We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is well worth visiting!

The Queens Hotel is ideally situated right next to the Railway station and also has ample chargeable car parking.

As you walk into the hotel its clear that alot of money has been spent on the interior of this hotel. I stayed in the Kings Quarter for two nights, the rooms are amonsgt the best I've seen! They are spacious, good size desk, coffee table and chairs, very comfortable large bed, backed up by a large modern bathroom with large shower.

I was staying as part of a large conference and the hotel coped very well with large numbers. The meeting room was great and the wifi worked everywhere. All of the meals where excellent and there also a great bar to relax in at the end of the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,639
    935
    332
    197
    127
See reviews for
319
1,727
54
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I was taken to the queen hotel for a surprise birthday gift and it was fantastic.

As a premier best western it is world apart from their standard best westerns.

We stayed in a exec suite in the kings quarters and it was beautiful. Completely immaculate, plushly furnished and with nice extras like bathrobes, loads of cushions and pillows, nice bath bits etc.

The room service staff were brilliant. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and found the selection of food great but the service here lacked a little. We had to ask three times for milk to go with our rapidly stewing tea and couldn't find any butter for our toast. Not the end of the world but more a reflection of a busy sevice staffed by young people who maybe are not as experienced.

The location was fantastic especially if you had travelled by train.

Aside from the small complaint above everything else was top notch! We even it champagne and Chocs with the room!

Strongly recommended for a touch of luxury in a great location at a reasonable price

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myopicotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had a good time at the party night,really good value.Loved the hotel,the kings suites are fantastic.Comfortable,well equipped,superb.Staff were very efficient,friendly welcoming .The hotel is opposite the train station and has its own car park costing£15 per night.Just a nice stroll to the shops.We would love to return.

Room Tip: Kings suites are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one Saturday night.On checking in we were told that both our room and our friends room had a free upgrade,which we were very pleased with.
Both rooms were lovely and very well decorated,although the corridors were quite tatty,although we did notice the hotel is getting a face lift.
We would still go back as the room was very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast the next morning was tasty although we would of appreciated someone telling us the set up as we hadn't stayed there before
All being said if you are going to Chester give it a try.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilaMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stopped in the newer Kings part of the hotel on level 7 the Kings Suites they were excellent rooms. We stopped for one night on a travelzoo special had a free drink in the bar and evening meal was included, although we had a reduced menu the food was excellent. Breakfast in the morning was all we could have wished for. Staff were very friendly and helpful, service was quick, we had a very nice sandwich in the bar and the best chips ever!!!! The hotel was full but this didn't impact on service at all.
Not sure what the rooms in the Queens part of the hotel were like but we had a great time and would love to return.

Room Tip: Stopped in the newer Kings part of the hotel on level 7 the Kings Suites they were excellent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank techy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

After a 5 hour drive that should have been 3 I was not in the best of moods, then I saw the hotel I had been booked into, next to the station, typical British dump I thought. Well how wrong I was, the staff were freindly, all smiling, helpful, but my expectation of the rooms was still low, again how wrong I was, the room had been tastefully decorated, the bathroom was modern and classy. Had a great breakfast in the morning, even a glass of bucks fizz. I enjoyed it so much I am planning a visit for a group. But how true the saying is Never judge a book by the cover, well get into this one it should be on the best sellers list.

Room Tip: Book a room in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here on the travel zoo deal which is a bargain really, the hotel is very nice dating back to late 1800's with loads of history, Roman Gardens etc. Enjoyed the information in the room which said it was one of first large scale hotels of the time and you can imagine the all the well off upper class staying there, It also tells you about the various ghosts said to haunt the hotel.
We upgraded to the kings room with a four poster bed, very nice room and the deal includes a free drink each, 3 course meal, full breakfast and 10% vouchers for Cheshire Oaks outlet center.
The evening meal was reasonable quality, the main course on sundays is a carvery which was decent though I could have done with another slice of the meat as it was very nice.
The breakfast was self service which is not everyones taste but the food was good, maybe the sausage was not to my taste but others may really like, the coffee was very nice.
I will also mention the staff who where very friendly throughout our stay.
All in all I'd be very surprised if anyone was disappointed and for that deal you can't go wrong.
The only negatives I would say are £15 a night parking is a little steep and the large bust of the queen near reception was a bit creepy.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Kings room, worth the small amount of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing