We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely top class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chester Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely top class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our stay here was booked as part of a BIG Birthday celebration - to say I was wowed is an understatement, it is just the best hotel we've ever stayed in. The staff really do make you feel that you are the only guests staying there - they are pleasant, polite and super efficient. In fact, I would go as far as saying that they are the best staff we have ever encountered and all deserve praise for outstanding, professional service with a smile. My daughter had obviously explained the reason for our visit and the management certainly rose to the occasion and made our stay so enjoyable and memorable. We were upgraded to the Deva Suite which was absolutely sumptuous - so roomy, well designed and comfortable. A lovely bottled of chilled Taittinger Champagne was sent to the room courtesy of the management along with Birthday wishes and cake - unbelievable! It was all just soooo perfect, as was dinner and breakfast - faultless in every respect. Thank you Chester Grosvenor - you are awesome and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevwestview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    371
    150
    70
    29
See reviews for
263
1,204
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Right next to the Walls of Chester at the entrance to the Chester shopping area. From the checking-in to our 2 night stay we could not find one fault with the hotel. The bedroom was sumptuous and the bedding was so very comfortable. The staff were ever so helpful. Breakfast and dinner was great. The closeness to the shops was a boon for us.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melach9_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were to spend the weekend in Chester celebrate my wife's birthday, and have dinner on Saturday in the well regarded Simon Radley restaurant. Sadly I was taken I'll just minutes after we sat down for dinner. The staff including the manager were superb and very quickly I was on my way to the A and E at the Countess of Chester Hospital (also very good;no quite excellent).

The hotel is very well furnished, and watching the staff in the restaurant was like watching a well rehearsed ballet. What little of the food I saw looked good. To our surprise at lunchtime the following day the hotel sent a car with an excellent range of sandwiches and cakes in case my wife was hungry. How kind.

Room Tip: I guess they are all good, ours certainly was of a very high standard. The car park is part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M888RJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I had afternoon tea with a friend recently. I wanted to swap the menu around a little but this was met with irritation from the waitress attending my table. She struggled to understand what I was saying and got my drinks order wrong, not understanding the difference with green and peppermint tea. Again, to be met with mild irritation by her is understating it a little. She made you feel uncomfortable to ask a question. Other than this, the food was lovely and the other staff very polite and attentive. I go twice a year and have done for a few years and this is the first time I have not been happy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SweetpollyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Couldn't fault this hotel, great service, continental breakfast was included in price and was delicious, so glad we didn't upgrade for the full English! Location was so convenient, step right out if the door and into the shops, brilliant. We will be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

This was a birthday suprise from my partner to enjoy a lazy sunday special deal. I have been past this hotel many times and always wanted to stay here.
The hotel is beautiful and the staff are friendly and attentive. We were in an executive room and it was just perfect.

Definitly a 5star hotel and I loved the butler on the door with his posh hat and cloak.
Food was delicious but a little bit to fancy for my liking. However the steak was good and cooked to perfection. Id say the restaurant isnt very romantic unless you have a booth. They have a lot of tables for two, side by side and you almost feel like your dining with the table next to you. Would be nice if they had a piano playing or something and spread the tables out.

Beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean just like the hotel through out.

I know this hotel is very expensive to stay at but the deals are good and its perfect for location as the shops, restaurants and bars are all on your door step or walking distance. If you dont like shops and fancy a stroll by the river then that is a ten minute walk away and very pretty no matter what time of the year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocktailCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y Felinheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Just a passing glance at the façade of the Chester Grosvenor with its Roman colonnade (a heavy nod to the city’s past, no doubt) and top-hatted and long coat-tailed doormen standing proudly at its portals will tell you that it’ll cost you more than a few bob to stay in this “reassuringly expensive” establishment. And so it came to pass that my wife and I took advantage of a Sunday night special offer recently as part of a birthday celebration. The room, probably one of their executive types, was spacious and well appointed with an enormous and comfortable bed and “mushy” pillows (my wife kept examining them to see if she could find the manufacturer’s name). The bathroom was also luxurious with some choice toiletries but had one annoying Victorian feature involving the plumbing – the basin water took ages to go down and no amount of fiddling with the sink waste would make it move any faster. But that’s by the by as was the loud marching to and fro of one of the waiting staff in La Brasserie where we ate a delicious and near-perfect three course meal accompanied by a glass of pink Tattinger. Was she practising square bashing for a future military career or was it a signal to all colleagues to step up a gear? Was it all part of well-choreographed service performance that added to the theatricality of the eatery? The rest of the waiting staff moved quietly and effortlessly about and they were all very pleasant, including our aspiring major general (the only one wearing high heels). It set me wondering if there were a few hospitality and catering students undergoing training in a top-notch regime. With another backdrop, it could have been something from Gilbert and Sullivan. La Brasserie has more than a touch of fantasy with its décor and lighting, a bit like stepping into the past as the lead character does in Woody Allen’s Midnight in Paris. Next day, after the stars in our eyes had faded, we had breakfast in the same venue. Now, when is a continental breakfast not a continental breakfast? I have enjoyed plenty on the continent, including in Paris, Rome and many other cities where, in most half-decent hotels, it is usual to include a selection of cold meats and cheeses, but nothing more than a muesli mountain and a less than satisfying bowl of porridge along with toast, some breads, jam and tepid coffee at the Grosvenor. The best feature was the selection of breads, nicely presented in an artesan wooden bowl. Given Chester’s Roman heritage, you would have thought something a little more truly continental could have been served for breakfast. If desperately hungry, you can “upgrade” to the full English for £7.50 extra and we had no desire for this having had an “elegant sufficiency” the night before. Speaking of heritage, Chester’s city walls, cathedral and the riverfront are well worth a long detour, away from all the shopping madness, which seems to be the main attraction for many. One tip: always visit a hotel’s own website before looking at the booking sites because you may be able to find a better offer, as I did in this case.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing