We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It really should be great......” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chester Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It really should be great......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Have you ever gone back to a hotel even though your previous visits were underwhelming, in the hope that it will all be magically wonderful on another visit?? Well hopefully you are a little more sensible than me! I returned to the Chester Grosvenor for my third stay on the basis of "third time lucky". This hotel comes from a good family with all the right breeding, It looks good, it has nice manners- so then why does it never hit the mark? The rooms are pleasant however the air-conditioning is simply hopeless- your choice is stuffy or freezing! And the bathrooms are always hot because of the intense halogen lighting! It's always rather like stepping onto a movie set to so to the toilet!
But it's the service that lets the place down- it is not so much bad service but rather service with no warmth or interest in the guest. Staff just seem to be going through the motions albeit politely but are quite disengaged.
Sadly, the whole experience is underwhelming. The Chester Grosvenor has all the hallmarks of a great hotel........but unfortunately, it just isn't.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank grantdholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,362
    374
    150
    70
    29
See reviews for
263
1,210
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for £250 for a night which included parking, breakfast and 2 x 45 minute treatments in the spa - we thought this represented excellent value. Nearly every aspect of the service was great apart from a rather rude lady at check-in who made it quite clear to us we were too early and she would rather not deal with us....

Spa was great and the breakfast was one of the best I have ever had....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Hubby treated me to a night here as a surprise for my birthday recently. It was everything I expected it to be and more. We had a lovely meal in the Brasserie and some delicious cocktails too. The room was so luxurious and it was great to walk out of the hotel and straight into the city centre for some retail therapy.

It was one of those things which I'd wanted to do for a while as we only live 5 miles away and now I can tick it off my bucket list. I most definitely recommend a night here as a special treat.

Room Tip: Look at secret escapes as they have some excellent deals there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zany_janey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Outstanding hotel. Spotless throughout and very helpful and approachable staff who aren't over the top. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone for either business or pleasure. The hotel is situated right in the centre of Chester and has excellent access to anywhere in the city centre

Room Tip: I can't see there being a bad room, but maybe high up towards the back of the hotel would be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeHaury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here over night for an evening of entertainment in Chester, I fould the Hotel was far to expensive and overrated. Breakfast was average, and the bar over priced.

I would not recommend sorry.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights as our close friend was getting married at the Grosvenor. Absolutely everything was spot on from the welcome and check in to the service, the whole of the wedding day was exceptionally well managed (flawless comes to mind). The bedroom, though not huge, had everything we could need and was spotless. We've stayed in quite a few high end hotels as you'll see from previous reviews but the service, attention to detail and staff at this establishment raised the bar for us. I think the bride and groom and all their family were thrilled by how it went and we will be re-visiting next time we are in the area,

Room Tip: afternoon tea looks fab - though we didn't try it and the michellin starred restaurant is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Came to Chester with a group of friends and decided to try a typical english afternoon tea in this reknown hotel.
I honestly believe for the price I paid the sanwiches could have been better.The service was excellent though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabby Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing