We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chester Grosvenor
Nearby Hotels
US$90
US$80
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$119
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$147
US$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,738)
Filter reviews
2,738 results
Traveller rating
1,920
484
208
89
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,920
484
208
89
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssimon radley restaurantla brasseriearkle barthermal suitemichelin star restaurantturn down serviceafternoon teacontinental breakfastdeluxe roombeautiful hotelmini bartable serviceluxury hotelspecial occasionporridgeon arrivalcar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,010 - 2,015 of 2,738 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spend a wonderful New Year's Eve staying at The Chester Grosvenor and eating in the Simon Radley Restaurant. The room, food and staff were all excellent really made night an enjoyable experience. It was an expensive night, but if you are looking for a memorable night overall it was worth it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Davepick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This is an upmarket hotel, with prices to match. It has a Michelin starred restaurant, which has a great reputation. From longstanding personal experience, I can attest to the fact that this reputation is very well deserved. There is also a brasserie offering good quality (slightly more affordable) food, ranging from light snacks, through to a full meal. Other facilities include a spa/leisure suite and some excellent function facilities. The bedrooms are equipped to a very high standard and there is an all pervading air of luxury, as you would expect from a hotel with a five star rating.

My only reservation is that the atmosphere is rather too starchy for some people's liking and one or two of the staff can be rather pompous. Unless you are inclined towards confrontation, this can make guests feel a little uncomfortable and NO hotel, however many accolades it has, should ever do that.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
10  Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Once again the Boxing day lunch in Simon Radley's restaurant was excellent. The food and service as always was beyond expectations. Cannot wait for our next visit. We would recommend both restaurants with the hotel, however Simon Radley's would be our first choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenga52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Whilst Christmas shopping, we decided to take a welcome break and visit the Grosvenor for the first time in a while. All I can say is the food and drink was very enjoyable, and service good. Prices are a little steep, but worth it for a treat!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My daughter and I return to this hotel as often as we can. Just before Christmas we treated ourselves to shopping in beautiful Chester and staying at our favourite place. This hotel never disappoints! Everything was perfect from the greeting when we arrived to the fabulous food and wine in the Simon Radley restaurant. The food just gets better and have to say Gary the Sommelier always manages to find us the perfect wine to complements the food. He is a true professional and his knowledge of wine is exceptional. We have been lucky enough to have a little peek inside the kitchen and there is no doubt when you see experts loving their work. The friendliness, professionalism and attention to detail you find at the Grosvenor cannot be faulted. I cannot wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethBeetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews