We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A luxury experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed at the Chester Grosvenor with my daughter and her partner. The service was excellent at all times from the valet parking to the departure. The rooms fully met our high expectations and I would highly recommend for a special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDaddyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,387
    380
    152
    72
    29
See reviews for
271
1,233
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Only popped in for a few drinks after races (La Brasserie). But despite other reviewers, I've always found the Grosvenor reassuringly expensive (I love that phrase!!!). A glass of champagne, a few beers, and a couple of great cocktails made up by quality, knowledgable bar staff. All staff very friendly, polite, charming, and most importantly, just great at what they do. A touch of class, premium product at a premium price. I could have had similar drinks elsewhere, cheaper, but certainly wouldn't have been to the standard Grosvenor offer. Hitting high standards is easy, keeping them there is hard, and Grosvenor do that day in day out. Stop moaning and nit-picking about price people!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank bluebobw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Have always wanted to stay overnight here and have just returned from a nights indulgence with 3 girlfriends for a special 50th birthday treat and really couldn't fault anything. Our friends birthday so we had two interconnecting rooms and they were gorgeous, spotless, good lighting, huge bathroom with thick bathrobes, good pillows and air conditioning which was essential as it was stifling outside. The hotel left a birthday chocolate cake when we entered the room which was a lovely thought for our friend. They also put candles on her cake when we had our fantastic afternoon tea in Arkles Bar which again was wonderful. Evening meal was in the Brasserie and three of us had steak cooked to perfection, wine choice was good as was everything on the menu. We were not rushed and the wait staff were great, explaining the way the steak was cooked etc. Very relaxing coffee in the lounge watching all the race goers staggering back from the races! Breakfast was lovely, we just stuck with continental and it was more than enough, the toast, coffee and pastry basket was excellent as was the real grapefruit juice and it was all served rather than a buffet scrum - heaven! Service at this hotel is exceptional and that is what you pay for. A great time was had by all - try the chocolate shop attached to the hotel - amazing!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exvoguemodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

After a great evening of racing and we decided to end the evening on a high, so we thought.

Starters we all enjoyed, my volute was really tasty. The majority of us ordered steak for our main courses which were mediocre.

The icing "not on the cake" was the service. The staff were not attentive and only appeared when requested by a member of our party to do so. At one stage when someone ordered a glass of water it was "slammed" on the table. The waitress might as well have tipped it into the lap of the lady that ordered it.

Luckily we were in great company and the service did not ruin our day, but only just.

Over priced, pretentious.

Andy (Bolton).

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Kazel1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was the second time we have stayed at the Chester Grosvenor and the experience was equally as special as the first time we stayed. We had a special deal with an upgraded room and a 2 course meal we upgraded to the a la carte menu. The rooms are well presented and the staff welcoming, attentive but not too in your face. I used the very simple gym whilst my wife got pampered in the Spa. We will go back for a third visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaggieBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for a wedding. Party room would have cost £175.00 for the night but we booked the spa package. Everything included, room, spa package for two, upgrade on breakfast and parking, the total cost was £250.00. We did get a far nicer room than others we know who didn't book the spa package. Not sure if that was just luck or because we got a different package.

Can;t fault the hotel or service. Room was outstanding and the service.

We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on food. Breakfast was nice but nothing outstanding and not worth the amount they charge really, in my opinion. Breakfast is included but only continental, you have to pay extra for english breakfast. But saying that this is not the type of hotel I would usually stay at (due to costs) and it was a one off so worth paying all the extras for a treat.

Definitely worth the upgrade to the spa package as the facials etc are usually about £70 each, but again, I would not pay that amout for a facial there. I've had facials elsewhere for almost half that and felt a lot better when I came out. Again, nice as a one-off and worth it as reduced price for the package.

Drink prices in the minibar and at the bar for the wedding where extortinate. The food for the wedding however was gorgeous, mini fish and chips and burgers and bacon butties. Very very nice.

Worth going for a treat I'd say, but not too often.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzyfluzybadminton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

A superb afternoon tea on Sunday to celebrate my friend's special birthday. Professional, friendly service and a delicious afternoon tea
A selection of finger sandwiches on both white and brown bread, fruit and plain scones with butter, jam and clotted cream and exquisite french pastries served with a selection of teas or coffee

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing