We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Abersoch,
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good room but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed there for a night (18th March). The room - No 217 - was excellent but there was no control over the heating, the cord to the sliding sash window was broken and, as a result, the window was very difficult to open. In addition the toilet would not flush properly. Both were reported to reception.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 217!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilesFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,605
    902
    326
    190
    124
See reviews for
304
1,675
54
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel the past weekend, and it was a fantastic experience. The loby is breath taking and the hotel had soo much character. The food was amazing, especially the white chocolate cheesecake!
I stayed in an executive twin room which was great quality, we however did not a remote control for the TV, even though we informed the front desk we still had to use the buttons to the side to switch channels. Not a big deal, when weighing up the whole trip experience.
Even though this hotel is supposedly haunted, i did not experience anything personally, so dont be put off.
Great location with the railway station across the road, the areas taxis are really reasonable also.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Had a greatnight staying in the Kings Suites at The Queen. Superb room attentive staff and add in the lovely weather for sitting in the gardens then all I can say is 10/10.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guinness4health
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was the ideal location. Breakfast fantastic and the staff are so friendly . Had the bar food which was good and sampled the champagne cocktails which are to die for
Overall would recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twohoots23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I was looking to book a relaxing luxury break and i came across the queens hotel in chester, i have nothing but praise for the whole weekend, We initially booked for 2 nights but i didn want to go home so booked a extra night! All the staff are fantastic especially the young girl on reception such a pleasant helpful lady, and the head bar man was such a good laugh, i cant fault anything with the hotel, breakfast was lovely, the room was luxury even in the old part of the hotel, i really dont have 1 bad thing to say exept thank you for such a lovely lovely time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everywhere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

when arrived we were greeted by this amazing 'english' style hotel. wow what an experience we had. would go back time and time again for the service, rooms, surroundings and cleanliness. we would like to mention the two young charming waiter/waitress hayden and georgia who served us for 3 nights running as part of our dinner package. they were always smiling each night and made time to advise us on places to visit and places to see and taught us some english slang words which we used in various shops- sure brightened up our trip!****** 5 stars *****

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We recently booked a long weekend and stayed in a room in the Kings suite. It was not our first stay at the hotel and we intend to revisit soon. The hotel is well situated for the train station and if you travel by car secure parking is available. Chester town centre is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Throughout our visit the staff were most welcoming and very professional - nothing was a trouble to them. Breakfast was super with a good choice available and some foods cooked to order if requested. It is hard to single out a member of staff but special thanks must go to Melissa who was a little ray of sunshine during our evening meal. We would highly recommended this hotel.

Room Tip: Kings suite rooms are well worth the price. A view of the courtyard is very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing