We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Southport. Uk
Level Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Hotel was lovely. Got a room upgrade from executive to the kings suite. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant downstairs. Left a note that it was our first anniversary on the breakfast order for the morning and got a supersized excellent breakfast. Only problem we had was a stained towel that was changed immediately

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,641
    935
    332
    197
    127
See reviews for
319
1,729
54
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

I booked a weekend as a present, after seeing the website and the well laid out and outstanding rooms. And booked the room 7 Months in advance.
When I arrived at the queens i was full of anticipation and looking forward to my weekend in the Hotel and visiting the Race track what a dissapointment. I was embarrassed by the standard of the room -fixtures in the bathroom were hanging off the wall the shower was taped up and some of the shower head broken, one of the wall mounted lights was detached from the wall, the decor was dirty, wood chip ceiling dirty and chipped paint work,altogether the worst room I have EVER STAYED IN. Reported it at the desk to a very uninterested member of staff and heard no more, I handed a letter complaining about the room (210 if you get the pass key for this room refuse straight away) but still awaiting a response.
Positives - AND their was some, the hotel in the most part was very grand (old) and well maintained the bars were clean and well stocked although due to a wedding and the racing could have done with another couple of members of staff on the bar. Breakfast was great and Sebastion in the restaurant was a treat to watch well on top of his job controlled the whole dining area with his eyebrows.!!!!!
The Hotel is in the perfect site for the train station, clubs pubs and a short walk to the race course, but at £116 per night I was very dissapointed with the whole experience and the room condition spoilt what should and could have been a great weekend away.
C'MON the management contact would be nice.

Room Tip: try the kings section..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greig66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

My Wife and I booked this Hotel for two nights following our Wedding. As it was our Honeymoon we booked a Queen Suite. On check in we were given a key to a room in the Kings Quarters, nice enough room but not what we had booked. A long walk back to reception to query the room. Receptionist was really unhelpful and made it plain she was far too important to deal with the likes of us. We saw another room and that was just the same as the first. Eventually we were helped by another Receptionist and were given the suite we had booked. We were absolutely exhausted by all the trudging about to different parts of the hotel. The attitude of the first Receptionist very nearly spoiled a very special day for us.
The Suite was delightful and all the other staff were friendly and helpful and this made up somewhat for the disastrous start and impression.
I have never complained to a Hotel about a member of Staff before but was so taken aback by her attitude i decided to send an email to the General Manager, I should not have wasted my time as 3 weeks on there has not even been an acknowledgment.

Room Tip: The Queen Hotel retains its original features and is therefore not as modern as the Kings Quarters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justmarried2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Friendly staff, excellent breakfast. Free champagne at breakfast!!! Really helpful and friendly concierge! Overall, excellent

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NcholasJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed in and exec double in the Kings Suites. Modern well furnished and comfortable room.
Excellent nights sleep due to the quiet room and correct temperature.
First class breakfast and good service from all staff. Factor in an additional £10 per night for parking if you are driving.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart01160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed at the Queens on Friday night - what a surprise ! Years ago I stayed there but I had no idea that do much money had been invested ! We stayed in the Kings Suite and our room was amazing. Spacious and beautifully designed. The most comfy beds ever . Breakfast was delicious and lots of choice . Staff were extremely friendly particularly the porter and the manager Simon who we met as we checked out. Can't recommend highly enough

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeycass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

enjoyed our stay during the chester races, shame the room prices double though.
£3.75 for a pint of carlsberg, very pricey, so steer clear of the bar.
breakfast was the best ive ever had with live back ground music, nice touch.
our shower was just a dribble, i complained but it was still the same the next day.handy if your on the train as it is right opposite the main station.
would definately stay again though!

Room Tip: not top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lojoghp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing