We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,243)
Filter reviews
3,243 results
Traveller rating
2,305
555
237
103
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,305
555
237
103
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews simon radley restaurant la brasserie arkle bar thermal suite michelin star restaurant turn down service continental breakfast afternoon tea deluxe room beautiful hotel mini bar table service tasting menu special occasion luxury hotel on arrival porridge
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 3,243 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was our 25th Silver Wedding Anniversary and as we had met in Chester all those years ago my husband whisked me there for two nights. I did not know where we were going to stay but prayed it was going to be the iconic Chester Grosvenor Hotel...... and to my delight it was!! The lady who booked us in was lovely and she upgraded us to a gorgeous very large room on the right hand side at the the top of the stairs. It was on it's own and not near to any other bedrooms, had a lovely four poster bed, and a very large bathroom. Sadly no view as near to the Grosvenor Precinct, and a little dark. We threw our luggage in and decided to visit the many shops, places of interest etc. on our doorstep. When our feet were aching we went back to the hotel (which must be the best hotel located in Chester City Centre ever!!) We sat having coffee in a lovely room full of windows in the Brasserie watching the world go by. In the evening we went to a restaurant nearby. (There are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance) The next morning my husband got up early and went round the city walls which did not take him long. I did not go as did not have my walking shoes! (This is on my to do list next time we visit!) We had our breakfast in the hotel Brasserie. It was continental, filling and delicious (although at an extra charge you could have had a full English) The Brasserie is not open to non residents until after breakfast. I thought however that there should be a smart casual wear ruling (and no shorts) in the Brasserie as a couple of gentlemen looked like they were going to work on a building site! That evening we had a lovely meal in the hotel Brasserie. Some more info. You can park in the Grosvenor precinct car park for £10 a day (see hotel receptionist) Or even have it parked there. There is a private lounge for residents upstairs. There is a small spa and treatments room. Booking advisable. (Open to non residents) Also the staff were very attentive and lovely. We will definitely be visiting again.

Room tip: If you were wanting a view do not choose a room overlooking The Grosvenor Precinct!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileentwoodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChesterGrosvenor, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear eileentwoodhouse,

Thank you ever so much for a truly outstanding and detailed review - you are very kind indeed and I will be sure to share your comments with all of the team. We're absolutely thrilled that you had such a fabulous time with us in celebration of such a milestone wedding anniversary, it was so lovely to read all of the great feedback from start to visit and the time you have taken to do this for us is really appreciated.

We are of course delighted you wish to return and I do hope that it won't be too long before we can welcome you back to The Chester Grosvenor again.

Kindest regards,


Rebecca Roberts
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was looking for somewhere for a special family get together and the Chester Grosvenor was recommended. We were not disappointed! From the moment of arrival, the service was excellent, with friendly, personal attention. Our stay delivered everything I hoped for.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Travel03660870556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChesterGrosvenor, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Travel03660870556,

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed the friendliness and service throughout The Chester Grosvenor. It is always amazing to learn that we lived up to the expectations in which we hope to achieve for all our guests!

We so hope to welcome you all back again soon.

Warmest regards,



Rebecca Roberts
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

An impressive hotel in a great location. Service and facilities were excellent and all the staff were welcoming, professional and friendly. Wonderful afternoon tea in lovely surroundings too! Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Meander11087329604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChesterGrosvenor, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Meander11087329604,

All the team are thrilled at such a lovely review, and delighted that we were able to play a part in making your stay with us such an enjoyable experience. Our sincere thanks for this wonderful praise and a warm welcome back always awaits you here at The Chester Grosvenor.

Kindest regards,


Rebecca Roberts
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful short stay at the Grosvenor - a piece of old world opulence with the lovely surroundings of Chester city centre (though the room was wonderfully soundproofed!) , helpful and pleasant staff and just about every luxury in your room.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scenic43998091507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChesterGrosvenor, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Scenic43998091507,

Thanks so much for your lovely review, I am so pleased to read that location and comfort of your room was well received. We are always delighted to read such kind review and we hope that you will return again soon.

Warmest regards,


Rebecca Roberts
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at the Grosvenor a number of times and have never been disappointed. With an excellent staff and well appointed rooms the hotel is in the perfect location on the main street. Chester is a great place to explore on foot.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PaulGAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChesterGrosvenor, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear PaulGAberdeen,

We are so thrilled that your recent visit was such an enjoyable experience, your kind words are such a compliment to the whole team and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Chester Grosvenor very soon.

Kindest regards,



Rebecca Roberts
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews