We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable visit - for all the wrong reasons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This used to be our favourite hotel. We held our wedding reception here 10 years ago and absolutely loved the place. Beautiful rooms, exceptional service, wonderful spa. A weekend here used to be a real treat. I was delighted to be at the Catey Awards in 2006 when the Grosvenor won Best Independent Hotel of the Year - and I thought the award was well deserved. I'm not sure what has happened in the last few years. We chose to return for our 10th anniversary and had a completely disastrous experience. We booked a special two night stay in a junior suite, which included dinner in the brasserie on Friday night and dinner in the Simon Radley Restaurant on Saturday night. The weekend went badly from the moment we arrived - we couldn't access the hotel from the car park entrance because nobody answered the buzzer. Our room wasn't prepared on arrival (although we only arrived 10 minutes before the allocated check-in time) so we had to leave our bags and go for a walk around the city while we waited. The first suite we were given was on the first floor, overlooking the street and was too noisy - even on a Friday afternoon - so we had to move. The second room was full of gadgets that didn't work well - once we had persuaded the TV to come out of the bottom of the bed, we couldn't persuade it to disappear. It would have helped if there had been some instructions. The dinner on Friday night was very average - there was limited choice on the "inclusive" deal and the staff were pleasant but inexperienced (spilling wine, poor attention to detail e.g. missing cutlery). When we arrived for breakfast on Saturday morning we discovered that the cooked breakfast was not included - despite the fact that we were paying £600 for two nights (drinks naturally not included either)! We completed our nightmare weekend with a lovely dinner in the Michelin-starred Simon Radley restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal until 3am when I woke up in a cold sweat with violent food poisoning. We couldn't wait to get home. To make matters worse, despite completing all the hotel's paperwork about the food poisoning incident we've not heard a word from them since. By the time I returned to London and went to hospital, it was unfortunately too late to confirm the source of the food poisoning - but the hospital confirmed in writing that the "most likely" source was dinner on Saturday night. I'm sorry Mr Slater but the Chester Grosvenor is now, officially, my least favourite hotel and we will definitely not return.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room at the front of the hotel to avoid noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LCBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,826 - 1,832 of 2,541 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Recently had afternoon tea at the Hotel for my Mum's 90th birthday.
We had the champagne option and was expensive for what we received.
The champagne was opened and poured away from our room, there was no background music available, which would have been pleasant. The sandwiches, scones and cakes were quite average and although we were told that sandwiches would be refilled, it was fairly obvious after one smaller top up that we would be pushing it to ask for more.
What was to have been a special occasion turned out to be quite average.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank DensView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

every thing about the hotel is just brill the staff cant do enough for you cant wait go back dont miss out book and enjoy. you wont get a better place in chester make sure you find a good deal we booked with booking.com .

Room Tip: any room top class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fudgerengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Lovely experience from arrival to check out.
The hotel was extremely busy due to the christmas shopping and a wedding but service was still first class and had a nice homely atmosphere.
All the staff were pleasant and courteous but the lovely Door men were especially efficient, professional and attentive.
The rooms are luxurious and spacious and the bed and pillows extremely comfortable.
We had a delicious lunch and dinner in the restaurant on the saturday afternoon perfectly cooked and breakfast the next day was also a joy.
The Chester Grosvenor matches any 5 star hotel in London.
We are back in January for afternoon tea with my parents and very much looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our stay here was booked as part of a BIG Birthday celebration - to say I was wowed is an understatement, it is just the best hotel we've ever stayed in. The staff really do make you feel that you are the only guests staying there - they are pleasant, polite and super efficient. In fact, I would go as far as saying that they are the best staff we have ever encountered and all deserve praise for outstanding, professional service with a smile. My daughter had obviously explained the reason for our visit and the management certainly rose to the occasion and made our stay so enjoyable and memorable. We were upgraded to the Deva Suite which was absolutely sumptuous - so roomy, well designed and comfortable. A lovely bottled of chilled Taittinger Champagne was sent to the room courtesy of the management along with Birthday wishes and cake - unbelievable! It was all just soooo perfect, as was dinner and breakfast - faultless in every respect. Thank you Chester Grosvenor - you are awesome and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevwestview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Right next to the Walls of Chester at the entrance to the Chester shopping area. From the checking-in to our 2 night stay we could not find one fault with the hotel. The bedroom was sumptuous and the bedding was so very comfortable. The staff were ever so helpful. Breakfast and dinner was great. The closeness to the shops was a boon for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melach9_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were to spend the weekend in Chester celebrate my wife's birthday, and have dinner on Saturday in the well regarded Simon Radley restaurant. Sadly I was taken I'll just minutes after we sat down for dinner. The staff including the manager were superb and very quickly I was on my way to the A and E at the Countess of Chester Hospital (also very good;no quite excellent).

The hotel is very well furnished, and watching the staff in the restaurant was like watching a well rehearsed ballet. What little of the food I saw looked good. To our surprise at lunchtime the following day the hotel sent a car with an excellent range of sandwiches and cakes in case my wife was hungry. How kind.

Room Tip: I guess they are all good, ours certainly was of a very high standard. The car park is part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M888RJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
719 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £131 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing