the food was out of this world!
We arrived at the hotel a little early, but this was not a problem, the concierge took our bags and off we went exploring the city for some lunch. When we returned later in the afternoon, our bags had been taken to our room.
Nothing was too much for the staff, from offering to bring our car from the car-park round to the front of the hotel, to making us feel incredibly relaxed - as people with stressful jobs it can often be difficult to unwind on a short break, however I fail to see how anyone cannot relax in this beautiful hotel.
Whilst there are other hotels in Chester, they all looked rather too modern / contemporary for this historic city - the Chester Grosvenor definitely hits all the right notes, and is in the most perfect location, especially if you want to wander the walls, or wander around the shops.
It is definitely on our list of hotels to go back to (and that list has very stringent rules!).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing