We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Lovely hotel great rooms made better by the superb evening staff. The bar staff were not quite as good in the afternoon but this did not mar a superb time and it was busy. Would certainly go here again

Room Tip: King rooms were the one we booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,635
    932
    332
    197
    127
See reviews for
317
1,723
54
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Myself and my family stayed at the Queens hotel in Chester on January 3rd 2014, as it was our friends sons 18th party being held in the hotel. We have stayed a few times, but would like to say how fantastic, kind and courteous the staff were and how clean, spacious and homely the rooms were!! If I was to sum up the hotel in 2 words it would be " 5 star "!!
We had a lovely stay with them and will definitely stay again and will recommend to everyone xx
The Evans Family (Chester)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljevans1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the Queen's on New year's eve in a party of 22 close friends and family. We were on the all inclusive Hogmanay package. The whole experience was amazing, nothing was too much trouble for the friendly, courteous staff. The rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean and not one member of our party had any complaints. Thank you Queens for what I can only describe as the best New Years Eve party ever! We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here twice once in the kings, and more recently in the queens section. Both times were just as enjoyable, but if we stayed again we would choose the kings as it more modern and more to our liking! The two sections are joined and easily accessible to other amenities ie. bar, restaurants, lobby and reception area. The greeting when you walk into the main reception is very friendly and you are made to feel welcome straight away, especially by the butler if you have the pleasure to meet him. I have no complaints about this hotel,if you want a hotel that offers good food, comfort, good service and in the heart of chester this is the hotel for you. We will be back in the near future as the hotel offers another good point for us as we can get a direct train to chester and the queens hotel stands just opposite the station and we are there in less than a minute..

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lesley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stayed here many of times, usually in the Queen Rooms but this time in King Quarters. Gorgeous room, very cosy and warm and I loved the walk in shower and deep bath. We ate in the restaurant which never disappoints. We tend to arrive around 5pm so park on the main road and move the car about 9am the following morning before breakfast to a car park across the road behind the Westminster Hotel They charge 50p per hour or £3.50 for all day, I would never pay £15.00 for the Queens car park unless I wanted peace of mind that my car was safe. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The rooms in both the queens and kings are just as nice, kings more modern but smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam_jones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Great stay. Lovely staff. Stayed in kings quarters good room big bed very plush. Breakfast good and I am una ble to fault it. Amazing. 10 min walk to city centre. A pity about subways on roundabout but you don't have to use them.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank penguin107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I booked for the New Years Eve Gala at the end of November, paid £198 ( the full price) up front and were really looking forward to it. On 14th December my husband went to the doctors with what he thought was severe indigestion. He was referred to the Countess Hospital for tests. On 20th December he went to Broadgreen Hospital in Liverpool and had three stents inserted in an artery in his heart.
We were still hoping that he would have felt up to going out on NYE if only for the meal.However, recovery was slower than expected. He was extremely tired and completely lost his appetite.
I emailed The Queen on Sunday 29th saying I regretted we would have to cancel and hoped that due to the circumstances, some form refund would be offered. I made it clear that a doctors confirmation was available if required.
I received a reply saying no refund would be given. I then telephoned the hotel and suggested that they could at least refund us the part allowed for drinks, which were included both during the meal and at the bar all evening. This also was refused. I asked for a credit note for a normal menu at the hotel at a later date. I was told management would not agree to this.
As it seemed quite possible that our two empty places could be taken by anyone the hotel might wish to offer them to for free, (I happen to know lucky recipients of this kind of offer) and my husband was furious to have lost almost £200, that we cancelled the cancellation, even though we did not attend. We tried to give our places to friends but everyone had prior arrangements.
I think the management team could at least have made some small gesture of good will.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing