We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with the best location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chester Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Lees Summit, Mo
Level Contributor
707 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,232 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with the best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great place to stay and within the old walls of the city. The service was very nice and the spa was great. The only complaint was that the bar staff is a little "stuffy". Suggest that you get he hotel and spa package as it saves quite a lot. The rooms are nice and the beds are great. The shower was also fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank postrawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,362
    374
    150
    70
    29
See reviews for
263
1,210
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I treated my mother for an overnight stay. From the moment we arrived all the staff were attentive, thoughtful and polite. We were given rooms on the 3rd floor. Both rooms were lovely, quiet and comfortable. I had taken the advice of other reviewers and requested tea and coffee making facilities. I have no idea why you have to request them but for us they are essential! We had afternoon cream tea which was excellent. Drinks are expensive and the booking only comes with a continental break. This is fine for me but well worth the upgrade for my husband.
Overall we had a wonderful break in a superb location and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Me and my girlfriend came here for my birthday, very very nice hotel. The room was suppose to be £250 pn but got it for £134 from secret escapes. That came with continental breakfast.

When we first got to our room, was were so hungry. We used the mini bar Big Mistake!!! £2.50 for a small bag of crisps which you can get down the road for 72p. The beer was a average price and the chocolate bar was expensive..........

The parking is fantastic, Grosvenor Shopping Centre Car Park on Newgate Street its on level 2a. £8.50 for 24 hours, go to the car park and get your ticket then they sort it out for you when you leave.

My BUT is.............Continental breakfast is £17.50 and they English breakfast is £25.00!!!!! Yes you saw it right!!!!!! English breakfast not a full English breakfast either!!!!!! As we already had the continental breakfast we just had to pay the additional £7.50 each but when we got it......I'd be gutted to see what you would of got for £25 each for a breakfast you can put together for less than a £5. The orange juice was amazing!!!!

A good restaurant to go to is Hickory's, american themed. Very busy in there but great service and great food.

Room Tip: Get breakfast included if you can on your price if you want to have it there. As its very pricey!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed overnight for my birthday with my husband, daughter and her fiance.
We all thought the rooms were lovely, and the staff so helpful and friendly.
We did not eat dinner in the hotel, but breakfast in the morning was great. No waiting for a buffet - everything was ordered, freshly made and brought to you. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suemLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
586 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for our 30th wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. The 2 night weekend break with dinner in the brasserie one night and Simon Ridley the second was first class. It was worth the upgrade to a suite which was very spacious. Breakfast in the brasserie was also very good and the extra for the full English worth taking. The location right in the centre of Chester is brilliant.

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade to a suite it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Those who have not sampled the exquisite cooking from Simon Radley are missing out. We enjoyed the most sensational dining experience, enjoying the taster menu in Simon's signature restaurant. He is without doubt one of the best chefs in the country and deserves every accolade for his adventurous menu and impeccable presentation; served by the most professional staff, with wines presented by one of the most knowledgeable sommeliers around.
It was a culinary delight from start to finish.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgeorgejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Grosvenor, from the minute we arrived to leaving, all the staff were superb, the doormen, check-in desk, restaurant and housekeeping staff, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was amazing, with every detail seen to. Unfortunately we stayed on a Monday night, and the Simon Radley Restaurant was closed, but a reason for returning again we hope. Thank you for a fantastic stay,.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEds199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing