We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 'Winter warmer' offer- Lovely service, rooms wonderful. Great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great 'Winter warmer' offer- Lovely service, rooms wonderful. Great value.”
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

Booked winter warmer. Super value £98 inc double room, 3 course meal with glass of wine & breakfast.
The dinner was fabulous- lamb shank was absolutely yummy & my husband chose chicken which was, just so tasty.
We love this hotel. The meal with a good selection of courses was absolutely wonderful, faultless. The staff are so helpful, friendly & made a rainy dreary November stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsniggyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,763
    997
    353
    211
    137
See reviews for
338
1,878
60
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I spent two nights on business in a standard Double Room. Great impression on arrival the facade, entrance lobbly and reception point to a very Grand History. My roo was on the second floor quite a walk from the lift (thats elevator to all you good american folks). So, the room! this is where corporate accountancy interferes with style and empathy for great architecture. This decoration and facilities set could have fooled you into being in any old hotel in any ordinary city. I tried not to be disappointed but so many things mitigated against my tolerant nature. Flickering bathroom "Fluorescent tubes" I didnt mention it to reception but no one cared enough to notice on my behalf..... Toilet bowl needed some bleach to remove the unsightly limescale, I just hate that!.......poorly executed repairs and patching to ceilings and walls.........just screams lack of due care and attention......furnishings showing real signs of tiredness....... On the plus side Iron and trouser press.........Good Biscuits (thats cookies to you good american folks).....fairly comfortable beds but not as good as a premiere Inn Bed........

All the staff I spoke to from cleaners to bar and breakfast waiters to receptionists were polite, friendly and helpful, so thank you to them......

Breakfast was served in a very attractive, comfortably airconditioned function room. It was of very good quality with a varied choice of cold cuts cereal and hot food.I wish i had more time to spend over breakfast to try a few of the variations buit what I had was very tasty particularly the bangers (thats weenies to you good american folks)..........

The location is excellent with off road parking and adjacent to the rail station, a short walk from the canal side bars and restaurants and a fairly leisurely stroll to the histroic centre of town.

Would I stay there again.....yes...........why...........because the staff overcame my general dissappointment with the room and Best Western should thank and reward their people for making up for the lack of imagination and sympathy shown in the design and furnishing of the hotels rooms of what should be a true 4 star experience but at the moment is languishing in 3 star mediocrity.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nubiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgend
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Spent a weekend at the Best western premier Queen hotel on a visit to Chester. Had booked a room in the Queens part of the hotel which is the original and more traditional part of the hotel. Very satisfied with our original room which for a standard room was spacious with a small table and two chairs, and comfortable furniture. Unfortunately our room was directly above the hotels main function room, and the music which was very loud could be heard in our room. After contacting reception we were upgraded to the Kings area of the hotel which was away from the main building and much quieter. My husband and I were very impressed with the quality of this hotel, the breakfast was excellent and the customer service absolutely outstanding. The lounge of the hotel with its blazing fire and comfortable furniture provides a tranquil relaxing retreat after a busy day shopping or sightseeing. This hotel provides a high level of comfort and service at a reasonable price. We would deffinately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Kings part of the hotel are recently refurbished and are away from the main Hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessBridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed up at the Queens on a two day conference, after a bit of problem trying to park everything was just spot on, check - in was swift and efficient, Hall Porter with lots of character, room was very clean, everything worked and large fluffy bath robes and slippers thrown in for good measure. Service and food were excellent throughout our stay and the staff could not have been more helpful, I would definetly like to come back and stay at some point when I am not on business.

This used to be one of the old British Transport Hotels so came out of the same family as Gleneagles in Scotland, they certainly built hotels to last in those days!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

At first I thought wow it looks gorgeous. Grand stair case, lovely decor, polite staff.Sadley this ended once i enterd the room. The TV didn't work, picture jumped, only BBC 1 kept still. the bathroom had no extractor fan or an open window which was a nitemare when trying to dry your hair in a steam room with a crapy tube like dryer like they use in swimming baths.

The bedroom furniture was dated and one of the chair arms all ripped. I wouldnt stay again especaily when they wanted to try and charge me an extra £50 for an early checkin at 10am when I didnt even arrive till 1pm.
sorry disapointed and not worth the £100 for one night room only!! Will go to Chester again but I will not be booking at The Queens.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My husband and i have just returned from a fabulous weekend from this hotel,whoever moans about this hotel needs to get a grip and go to a hilton hotel if your going to be that stuck up about it,the staff were friendly and helpful,the room was lovely,clean,comfy bed actually we couldn't fault and we are planning to go back again as this was our 2nd visit,also the food was lovely i even had the housekeeper leave me a little cake for my birthday,so all you snobby people who just moan about petty things GO to a hilton.Don't be so fussy.

Room Tip: Room 228 is a fabulous room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellyseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

What a wonderful relaxing weekend I have just spent at this superb hotel. Our Kings room was spacious and extremely comfortable overlooking the inner courtyard. The staff were very welcoming and very helpful.The food was excellent and it was such a lovely experience to have live music at Sunday breakfast 2 young singers playing on the keyboard and guitar ( it was a lovely relaxing experience) .Can't wait to return thank you

Room Tip: Kings room overlooking the courtyard are modern and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,634 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,159 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing