We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on August, Friday and Saturday. We parked in the public car park on 2A and we made our way via a long corridor and a lift to reception. Staff were ok, not too friendly, but ok. We were showed to our room on floor 3. Nice large room, fantastic bed and very clean. We ordered some tea as there was none in the room. It was delivered by a friendly young man, very happy in his job. Breakfast was fine. Coni style in with the price and £10 for anything else. Our room was nice and peaceful, but guests who had street facing rooms were up all night due to noise from the street. Beware !!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,410
    387
    154
    72
    29
See reviews for
274
1,253
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay at the hotel and found it be all we'd expected it to be having stayed in a number of 4 & 5 star hotels and Paradores on our travels. The hotel itself is truly stunning. Our room was beautifully decorated, spacious and very clean as was the bathroom.. We ate in La Brasserie for dinner and breakfast where both the food and service was excellent. The staff a the hotel were very professional, helpful and very friendly apart from the receptionist who booked us in who, in our opinion was rather curt when informing us that a £200 deposit (which we were aware about as it was on our booking form) would be required for "extras" etc and that it would take approx. 10 days to be credited back into our account, (why it should take so long seems a little baffling.) The receptionist is the first point of contact for many guests and her general tone was not very welcoming at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAH1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had wanted to stay here for ages and now we have, -we were not disappointed. The Grosvenor is old style service and elegance without being old fashioned or stuffy. beautifully decorated with efficient and professional staff providing excellent service. Our room was spacious, well appointed and very clean and comfortable. We ate a very tasty and imaginative meal in the Brasserie which we both enjoyed very much. Unlike another reviewer, we were never referred to as 'guys' which made a welcome change! It's pricey, but if you want to push the boat out it's worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Time was, a trip to the Grosvenor Hotel main lobby bar was a five-star treat, best embarked upon with a high-limit credit card (preferably someone else's), a freshly starched shirt and your poshest suit. But standards are slipping at the Grosvenor. Our last visit there was a couple of years ago, when we stayed as guests, and back then everything was reliably fab and premium. But our last visit in July saw us introducing two friends to one of our favourite bars, and what a change. Aside from the dramatic reduction in choice on the drinks menu (especially in the cocktail area), we were looked after by what I can only hope is a work experience kid who managed not only to spill drinks on both 'rounds', but who also simply 'forgot' to bring us the repeatedly requested bar food menu (we ate elsewhere in the final analysis!) and insisted on addressing us as 'guys!' "Everything alright for you there, guys?" I know the Grosvenor is under (relatively) new management, but one of the city's jewels is starting to feel a bit like a Harvester!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Horrified-of-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Everything about the hotel and staff is wonderful. From the minute you arrive to when you leave it is service as you would expect it to be. We have stayed previously and everything about it was just the same. Food fantastic. Afternoon tea amazing. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredgreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just returned from a lovely one night break at The Chester Grosvenor Hotel. It is quite simply a stunning Hotel. The food is delicious and of a very high standard. The staff are welcoming friendly and efficient. The hotel has a very relaxing atmosphere, but if you really want to chill out they have the most beautiful Spa in which to do so, All this and just step outside the entrance and you have an abundance of shop's to suit all tastes and age groups. The surrounding tourist attractions are also within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Room 115 is a lovely Suite with a beautiful bathroom. It is also in a quiet part of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evian-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for one night recently and whilst the staff are friendly the hotel appears to be stuck in a kind of time warp...it was clearly along time ago, a lovely prestigous hotel and was probably the "grand dame of Chester" but now, 50 years later, it needs a dire shake over to take it to the 21st century. The corridors are dark, the rooms tired, the amenities limited etc.
Being the only 5 star hotel in Chester I guess they can get away with it but my guess is that 4 star hotels would probably be better. I will steer clear for my next Chester visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank manil0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing