We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good if you don't bring a car !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed for just two nights. Room was very clean, albeit quite warm and there didn't seem to be any sort of temperature control. Had to open the window, but then suffered from the noisy aircon units. Not too bothered by that though.
Excellent breakfast, staff always friendly.
The hotel is right next to Chester station if you're going by train. There is a regular bus (£1) into the town centre, or you can walk circa 15 minutes.
The hotel has a car park at the rear, if you can afford it. £10 per night, rising to £15 on Friday and Saturday. Why is this not dicounted for hotel guests??? Be sure to take this into account when calculating your room rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the aircon units at the rear.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyJEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,628)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,639 - 2,645 of 3,628 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed for one night, as we approached reception we over heard that the lift was,nt working. Upon being served they told us we were staying on the 3rd floor, and 3 very wide,steep stairs. Once we reached our room( out of breath) we looked into the bathroom which was the tiniest bathroom ive ever seen, to sit on the toilet you had to slide under the sink, then we heard the road noise outside,so decided to try and shut the window which had a crack and a block of wood keeping it closed, during our sleep we were awoken by the noise of a roadsweeper, within 10 minutes there was a clangin sound of workers across the way throwing scaffolding poles into a truck, that continued for half an hour, to which we rang reception expecting them to move us but nothing was done, we hated every second of our stay at this hotel and felt it was overpriced, we have stayed at premier inns which are better!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank averydisappointingho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

All the staff were courteous and very pleasant but we think that Alice in the restaurant really stood out for us.

She checked on us during the meal and was pleasant and focused on ensuring that I enjoyed my day, you should consider yourselves lucky to have such a high calibre member of staff

The room was beautiful and the decor was amazing, especially the chandeliers in the stairwell

I would recommend anyone to stay with you and I'm sure we will be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jax-lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Better late than never we went to a pre AGM dinner dance the food was fantastic and the staff were spot on. Stayed three nights and found nothing was to much trouble when asking a question. On the first night we had a meal in the bar and I had battered smoked haddock would order that again when staying there my wife had pasta that was really great. Our room was in the Kings Quarters a good size room and the bathroom was good as it had a separate shower which is what we like. We only heard 1 train in all the time there so quiet and peaceful. We would recommend the Best Western Premier Queen hotel in Chester which we will stay again when visiting.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Kings Quarters or 1 of the newly done upped rooms in the main building
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bittern1032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Nice spacious rooms with everything you could need and a comfy bed. A fantastic breakfast buffet and a Buck's Fizz handed to me on the way . Great courtyard space to relax in if you get lucky with the weather

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcPensom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We visited the hotel today to enjoy an afternoon cream tea. This was supposed to be a treat for me having recently undergone major surgery.
Our first shock was the cost to park at the hotel, they do not have short time parking but do charge highly for a 24 hour stay, the receptionist did recommend alternative parking at a sensible price., for which we were grateful ... a cream tea doesn't take 24 hours!
Crockery arrived at the table ... a dirty cup, followed by a stained milk jug. These were quickly changed by the waiter who produced a clean cup, but the new milk jug had a large chunk missing from the lip!!! The tea plates could have been cleaner but by this time we couldn't be bothered. On the plus side the selection of sandwiches and cakes were good.
Would we return for an afternoon cream tea ... No.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank bellion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Excellent sums up our visit to Queen Hotel Chester. We traveled to Chester with a coach party from the west country and after many hours on the road were welcomed royally by the hotel concierge, who invited us to join him for a glass of champagne while he ran through the history of the building. Our room, on the third floor, was reached by lift or the grand staircase and although a tad on the dated side was clean and comfortable. We were on a half board package and found the quality of dinner superb and the attentive staff extremely efficient. The breakfast, laid out in grand style was excellent and catered for all tastes, in fact by the end of our stay the chef had devised an individual menu for my wife who has a gluten allergy. My only gripe, and this sums up most hotels these days are the bar prices. Instead of staying in the more than comfortable bars at the hotel, we and our friends walked into Chester each evening to visit one of the many bars and pubs there. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,686 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,321 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £71 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing