We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 5 star Grosvenor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The 5 star Grosvenor”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the grosvenor in december 2013 for our silver wedding anniversary . Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We had a suite and it was absolutely fantastic . We had reserved afternoon tea which was a meal on itself . We also had a meal in the Radley a must for anyone who likes being pampered . I will return dave Waller stoke on trent

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davestokey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,497
    399
    160
    74
    30
See reviews for
289
1,321
33
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed for their Sunday relax and dine deal, the hotel was lovely and the 3 course dinner was divine with excellent levels of service. I cannot recommend the 3 course set menu highly enough, we ordered a couple of sides thinking that the meal would be small however the meal was substantial and the rib eye main was considerable in size and as tender and tasty as a fillet. If they have the salmon starter I would again recommend, it was almost salmon tartare but beautifully seared on the outside with a gorgeous beetroot puree.

The bedroom was lovely however I do have a few gripes, the hair dryer got very hot in seconds and then cut out, the air conditioning/temperature system is very poor meaning you need to open a window and you then have the issue of considerable street noise from revellers till the very early hours.

My biggest concern came at checkout, on arrival the hotel get you to authorise a pre payment for your stay plus £200 it is now 48 hours since we checked out and that amount is still being held. This was not the biggest issue, when we checked out we were left waiting for 10 minutes and then I asked to pay cash for the extras and debit card for the room, this was duly completed however today I discover that they took the whole amount off my debit card and took the cash as well. It has taken me the morning to sort out and the attitude seemed to be, "oh well, these things happen." There seems to be no process for receipting cash so ensure you check your bank to confirm exactly what has been taken and if you are using a current account ensure you can be without the pre authorised funds for several days until they are returned to your account and available to you again.

Overall I would recommend and I would go again however it is a shame that the checkout process put a damper on what was such a lovely stay in such a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the rear of the hotel so you are not on the main drag
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Britishlion2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Superbly located city centre hotel. Felt spoilt from the start when the car was valet parked by a charming doorman. Beautiful hotel and wonderful large room - extremely quiet away from the front of the hotel. . Breakfast fabulous in the brasserie. All staff very helpful and overall very relaxing stay !

Room Tip: Very quiet at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked just one night to celebrate our 43 wedding anniversary.

The room we were allocated was on the back of the hotel, without a view, but was very quiet. It wasn't a big room but contained all we needed. It was beautifully and comfortably furnished with good quality linens and towels. Housekeeping was excellent.

We enjoyed a glass of champagne in the Library Bar and then ate in the Brasserie. Unfortunately, with all the hard surfaces, it was extremely noisy. The food was good, well-presented and of good quality. Service was attentive.

Breakfast is taken in the Brasserie and is served to table. We enjoyed it.

We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is my fourth visit to The Chester Grosvenor. I booked the hotel through Secret Escapes and I have to say this travel site is brilliant.
I went with a friend and from the valet parking at the start of our night away to checking out the service was faultless.This hotel is full of old world charm and the staff bend over backwards to help you.The hotel is in the best location as its right in the center of Chester.
The bedroom was spacious and beautifully decorated with everything you needed. The downside with the room was that it was very hot and only cooled slightly with air conditioning,once the window was open the room was a lot cooler. The wifi wasn't very good but once I mentioned this at reception they reset it and it was better. Wifi throughout Chester isn't good though and I should imagine its through the many lovely old buildings there. The room lacked tea and coffee making facilities, however the hotel will provide you with these at any time if you request them.
We had a drink in the Arkle Lounge and if you like Gin the choice is amazing. We ate in La Brasserie and the food and service was wonderful.
I had a Ren Rose body polish spa treatment and it was divine and The young lady was lovely who did my spa treatment and the spa itself is superb.
Breakfast the next day was good with plenty of choice and again the service was faultless.
I was sad to leave and I am looking forward to my next trip to this hotel.
I will definitely be recommending this hotel to my friends and family and have done so from my previous stays.

Room Tip: We has room 134 which didn't have a view of the front but it was very quiet and in a good positi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Only stayed 1 night wish we had booked 2! Absolutely fabulous stay, Nickki in Spa did our body polish, it was so lovely. Meal in brassiere wonderful. Kevin and his colleagues made us so welcome. Mrs Jones was well chuffed x

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 34Happygolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just returned from a wonderful stay in the grosvenor for my husbands 30th, booked a deluxe room which was beautiful, bed very comfortable had everything we needed including a well stocked mini bar! We will be returning but will next time ask for a room at the back of the hotel as ours was at the front over looking the Main Street so were kept awake by loud drunk people from the bars below at kicking out time, despite this we had a fantastic time and would highly recommend. Staff are all lovely and nothing is too much trouble. Very glad we picked the grosvenor :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krofarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,634 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
662 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 44 in Chester
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing