We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with exemplary service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Redhead
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old world charm with exemplary service”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights as part of a 21-day Scenic coach tour through England, Wales, Ireland and Scotland.

We welcomed the two-night stay as it was a bit o a "breather" along the way. Little were we to know how valuable and comforting this would prove to be.

The hotel is the absolute epitome in old-world service and this extends right throughout the property including, for example, the breakfasts. No buffet to share with the usual masses. No.

Just an outstanding breakfast served from a menu with white gloves to your table by professional staff. Think of your most desirable breakfast, cooked to your liking, ordered from a most wonderful wait staff and that's what you will receive.

More outstanding service was to come.

Prior to arriving at the Chester, my wife had picked up sort of stomach bug which made her quite ill. As a result, I rang reception at 11.30PM on that evening and a very nice young man asked about my wife's symptoms and said he would contact a doctor and that he would be in touch. Not much more than 30m minutes later the doctor was put in touch with us and, after speaking with my wife, advised her what to do. He then said he would ring at a specific time the very next morning in order to assess her as well as to arrange a visit soon after to examine her.

All of this happened and Dr Bodsworth ("Dr Bod") was true to his word. He was an older man with deep roots to the Chester district. That morning in our room he conducted a thorough examination of my wife - I was present - and he subsequently prescribed an anti-biotic and medication to sooth and settle her. I asked him about payment and he advised me that he would give an account to reception ($AUD150) which was very reasonable given the 3/4 hour he spent with my wife as well as the medication he supplied to her. We can't thank him enough.

Someone else who we can't thank is the young man who took our call in reception late that night when we were quite fearful for my wife's health and welfare. I do not know this young man's name but he acted swiftly in order to help my wife so we cannot thank him enough.

Indeed, when I went to settle my bill prior to departing on the next leg of our tour to the Lakes District the very next morning, this same young man recognised my room number and was gracious and caring enough to ask after my wife's health. At least I was able to thank him in person or his swift action and caring service to us when we were so far from home.

I think this sort of professionalism exemplifies the whole ethos of the Grosvenor Hotel.

Should we ever get the opportunity we would definitely stay there again. We cannot speak highly enough of the entire establishment.

Room Tip: Our room had a southern orientation over an internal roof but, nonetheless, it was very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,497
    399
    160
    74
    30
See reviews for
289
1,321
33
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Four of us stayed here at the end of November for a Christmas shopping trip. What a great location for enjoying the shopping, sights and entertainment that beautiful Chester has to offer.
We had the hotel offer that included a higher grade room, breakfast and lunch in their bistro. Fabulous. We loved the elegant rooms in the quirky old building. The sweeping staircase is a must for swanning about on and having photos taken. Parking is easy as it is connected to the hotel via a lift. Altogether a very memorable stay for very reasonable cost. I would definitely recommend this to couples and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a two night break at this wonderful hotel. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. From the doormen who welcomed us through to the managers, we were given wonderful hospitality.
We can not fault this hotel

Room Tip: If you want a room at the front of the hotel then it us advisable to telephone the hotel in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire,UK
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Excellent location. Very good Spa but room not as good as I had thought it would be. We were in Chester for family research and some Christmas shopping and staying for one night. I booked the basic room at £165 a night. It was nicely decorated but small, overlooked the car park, windows didn't open [we like fresh air not air conditioning]. Bathroom was a reasonable size but there were rather unpleasant brown smears on the tiles [I asked the nice "turn down" lady to clean it and she kindly did so]. We had not come across the "hospitality tray" thing before but on asking if they had tea/coffee making facilities in the room or should we order morning tea they said they would send up a tray. On arrival at the room in the afternoon we asked the girl to send the tray up as soon as possible. After nearly an hour we rang down to see where it was and it eventually arrived. The tray did have a selection of a couple of teas, some coffee "sachets", 2 mugs and a pot plus sugar and a kettle. Morning paper delivered at a reasonable time.
The hotel didn't appear to be full of staying guests but bar/restaurants very busy. Upgrading would encourage people to come back. In addition, on arrival we wanted lunch in the Bar but all tables were fully booked as was afternoon tea. .Nice waiter suggested we sit at the bar on stools which we did. People were queuing for the Brasserie at lunchtime too. We had pre-booked the Brasserie for dinner. So do book everything in advance especially around Christmas time. It appeared there were no concessions for staying guests but the next day we found an area on the 1st floor where it appeared you could have food. No one told us this!
We have stayed in a lot of hotels in the last 6 weeks so perhaps had rather high expectations.
We shall look for somewhere else to stay when next visiting Chester.

Room Tip: Room 250. Rather small but their basic room price. 2 windows overlooking car park. Windows don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in an Executive room as we were upgraded. I was staying with my mum so we had asked for a twin bedded room.

We were surprised how close together the beds were, a bit close for comfort in our opinion.

The room was clean and pleasant, nicely decorated. Not as large as we had expected.

We had thought there would be tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but there wasn't any. We discovered that you had to request complimentary facilities, which we did the first afternoon. We were provided with a kettle, a jug of fresh milk and a few tea/coffee sachets. These remained in our room for the 3 days, including the pot of milk. We were surprised that the milk wasn't removed/refreshed and the cups remained unwashed. Also there were no biscuits on the complimentary tray.

The cold tap in our room leaked around the base of the tap, making getting the right temperature difficult to attain.

However after all this, the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was nice, and an especially nice change that it was waitress service instead of a luke warm buffet in most hotels.

We appreciated the fresh bottle of water each evening when the beds were turned down.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gingergirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a couple of times over the years & loved it. But having read many of the reviews I was a bit concerned that perhaps it had changed!

I have to say though that it is as wonderful as ever. The staff are cheerful & polite. The rooms are clean, fresh & they really have thought of everything! (Hair bands, nail file, a section of the bathroom mirror that doesn't mist up!!)

I was a bit disappointed after reading some reviews that there was no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms. But after a quick read through the folder on arriving it clearly says a complimentary tea tray can be bought to your room. And once we had it they kept it well stocked throughout our stay.

My mum & I come every year to do our Christmas shopping & although we don't always stay here we do always book dinner in the brasserie & it's lovely. As for breakfast- continental is included & there is a great selection- you won't leave hungry!

We'll definitely be back & I hope some of the more negative comments on here don't put people off as it really is a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank GeoPatchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is my 4th stay at the Chester Grosvenor, I booked a Christmas shopping break with my husband and an evening meal in the brasserie with family who live nearby (Simon Radley was fully booked). I chose a Classic room which was situated over Boodles and so quieter than on the front. The room was lovely almost a suite with hallway seperate bathroom with shower over bath and plenty of marble. Staff are very helpful and not at all stuffy even though they provide everything you want and the doorman was chatty and gave us some ideas where to go early evening. I love this hotel , it's situation right in the centre of the City is ideal for shopping, a choice of restuarants and now attached to it Rococo chocolate shop.Perfect

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,634 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
662 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 44 in Chester
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing