We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An anniversary treat.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chester Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An anniversary treat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary and were very impressed by the whole experience. The staff were friendly and very helpful throughout. The room was super and had everything we needed including complimentary ground coffee brought to your room and the bed was massive.

Terrestrial channels and Sky sports on the television but rather strangely no freeview although there was a DVD player if required. The evening meal in the Brassiere was lovely and the food and service was superb, although the drinks were expensive (but not unexpected).

The hotel is smack bang in the centre of Chester and the parking £8 for 24 hours very reasonable. Chester is a great place to visit and a there is plenty to do over a 2 day break. Would definitely stay and visit again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,362
    374
    150
    70
    29
See reviews for
263
1,210
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have stayed in this hotel before[ excellent] and often eat /have coffee in the brasserie on a shoppingb trip with girlfriends[ what a treat] ;so I was delighted when a freind treated us to a Spa package. The treatments were excellent; the service fantastic, although we were a little disappointed to discover that the 'SPA' itself was fairly limited; consisting of a footbath; sauna plus hot and cold steam rooms- no jacuzzi/hot tub or pool. However we concede that this was entirely our fault for not reading the literature properly.The facial and massage I had was one of the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenmcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Always wanted to go here as it's reputation precedes it. The whole place is traditionally awesome. From the moment you walk in through the doors, opened for you by a uniformed gentleman , the place exudes class.
Everything about the hotel is sumptuous , our room which was a superior one was just that , having a massive bed but what really made the difference was the lounge with a comfy suite to lounge in.
You'll not be disappointed here but it is a special treat.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Decided to splash out for our twelve year Anniversary,so we knew that it was going to cost us more than we would normally pay , but I was aware of that and included a 60 minute massage for my husband ,and a facial and manicure for me.
We both had a very relaxing enjoyable time in the spa , it was a very nice treat.
From the moment we were greeted outside the hotel and had our car valet parked , we were made to feel very special and important ( a bit what it must be like to have money ) and that's how it carried on for our two day stay.
Our hotel room was comfy and well decorated,the shower /bath could of been better ,to match with the standard of the room,and they should of included complimentary tea and coffee making facilities for that instant moment when you fancy a cuppa.
We had an evening meal in the Simon Radley Restaurant,which was very filling and most enjoyable and drinks in the bar next to it. Both were pricey,but again it was expected for the experience of food ,service and quality of drinks available.
Forgot to mention the bed was enormous and we loved it.......... we both could starfish!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed one night in Chester 2 weeks ago , we went to book in there was only one receptionest she totally ignored us after about 10 mins I asked if we could book in the look on her face was enough to kill , you mean check in book in check in what does it matter she was not a very nice person and was not at all friendly . All the other staff we met were very nice but I am sorry first inpressions count and we would not go back there

Room Tip: We had a upgraded room as part of an offer they had on at the time , we found the bathroom very smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tazcazEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We treated ourselves to a stay at The Chester Grosvenor after a day at Chester Races. The hotel was perfect. Luxurious. Our room was amazing. The staff were polite and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We looked forward to our breakfast and were not disappointed. If you want a treat, its worth paying the extra to stay here. Hopefully we will visit again very soon.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HeleJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed one night at The Grosvenor on a Secret Escapes deal which included dinner in La Brasserie.
The hotel is beautiful, the actual room elegantly decorated however nothing amazing. But the bed .......magnificent ....most comfortable and indeed the biggest we have ever slept in. So comfortable that we chose to stay there and missed breakfast!
The meal was good despite being on the deal. Drinks are very expensive so beware!
All of the staff were very polite, with a special mention to the young man who was our waiter for the evening ( don't know his name, looked like Buddy Holly)
All in all, a wonderful hotel for a treat.
Will be keeping my eye out for more deals, but would probably eat out the next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing