We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Great position. 10 mins from town and quiet at night . Staff ok , not overly helpful. Breakfast good . Rooms a little tired and could do with a makeover.. Good convenient location for the station and plenty of local restaurants .

Room Tip: Move up to superior. It's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneA336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,605
    901
    326
    190
    124
See reviews for
304
1,674
54
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a night with my wife and then the night after as part of a Christmas works party of 50 plus people. The service throughout is first class, the rooms are excellant and the hotel has many interesting features, especially the giant head of the Queen in reception. Location wise its perfect, it is across the road from Chester railway station from outside of which is a shuttle bus into the city centre (5 mins away) which costs £1 per person. The city is also a pleasant short walk away along the nearby canal. The staff are friendly and efficient enough and the breakfasts are very good, the only down side is the £10 a day fee for the car park which is quite a bit over the top, parking at the railway station is much cheaper or if you don't need the car go by train. The Town Crier pub opposite the hotel has a good selection of beers and food and is worth a visit. I wouldn't hesitate in staying at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

arrived on 1st December for one nights stay on a girls night out and shopping trip in Chester,there we're ten of us to check, which was quick and efficient by the members of staff who we're very pleasant,rooms we're not ready as we we're early so they put the bags safe till we arrived back from shopping, The rooms we're a good size and very clean and the bathroom was very clean to,we we're on a disco hen package which included free cocktail,goody bag in room,entry into night club,breakfast,and late check out,all for£75 each which was worth the money to stay in this lovely hotel,had a lovely time in Chester and night out,had a great nights sleep.and I must say the breakfast was fantastic loads to choose from and very fresh,one of the best breakfast I've had in a hotel certainly filled u up for the day, all in all had a great stay and would return to the queens

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reddish123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Just had our Christmas party here having been two years ago. The party organisers in our group booked the hotel and package in March 2012. All of our group paid their money and the evening was confirmed. Nothing wrong so far you may be thinking.
On the day of our arrival my colleague received a call from the hotel stating that they had a corporate function the night before and that group wanted to stay another night so the hotel management decided they would let them stay another night and as it was our ten rooms they were already occupying then we would not be allowed to stay in the hotel as it was now fully booked. Instead they would be prepared to offer us accommodation in the Westminster Hotel across the road.
Is it just me or did we book these rooms in March (9 months prior) so why not tell the corporate booking that the hotel was already full. On arrival my colleague demanded a meeting with the manager and was constantly told he was in a meeting. The assistant came out and could not explain why these decions had been made but assured us the place they where offering was good enough. On to our alternative hotel, in a few words "what a dump" and it was nothing like the original place we had booked. The rooms where dark and miserable to say the least and just about big enough to get two single beds and an excuse for a wardrobe in there.
Now on to the party. The food was an absolute joke. They had put the roasted meats out under hot lamps before they even decided to serve the starter. This only leads to one thing dried out meat, but never mind the vegetable offerings looked even older than my 44 years and watered down gravy made this all worth while.
Then the party itself. We had the most uninteresting dj you could imagine. The choice of music was obviously chosen to keep people on their seats which in turn made his job that bit easier.
People you have been warned if you want to be treated like a valued customer and eat decent food and enjoy your event then steer well clear of this place

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dominic_bennici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Just had our christmas party at the Queen hotel for the first time and what a party! enjoyed every second, the food was beautiful, room was decorated very festive, music and DJ very good we danced all night and the staff were very helpful and worked very hard to keep everyone happy, enjoyed it so much i have been asked to book for next year which i will be doing definatly. Thanks so much again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

We recently stayed at the Queens Hotel in the new section 'The Kings Quaters'. The rooms are fantastic. The bed is superb and comfortable (almost hugs you). The bathrooms are great with seperate bath and shower and are finished to a very high standard.
The decor and finsihing touches make the 'kings quater' excellent and would certainly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
634 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stayed in the Kings Quarters of the hotel and had a very nice, very clean room. This is the more modern part of the hotel. There Wasilow a nice size bathroom with separate shower and tub. The king bed was comfortable and there was a cute teddy bear on it-the hotel sells them. There was a desk and a small table with 2 chairs next to it. There was also tea, coffee and hot chocolate-making supplies. The breakfast was very nice with choices in eggs, cereal, fruit, bacon, rice, beans, potatoes and pastries. It was buffet style and coffee or tea was brought to your table. The location across from the train station was convenient and there is a shuttle there you can take into the town center for one pound though it is an easy walk. It is best to check the shuttle times as they quit. running back to the station in the evening but times are posted at the stops. The bar, waiting Room had sandwiches, salads and entrees but in the early evening got very crowded and noisy. The history of the hotel is interesting including stories of being haunted. Staff were nice and helpful. I was in room 1706 and it was quiet. There are parties in the Queen section so that may get noisy. Overall I had a very nice experience and would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoyTraveling64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing