We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Hotel we have ever had the misfortune to stay in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Worst Hotel we have ever had the misfortune to stay in.”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Reception- no offer to carry our cases to our room inspite of being disabled.
Room Shabby and broken sash window would only open about 3 inches, Temp of room was 77 %F at night,inspite of complaining about this no one came to help.;at one time I was unable to breath properly.
Staff on reception said they had offered to change the room, but on no account didi this happen!!
We were with a coach party and there were a lot of complaints, One woman had to sleep on a mattress where the springs were coming through ,it was 2 days before it was changed.
The manager was rude and aggressive.
This hotel has a problem with coach parties I would think., we have stayed in Best Western Hotels before with no problems. In this hotel the rooms were ,DIRTY,SHABBY AND UNHYGENIC!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 931Gloria931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenH0tel, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear 931Gloria931,

Thank you for providing your feedback.

I am so sorry you did not enjoy yourself at the Queen. We are in the business to make people happy and am sorry we failed to do this, where you were concerned, on this occasion.

This is a very old, listed building which features beautiful, original sash windows. I fully understand that they can sometimes be a bit of an effort to open, but they were checked following your complaint and found to be working perfectly. I am sure you noticed that they were open when you returned to your room after dinner.

Despite opening the window for you, we still offered you a change of room. I am sorry you declined this offer, but we will always do this in our efforts to please.

We value all our guests equally and do our uppermost to make everyone feel welcome. I am sorry you felt this was not the case. I am delighted to say that we have received wonderful feedback from other members of your group.

I feel slightly confused by your statement that the hotel is dirty, shabby and unhygienic. We don't remember any feedback from you other than the window and the hotel is far from any of those adjectives having recently enjoyed a £20 million refurbishment and recently winning the Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year.

As I say, we wish all our guests to be happy and I would be delighted to talk to you personally about your issues if you would like to give me a call.

Thank you again

Kindest regards

Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,763
    997
    353
    211
    137
See reviews for
338
1,878
60
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Juest returned for an overnight stay at this hotel via a Travelzoo offer
Lovley old hotel with plenty of original features, were upgraded to a family suite (not sure why as only two of us!) but great room never the less
Lovley ouside setaing area, with calming gardens and ambiance
Bar prices very very expensive-but expected in a hotel bar I soppose?
Not too far from anything, nice walk via the canal to the shopping centre etc
Food excellent, bit of a mistake with my evening meal-partly my fault, we were given a free bottle of wine to compensate-very nice!
Breakfast exceptional!!
Staff were a credit to the hotel, especially reception staff, and the staff in both resturants
Would return again

Do please go on the Chester CityTour bus/river cruise.....great trip with loads of expert information-bus stop next door to the hotel

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the older part of the hotel, alot more character
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenH0tel, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear tinkle16,

Thank you for such a generous review.

I am so pleased you had such a wonderful time. I am sorry about the hiccup at dinner, but am glad this was solved there and then to your satisfaction.

We really are proud of this lovely old building - the oldest grand railway hotel in the UK; and I am delighted you appreciated our efforts.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards

Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Stayed here over the weekend and while there were a few things that could be improved I have to say I had an enjoyable stay.

Arrived a little before the room was ready but the reception staff were very polite and gave us all the information regarding facilities we could use while we were waiting and where to park the car. Only thing I didn't agree with was that we were given the paper holder with our room number on and sent on our way but had to pay before we'd even been given the room key... Surely this could have been done when we returned to actually check in? The concierge, Iwan, was very friendly and helpful and is a real credit to the company!

The room was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable with plenty of room, this was a bonus as in most hotels you're practically squashed against each other. There was no hair dryer or iron/ironing board in the room but a quick call to reception and they were brought to the room within minutes!

Breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious, everything you'd expect and more!! Particularly enjoyed the freshly made omelette and the separate dish with crispy bits of bacon in!

Looking forward to staying again soon and hope that the disco lights above the front entrance are removed soon, makes what is otherwise a beautiful building look very tacky!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenH0tel, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Jimmy2903,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about Best Western Premier Queen Hotel.

Your extremely kind words are very gratefully received. Hotel staff do read Tripadvisor and will be greatly motivated by such generous sentiments.

At the Queen, we still believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and go all out to make it an experience as well as a meal. I'm delighted you enjoyed it.

Thank you again and kindest regards

Simon Williams
General Manager

P.S. The disco lights are great fun! They were installed as a welcome and reflect the general quirkiness of the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Having used the Best Western group in lots of different cities in the U.S. we decided to try this one for our 2 night break in Chester. We were not dissappointed. Lovely old style hotel, very grand. Spacious room, comfy beds, lovely soft pillows. Good wi-fi connection in-room. Staff were very helpful & pleasant. Breakfast was very good, all the usual plus some lovely extras like kippers & Eggs Benidict. My husband had a lovely made to order omelette one morning. The hotel Manager Simon Williams was very helpful, took photos of us in the giant chair & gave us lots of info about the hotel. Our one critisism is the hotel parking was expensive £10 weeknights & £15 weekends, but you can park in the Train Station next door for £5-75 per night. However we will be back at the first opportunity, this is truly a great hotel when in Chester.

Room Tip: courtyard rooms are lovely, the courtyard & gardens are all lit upin the evenings, nice to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivGorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Lovely hotel, old, spacious and with character. Lots of objets d'art and fine paintings. We stayed in the old part of the hotel and had asked for a quiet room, which it was. The bathroom was huge. Although the furnishings were a bit dated it was very comfortable. I found the in-room hairdryer useless for styling hair but was told I could have asked for another hairdryer. There is a modern building to the hotel with conference /hotel rooms and beautiful gardens inbetween with lovely statues. What we loved the best was the food, very generous portions. We had a three course carvery and as I am watching what I eat it was no trouble to have food served without the sauces etc.We also loved the walk into town along the canal path. Loved everything about this hotel and would stay there again. Good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and stay in the old part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValStobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here for a few days on business in the "Royal" part of the hotel (its the old capital building at the back. Very sumptuous and elegant rooms, with each floor themed after royal dynasty. We were in the Louis XVI and it did not disappoint. Great location opposite the station and where the older vistorian part of the hotel is, great bacr, good breakfast and generally both bar and restaurant are also very good.

Plenty of parking too which is a plus, if you were to stay here do not think you would be disappionted.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biriyaniboy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We found our 'queen' room in the 'old' building to be elegant, spacious, clean and comfortable, with some quaintly uneven and creaky underlying floorboards (but then Chester is an historical city). The building has an abundance of objets d'art, some large (some very large) and some small, which generate an enjoyable, if slightly querky ambience. All the staff - reception, restaurant, bar and cleaning - were pleasant, courteous and helpful, without being patronising, obsequious or 'programmed'. Dinner was OK, although I suspect they don't get many outside punters paying the advertised price (which may, as in so many other places, be there to make people think what a good deal they are getting). Breakfast was wide-ranging and excellent, with lots of choice. We were on a special deal so I can't comment on the value-for-money aspect of rack-rate prices.

Room Tip: There's a refurbished original building and a newer block with more 'modern' rooms. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,164 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,373 reviews
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing