We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Silver wedding anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Workington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Silver wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here for our silver wedding anniversary, the staff were really friendly and very helpful, our room was spotlessly clean,comfortable, and very spacious with choice of bath or shower. The food in the resteraunt was delicious and the staff in there were also very attentive. Breakfast was self service and catered for every need, although there was staff on hand to serve teas and coffees, and keep tables clean. The friendly atmosphere started at the front door of this exquisite hotel and continued during our stay. Also there was full use of the gym and spa if we had wished to partake. We will return, and have told all our friends and family. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Chester.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,639
    935
    332
    197
    127
See reviews for
319
1,727
54
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just come back from staying at the Queens. Had a lovely time, the staff are really friendly, lovely warm rooms and great food. Would recommend this Hotel.Stayed Friday and Saturday night.Can't wait to go again! Did the Travel Zoo offer and stayed extra night. Great time had by all!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kempian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just done a one night Travelzoo deal to the Queen Hotel at Chester. Allocated Henrietta Marcia Room overlooking the ornate courtyard/garden. Superb room, spacious with a large bathroom and spotlessly clean. Deal included evening dinner which was served in the Jubilee Dining Room due to the number of Travelzoo customers. The food was of a good standard and served by friendly, efficient staff on hot plates ! A glass of bucks fizz was offered at breakfast followed by an excellent hot buffet with a good choice. The hotel has an aura which is difficult to describe with ornate statues and figures placed at various locations within this magnificent building. Great location within 10 minutes walk of the centre of Chester and all the shops. Should have stayed 2 nights but will be back for the January Sales. Well done Queen Hotel and staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night. We booked the room via secret rooms for a very good price. We were really impressed with the welcome and the overall appearance inside the hotel. A nice walk into Chester (along the canal in nicest). The only downsides were the lack of shampoo (I hadnt brought any) and the price of parking. We parked in car park for the train station which was £6 rather than £15 and right next to hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaMerritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived 9.15pm and was pleasantly surprised at the speedy check-in. Don't feel staff were very friendly.

Dinner was on the bell at 9.30 but that didn't matter - the waiting staff didn't rush us at all. In fact it was the opposite. Food was very good too.

Breakfast was much the same. Waiting staff couldn't do enough.

One thing I noticed was that all the staff there gave the impression that they actually wanted to be there rather than just worked there - from front desk to groundsman.

My only complaint? Pillows were too soft!

Well done.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank welshwitchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I had Just procedures problem about giving europe converter by deposit. during check out there will be no notes about money taken. The adcive for hotel to check process for the deposit money. the receipt or the notes with signatures has to be given to customer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Mr Ozan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing