We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic break”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I have just returned from a 2 night break at the Queens and I had to write to say what a wonderful trip it was. The hotel was very easy to find and as you dont have to drive into the centre of Chester you dont have to mess about with one way systems etc. The car park is right next door and is charged at £10 per 24 hours. We arrived at 14.00 on Friday, checked out at 11.00 on Sunday and were only charged £10. There are some comments on here to say the car park is not large enough but there were plenty of spaces when we were there. The hotel is situated right opposite Chester station and the walk into town is only 10 mins max. There are mini buses running every 6 mins outside the station that go into town.
The hotel itself is victorian and is seeped in history. There are cabinets dotted all around with newspaper clippings and memorabilia. The reception is at the bottom of a sweeping staircase in which you can see right up to the top floors.
Our room was just a basic room but was very grande and spacious. The bathroom wasnt the most luxourious I have ever seen but was very clean and by no means shabby. At night it did get very warm but we were able to open our windows.
The only small gripe we had was the price of the drinks in the restaurant in the Kings quarters. The meal was fantastic and was thoroughly enjoyed but when the bill arrived we nearly fell off our seats when we discovered we had been charged £6.25 for a vodka, lime and lemonade. We did mention it to the waitress who was very apologetic but explained they had to charge the lemonade as a bottle @ £2.00. I would recommend not getting a mixture and drink in the main bar.
The breakfast was very good. The service was excellent and the food (buffet syle with plenty of choice) was spot on.
I was also treated to a treatment in the spa and chose the Indian Head Massage. It was out of this world and I walked out feeling I was floating on air.
All in all this hotel is lovely and we will definatly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollywally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,721
    977
    347
    204
    135
See reviews for
332
1,825
58
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

I found this place by mistake and was surprised by the good quality food tast and plenty only main let down was the snotty girl who waited on the table as there was only 3 tables eating that nite it was a shame so even told us she was too busy sorting the party in the function room next door??? She spoilt the night maybe she should remember that customers pay her wages!! Food great nice place beer was also good and well looked after good but a shame

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alancapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay for 3 of us for my friends 40th birthday.
I wanted it to be perfect for a special occasion so called the hotel after booking to enquire about the standard of the room the hotel website had let me select and whether it would be worth me upgrading, the lady on the phone was very helpful and assured me that although the Kings part of the hotel was more modern, that all of the rooms were of a high quality and we would be given a room with a garden view as I had called in advance...
Upon arrival this was not the case.
Our room on the first floor was a poor standard and overlooking the roof - whilst I understand the hotel has older parts and newer parts - there is no excuse for the following - crumbs in the drawer of the bedside cabinet (yes really!), silver fish in the bathroom (unbelievable), stained bedspreads and stains on the walls. The decor was shabby and the room felt generally unclean and badly in need of a refurb.
The free bar between 5-7pm was a nice touch but the service given by one of the barmen was disgraceful and he had a bad attitude (real shame as the service provided by most of the staff we observed was very good.) Don't give it free if you begrudge it - and don't treat everyone the same (we're not all going to abuse it because it's complimentary.)

Overall the hotel really disappointed, we were excited about our stay as the hotel is a fabulous old building and has real character with a great location for the sites of the city - I cannot excuse poor cleanliness in hotels - regardless of age. Would not stay here again or recommend.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnnaIav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

i recently stayed as a belated evening valentines breal for me and the missus,hotel was very clean free bar between 5-7 uncomplicated and the breakfast exceptional.
as a tutor in education and lecturer in hospitality and catering im by default very difficult to please.easy check in very clean room 209 and exceptional breakfast.
no room noise at all five star xxxxx

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cateringtutor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Friendly welcome, excellent accommodation, very good service and good food accompanied by live music, even at breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190786David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Just returned from a three-night break to celebrate our engagement.

On arrival we were greeted by the receptionist who, whilst checking us in, informed us we'd been given a complimentary upgrade to one of their suites. The porter then took our bags and showed us the way.

The hotel is lovely inside, with Roman-style decor, and the Kings Walk alongside the courtyard garden is lovely. Each of the floors in the Kings building are themed after different kings, and we were shown to our suite - the seventh floor ('Emperors') Augustus Suite.

The suite was fantastically decorated - a large room with dining table and two chairs, coffee table, and a large sofa with wall-mounted TV opposite. Off the room was the lovely bathroom with a double-bath (with TV above!) and large walk-in shower. There are two doorways (with sliding doors) into the spacious bedroom, featuring a king-size four-poster bed, as well as a desk, two swivel chairs and a wall-mounted TV opposite the bed.

As I had contacted the hotel prior to our arrival, the roses, champagne and teddy bear I'd requested were also present in the main room.

We ate in the Kings Quarters Bar & Grill on the first night - the food was excellent, and the place had a really nice atmosphere. The second and third nights we went to the attached bar - The Waiting Room. This was busier than the previous nights, but had a nice atmosphere again - much less formal than the Bar & Grill, and again the food was excellent.

Throughout our stay, the staff were very friendly and helpful - we wouldn't hesitate to go back. I've stayed in many hotels (I travel a lot with my job) and I can honestly say this is one of (if not) the best I've stayed in.

An all-round excellent hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We travelled by train from Manchester and the hotel was right opposite the station so the location was perfect. As soon as we walked in to the hotel it took my breath away, it was like stepping back in time. We loved the quirkiness of the hotel from the grand staircases to the ornate decor. The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for us, the lady on reception was helpful, efficient and extremely friendly and the concierge was so funny and friendly, he was great fun to chat to and obviously loves his job.

Our room wasn't the biggest I've stayed in but was adequate for two of us and the bathroom was lovely. We qualified for the free bar between 5 and 7pm which was great and we never struggled to get served within minutes even though it was so busy. We ate in the bar and the food was lovely and then the breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious with the added bonus of a complimentary glass of bucks fizz. The cocktail bar was a lovely place to finish off our evening although the cocktails were a little expensive. However, they made me a special cocktail based on my likes and dislikes, the presentation of the drinks was amazing and the staff made sure we were happy with our drinks.

The only problem we had during our stay was that the kettle in our room was broken. When we phoned reception about it they apologised and immediately sent someone up with a pot of hot water so we could have a drink and he said he'd log it with maintenance.

We loved everything about this hotel and can't wait to return. We highly recommend it to anyone who loves history, beautiful buildings and excellent customer service.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylietoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,612 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,075 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
0.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#20 of 44 in Chester
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing