We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
lincs,uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights 30/11 &1/12, our room was in the kings quarters on the 6th floor and was clean, modern and well appointed with a large bathroom that was spotless with a nice deep bath and seperate large shower, also very modern and supplied with the usual soaps, shower gel flannels etc. etc. the bed was large and comfortable and we got 2 good nights sleep

There were christmas parties going on in the hotel but because of where our room was there was no noise or disturbance at all.

We ate in the kings bar and grill for evening meal and breakfast which was very good, great food, excellent service and we must make a special mention of Mellissa who was super efficent and had a permanent smile on her face. The breakfast was also very good with every thing you could want and more
All the staff we encountered during our stay were polite couteous and helpful.

The hotel is well positioned opposite the train station, the city centre is an easy 10 - 15 minute walk away and if you don't want to walk, there is a bus that stops outside the station and takes you into town about every 15 minutes and only costs 1 pound.
I woudn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again its great for a weekend break. there is on site parking with a barrier system and cctv, its a bit pricey at 15 pounds a day but your car is reasonably safe, there is also a cheaper one round the corner for about 3.00 pound a day but I'm not sure how safe it is at night

Room Tip: Request a room in the newer king quarters when booking, if you use a booking agent phone the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparky5942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,812
    1,018
    359
    219
    140
See reviews for
349
1,942
60
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Picked it on location as my other half was catching an early train next morning. And that proximity to the station is the only reason you'd stay. Frontage was very grand, reception nice, but as soon as you head down the corridor, you travel back in time to 1982. Our room was very tired, horrible bathroom, outdated decor. And at night, there was a very noisy party in the central courtyard our room faced onto, which you could hear in detail through the single glazed window.

Staff were all friendly, service was fine, just needs to revamp its rooms, and let people know on booking that there will be a lot of noise that night, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed at this hotel on Saturday 1st December. We had planned a girls weekend away but only booked the hotel the week before, unfortunately we were only left with this choice as everywhere was booked up. We shared 2 double rooms paying £150 per room and this was without breakfast. We were in the "old part" of the hotel, which It certainly was. Our room looked like it hadn't been decorated since the late 80's. The bathroom was basic the hair dryers in both rooms didn't work, no remote for the T.V, the bed was as old as the decor, consequently we have all gone home with bad backs and necks, the duvet was lumpy and there was barely anything left of the pillows and at the end of the bed was ripped wallpaper. As well as all this we and the room oposite us were rudely awakened at just gone midnight by the most almighty bang and clatter, which we could only work out as the ancient heating system. I would never stay at this hotel again even if it is the last hotel in Chester. Defiantly overpriced for the standard we received, however we were told by other guests if you are lucky enough to be put in the new "kings quarters" it is much nicer and there is no difference to price!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room in the "new part" of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

first off have stayed here before and it was good however i feel that standards have slipped, booked for a 2 night stay and pre-ordered some champagne to be in the room as a surprise for my wife as it was a special occasion this was not done and had to go down to reception and ask for it so thats one surprise failed then came the surprise of finding a big brown stain on the bed sheets and to top it off it looked like the bath had not been cleaned for god knows how long as it was filthy plus overall the room had a fusty smell to it not what you expect of the flagship of the feathers group which has a customer commitment statement which reads immaculate bedrooms!! I'm the sort of person who think people nit pick but this stay has annoyed me! won't be staying here again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We called into the Queen hotel and had a very warm greeting off the concierge who is on the brochure (complete with our 4 kiddies in tow) just to make an appointment to have a look around for our renewal of vows the following year. They showed us around there and then and made us feel like to only people in the world to hold a function there, The children were all given a teddy each for being so good and the service continued from there right up to the day after we renewed our vows. Simon the manager, Naomi the banqueting manager and Louise who was out saviour on our special day were all excellent and I cannot recommend them enough, every detail was taken care of even down to a Brandy and a pint of Guinness to go next to a photo of my Mum who died in 2003. The function suite was superb, the food was excellent and the bedrooms were soooo comfortable We could have stayed there forever!! This hotel is second to none and the courtyard Garden is a hidden Gem
FIRST CLASS IN EVERY AREA.
Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This is the second time this year I have spent a weekend at the Queens Hotel. A lovely welcome awaits you from the extremely friendly staff.
Our room in the King's Quarters is quiet, spacious and very comfortable, with lovely views of the courtyard.
The breakfasts are amazing, with a wide variety of choices on offer. The only hotel where I have eaten breakfast serenaded by a singing duo.
Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chester. It's easy to find and near to the town centre.

Room Tip: The KIng's Quarters are very luxurious, I love to stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Great hotel, room was very good. Had function dinner which was well presented and tasty. Lived the pre dinner entertainment.
Breakfast very good selection. Staff all very good. Would be happy to return

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete17904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,659 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#13 of 44 in Chester
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing