We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Chester
runcorn
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed here as part of my daughters hen weekend and found the hotel very good indeed. The staff were very helpful and friendly the room which was at the very top of the hotel was adequate for our needs and was spotlessly clean. I would like to return and stay in a grander room for a treat. The breakfast was very good with of of choice served in a grand dining room. There were several functions on at the hotel the Saturday night we stayed but we were unaffected by these.

A good experience all round.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,814
    1,019
    360
    220
    140
See reviews for
350
1,946
60
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Queens is a very grand hotel, it has the original accommodation and the additional Kings at the rear. The Kings is very modern and offer excellent accommodation, fully modernised bathroom and robes and slippers for an good price.
The staff are friendly. Being situated across the road from the station and about a 10minute walk into the centre of Chester it is ideal for a break. The breakfast is good but we did find the restaurant to be slow and it had also run out of some dishes. The bar meals are good and the staff friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Kings area are quieter as they are away from the main hotel bars and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Your experience at this hotel may very much depend on which room you book!

We stayed at this well-located hotel for one evening as part of an Insight Tour around the UK. Meals at the hotel were excellent and in a most beautiful dining room. The breakfast offering was superb.

Unfortunately, our room at the very top of the hotel was very small and very cold. It was very tired-looking and in need of refurbishment. We mentioned to staff that the heaters were not working in the room and were told they would get onto it or at least provide us with an electric heater. Several hours later nothing had been done so we asked again at reception only to be told the central heating was off. They said the "system" had to be restarted and it should be all well within the hour. An hour later and we were still cold so we went back to reception and asked about the electric heater that had been mentioned to us earlier. We were quite rudely informed that the hotel would not be having any heating and that all the small heaters were being used and so none were available. No sooner had we been told that by one person on reception, that another appeared and said the heaters were being switched on again. We went off again to our cold room only moments later to hear a knock on the door and someone from reception delivering a small heater! Why this hotel thinks it is acceptable to treat guests in this manner I cannot fathom!

Room Tip: There is quite a variation in the rooms. Be very aware of what room you are booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdaWurld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights in a Kings suite at the Queen and it was amazing! The suite was fantastic and even had a TV set into the wall at the end of the bath. The sitting room was very comfortable having a chaise longue and a lovely table and chairs to sit at though we didn't use it as we ate in the hotel. The food is absolutely superb and the staff are very polite and helpful.
Particularly Richard who I think is the under Manager. Chester is a beautiful quirky city well worth a visit and I cannot think of anywhere better to stay than the Queen.

Room Tip: The Kings building is quiet and peaceful as it is for adults only. Breakfast is served in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for one night so we could visit Chester Zoo. The hotel is opposite the train station, and across the road from the bus stop for Chester Zoo - ideal location!

The building itself is very grand, with very impressive decor inside the reception and bar/restaurant areas too. Our room was the Henry VIII room on the first floor, and it took our breath away! Large bathroom with corner bath, very large bedroom with seating area and four poster bed. It was beautifully decorated and felt luxurious. We had a lovely view out onto the courtyard below with fountains and Romanesque statues. The TV with freeview and CD/radio hifi were a nice touch too. Also we found (and played!) Scrabble in the wardrobe. We did not request such a grand room, so I think we just got really lucky.

That night we had a meal in the King's quarters restaurant, which was very nice, although quite pricey. Two courses each plus a glass of wine, a cocktail and an orange juice came to £78.

Breakfast was excellent, with a wide selection of foods. The hot selection was especially good, with an egg chef too!

To sum up, we had a wonderful stay in this hotel in Chester. The experience made me wish we were staying longer. If we were to visit Chester again we would use this hotel and request the same room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This is the first year our Sixth Form held our prom here and has been one of the most glamorous we've had. All the staff were assistive not only on the evening but in the event preparation process. The venue feels very classy but with an edgy twist brought to it by some of its modern artwork; perfect to take pictures next to to commemorate the evening.
Fine details such as a red carpet lay out in the terrace garden, our school logo iced onto each dessert plate and a surprise ‘Finale’ was perfect in making the evening so unique. I would recommend it to any school for a prom as it is a reasonably priced deal for everything you get! It is also a bonus being right next to the train station...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tash F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed for just two nights. Room was very clean, albeit quite warm and there didn't seem to be any sort of temperature control. Had to open the window, but then suffered from the noisy aircon units. Not too bothered by that though.
Excellent breakfast, staff always friendly.
The hotel is right next to Chester station if you're going by train. There is a regular bus (£1) into the town centre, or you can walk circa 15 minutes.
The hotel has a car park at the rear, if you can afford it. £10 per night, rising to £15 on Friday and Saturday. Why is this not dicounted for hotel guests??? Be sure to take this into account when calculating your room rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the aircon units at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyJEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing