We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Birmingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab stay!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed on Friday night in the Kings part of the hotel. Loved pretty much everything about it. The staff are some of the friendliest people I have come across and nothing was too much trouble (particularly in the restaurant). The room was really spacious, very clean and the bath was great. We had dinner in the Kings, which was delicous (as were the cocktails!). Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Didn't see the rooms in the Queens part but can definitely recommend the Kings rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duet4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,718
    973
    346
    204
    135
See reviews for
332
1,818
57
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

There was me and 4 others who stayed here Saturday night. We all had our own rooms,which were spacious and had everything you needed.

My only complaint's was my room(205),it had a very odd smell in it which only eased when i propped the window open all day and night. I knew this because i had a look in everyone elses rooms and their's was fine. Also,the shower head needs cleaning. I wish i had said something at the time but i didn't.

Some of the rooms looked abit tired looking but one of the them must of been recently decorated as you could smell it and it also looked very nice.

Alot of the artwork/ornaments around the hotel and rooms was really nice. Not so sure about the big Queen's head at reception,it looked awfull,i'm sorry to say. We all had a good laugh about it though. The Hotel has a lot of history to it and it also has ghost's. I wish i had read this in the morning haha

Breakfast was also nice with plenty to choose from,with live music,which had mixed opinons on the table. I liked it though.

We could leave our luggage before check in and after check in. So thank you very much for that.

All staff throughout the hotel were all very friendly and helpful.

I would stay here again because it is very close to Chester city centre (about 10mins) and across the road to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, South Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Booked a standard double on a special rate at £80 for a Friday night. Even at that price we felt it was extremely over priced for the quality of hotel. If we had paid the full £140 we would not have stayed and demanded a refund it was so poor. As the special rate was only available for 1 of our 3 nights in Chester we stayed at a Premier Inn for the other two. This Premier Inn at Caldy Valley Road was of a far higher quailty and would knock spots off this so called four star hotel.

The problems with the BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel were:
1) Arrival - main entrance being painted and closed off. Whilst maintenance is essential, there were no signs or markings to indicate as alternate route from the car park to the reception. By exploring an open fire exit we eventually found our way through a maze of function rooms.
2) Car parking - £15 per night is excessive and unreasonable.
3) The door to our room would only shut if you slammed it. Not good when returning from the bar at 2AM.
4) Bed - the mattress was very lumpy and in places you could feel the frame of the bed below.
5) Duvet - Lumpy and patchy, some areas were thick some you could see through.
6) Bathroom supplies - some of the "complimentary" sachets/tubes of shower gel/shampoo were empty. Obviously used and not cleaned away from the rooms previous occupants.
7) Black mould growing on the grouting in the bathroom.
8) Bottom of Bathroom door rotten and flaking off
9) Decor of bedroom poor and paint and wallpaper peeling in places.
10) Shower - a minute line between scalding hot and freezing cold.
11) Unable to turn shower off completely after having to use both hands to force the tap on.
12) Bought a drink in the bar around 1am. Went to sit down to be told "we couldn't sit there as the bar was closed" by a barman still selling drinks. Apparently it was ok to buy drinks from the closed bar as long as we didn't sit in the closed bar but walked into the already packed lougne area where there were no seats. The only exlpanation given was "licensing laws mate"
13) Room information was misleading about the location of breakfast with it not being served in the room mentioned in the information.

Positives.
Lobby was impressive.
Breakfast was good.
Staff by and large were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WPFiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed here last night on a special package of b&b plus a two course evening meal with a glass of wine. Best hotel meal we have had in some time. Excellent food and service to match. Breakfast was equally good. Staff are attentive and courteous. Great value too.
There are two parts to this hotel. The Queen is the older part and King is the newer part. We stayed in the Queen and found it to be full of old world atmosphere. The room we were assigned was very big with chunky mahogany furniture plus a large bathroom. Big comfy bed. Room was spotless.
Remember this is a very old hotel so the furniture etc., in this part is old world - that's what makes it unique. Some of the soft furnishing in the bedrooms are getting a bit tired looking but overall that did not take away from our stay. Good atmosphere in the hotel bar.
Rooms in this part of the hotel are a little less expensive than the newer part. If you like sleek, new hotel look then go for the King but we would still recommend the Queen.
Great location. Station across the road and within 10 minutes walk of Chester itself.

Only criticism is the charge of £10 for the car park. That is far too expensive for guests. Go across the road and avail of either a car park for £3 or £5 for the day. Management should take note. This is no way to treat guests spending money in your hotel. The most you should charge is £5. Please change this policy.

Room Tip: Our room faced the station but we had no problem at all with noise. Windows area all double or trebl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Exchanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Lovely entrance to hotel. Rooms were good but sometimes I think 4 star should be wow. Hotel entrance definitely wow. rooms initially wow but as you looked around furniture marked by spillage
Quite dark in our room, all in all good but for 4 star needs a wee bit oomph on our room. Staff very good, Kings quarters restaurant great, expensive but worth it, 5 star food, great service, great 5 star service. In bar in Queens expensive, 2 x shorts with mixers £10.60, in pub over the road same drinks £5.00! Massive difference, need less to say we only had one in hotel, too expensive. A great stay and would look out for Best Western deals elsewhere, lovely stay

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oowweenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

9 of us went to this hotel for stag weekend & the horse racing , the hotel was superb staff real friendly made us feel welcome in need of some updating of paintwork but full of character , we did b&b & the breakfast was superb plenty of choices from cereals full breakfast & pastries. my only complaint was i had a mattress that slopped to the left & lots of dust in room also a bit of a trk to city center but overall good hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This hotel was like stepping back in time, the clocks, statues and the sweeping ornate Victorian staircase was luxurious and grand feeling, the hotel had a real old but also modern charm to it as I used the full range of the conference facilities during my stay.

It was perfectly located to walk into Chester and view the old castle walls and sights, the black and white wooden fronted houses set the scene within this charming city.

The hotel has good car parking - through the old stage coach gates to the side and the hotel is well located right opposite the main railway station.

The beds were really comfortable, rooms spacious, food fresh and tasty and the ambience just right. I stayed in an older part of the hotel and seemed to walk great distances through different staircases and sections of the hotel but this wasn't an issue as you soon found your bearings.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone staying in historic Chester as a base for the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteNook333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,611 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,073 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,333 reviews
0.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#21 of 44 in Chester
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Prestigia, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing