We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
milton keynes
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Still Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Gammy and I spent Easter night here. We’d stayed before in the Queens section and loved it.
We were booked into the Kings section this time, at first we were a bit disappointed by this news as we like the feel and rooms of the “older” style Queens. We walked down the corridor along the garden to the Kings section, at which point the hotel “feel” changes to a newer modern feeling hotel. I have to say both Gamster and I were very impressed, an almost luxurious feel to the Kings. Our room was very spacious indeed. I think our room was designed for disabled people as it had those red emergency chords everywhere and rails and a seat in the shower. The bathroom was very big and was a wet room. The bedroom had a very comfy bed and Gaaster loved the décor, Gamster is no interior designer but she knows what she likes and its normally expensive! The room was very clean and had a the usual facilities and an iron.
The staff were as always very friendly and helpful, provided Gammy with an umbrella when it was raining and stored our luggage after check out.
We were pleased to see breakfast was still of its exceptional standard and choice. Really can’t fault it. The selection and quality of the food is superb.
The hotel is still situated very handily for the train station and only a short 5/10 minute walk in to the city centre either down the main road or the canal.

We would defiantly stay at the Kings or Queens on our next stay in Chester. Great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sircarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,605
    903
    326
    190
    124
See reviews for
304
1,676
54
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Spent one night end of March stayed in a Kings room which was luxurious. The service was superb ,the food excellent and the position of the hotel within walking distance of the city centre made it a great place to stay . We will certainly be returning .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed as part of a group on business using the conference facilities for 3 days.

Conference facilities were brilliant despite there being other Conferences throughout our stay, room was air conditioned with paper, pencils and sweets supplies along with water and cordial plenty of refreshments available throughout the day, lunch was great quality as was breakfast and 3 course dinner from a set menu (Which our party had), with varying fresh options, although some of our party didn't agree. Overall food was tasty and well prepared and service was great.

Beware of bar prices!! £6.60 for a large glass of wine! IMO too much! Not too far to walk to a cheaper alternative though.

Large sunny courtyard with not quite enough seating at busy lunch times, although the weather was very warm and sunny during our stay.

My room was in the newer block on floor 2, clean, bright and well decorated room with flat screen tv, ipod/iphone docking station, tea & coffee making facilities & a spacious bathroom. I had a nice view over the smaller courtyard that services the newer block.

Only niggles were that there were no power points by bed and that the lights on the bedside tables weren't working. There was one night all of our party heard loud screaming from the train station but again it was warm and we all had our windows open and it was around 4am, we put it down to student night!!

Colleagues in the original hotel building were happy with their rooms which included whirlpool baths and four poster beds.

All in the corridors around the hotel are relics, artefacts and articles of interest that hold significance to both the city of Chester and the hotel site (being the first hotel built for large numbers of people using the train station across the street.)

No one in our party had any problems with parking, although there is a charge (I believe £10 per day) you require a pin code from the reception desk to exit.

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel, all staff I encountered were friendly and professional whilst being approachable and visibly busy.
Hope to return as a tourist to the lovely city or on business.

Room Tip: The newer block is lovely and well decorated, but the original building has more character and some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Without a doubt one of the best hotels we have stayed in for service, room reception staff through to restaurant staff. We stayed in the Kings suite which is very much worth the extra few pounds. Only a short and pleasant walk to Chester centre so all in all very good. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle under lyme
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

we stayed overnight end of march,from the time we arrived,the reception is well run and can't do enough for you,very traditional in the queen's part of the hotel,there is a new part called kings at queens,is very modern,they have spent a lot of money and it shows,
we were in the queens part, room was a good size,very clean but in parts was showing its age,wallpaper,seals on bath,it was only little thing,but when you pay over £100,these are the thing that shouldn't be overlooked
we had dinner in the hotel,had a lovely meal,very good menu,waiting staff could'nt do enough for you
well stocked bar
breakfast you could have buckfizz if you wanted, there was so much to choose from from cereal,yogurt different kinds of pastries to full english
overall very enjoyable and would stop again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liverpoolstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boroboy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

stayed for long weekend amazing from entering to leaving stayed in a king suite after been upgrade free gratis thank you room was unbelievable.
king size bed so soft pillows were perfect the whole room was great tv in bathroom in bedroom in lounge plush furniture, carpets of fine quality. staff went out way to please from corcierge to house keepers. breakfast to suit every bodies taste even veggies. thank you premier queen definitely going back

Room Tip: ask for kings quarters
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patpotts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The Queen Hotel in Chester combines comfortably old-fashioned and charming hospitality within a Victorian building that is not only very well furnished, but has been consideratly modernised to provide excellent facilities. They disprove the argument that you go to a hotel to sleep, to a restaurant to eat – and one might be better advised to dine at The Queen in a choice of three restaurants, rather than take pot luck outside. In Chester, pots can vary alarmingly.
The Queen offer a buffet breakfast of a magnificence and generosity that many hotels can only dream about. It is one of the reasons why visitors stay here, but you could also throw in the quiet rooms with comfortable beds that ensure a good night’s sleep, good value-for-money accommodation, the warmly friendly staff, and the location close to the centre of the city. I would not hesitate to return whenever possible.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the gardens, then all will be well. But do make sure that you are hungry eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing