We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Astounding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Astounding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

My partner and I were recommended to stay at the Queens and were not disappointed in any way. We were pleasantly surprised to find we had been upgraded to a suite which was luxurious and comfortable to say the least. The service was first class from everyone we encountered. We enjoyed the food so much we decided to eat only in the hotel. I cannot end this review without mentioning the sumptuous breakfasts. Everything you can think of to eat at breakfast is there for you to choose from....
My only criticism would be about the pillows on the bed. I prefer firmer ones but I'm sure had I mentioned this to Housekeeping it would have been dealt with.
We intend returning in Spring and hope to take advantage of the beautiful terraced gardens...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly281138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,607
    906
    327
    192
    124
See reviews for
306
1,680
54
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say... I stayed at the premier queens hotel, chester from 2nd feb to 6th feb 2014 on business and the stay was fantastic, comfortable and welcoming! We arrived on sunday evening and checked in with a friendly welcome and was suprised to the variety of rooms and what they had to offer! Being cleaned and tidied everyday you could not ask for anymore! Breakfast was amazing so much to eat and drink - wide variety! When it came to evening meals we ate in the bar in which we were served by Calum and Alex who were fantastic! Always greeting you with a smile and a hello remembering your orders, having a laugh with you... making you feel at ease... and if you wanted a knickerbocker glory for pudding even though not on the menu they would always ask... always going the extra mile and without fail always showed an high standard of customer service! They are an asset to them hotel team at Queens! All staff were brilliant... could not ask for a better stay!!! Business has already been booked for the rest of february :) very happy customers x

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed at the Queen's hotel for one night (Saturday). Hotel was exceptionally busy but check in was smooth and painless. Lovely "executive" twin room with high quality furnishings. Room was very stuffy and we couldn't open the window. A feature unfortunately present in a lot of hotels these days. Hotel has a packing case theme, presumably based on its history and proximity (feet not yards) to chester station. Cute little "vintage style" suitcases store toiletries in the bathroom and beverages in the bedroom. The style is carried throughtout the hotel with furniture in the shape of large shipping trunks. There are also royal connections and decor with a wonderful chandelier and an enormous bust of the Queen which looked a bit tacky. The bar and casual food menu was expensive so we took a taxi from outside the hotel and sampled a restaurant in the city centre some 5-8 minutes away by car. The breakfast was standard in quality thought there was plenty of choice. The seating arrangements on the morning we stayed were a bit chaotic as the hotel was so busy. Our "fresh" coffee arrived cold and was promptly sent back, but quickly replaced. Some of our fellow diners had to wait in queues to be seated and staff in the restaurant seemed harrassed and unsympathetic. Check out took a bit longer but all in all, I would stay again and the beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on the lower floors if you don't want to sample the antique lift which only accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benbec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Went to the hotel Monday 3rd February with my partner. The hotel is opposite Chester rail station which is ideal for rail travellers.What a lovely hotel it is. We had a free upgrade to a suite!
The staff were most efficient but also very friendly and helpful. The food was very well presented and tasted delicious. The suite was amazing, four poster bed, lovely furniture, perfect ambience.
The lounges in the hotel were most relaxing. Could I fault the hotel? No to be honest we spent a perfect three days in Chester and The hotel was the icing on the cake. True 4 star hotel. We are returning during the summer.

Room Tip: See if you can get a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nauheim, Germany
Level Contributor
200 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I have stayed in the Queen hotel in Chester more than 10 years ago for a couple of times and remembered it as a typical english old fashioned hotel. The hotel has extended the number of rooms quite extensivly and have done recently a lot of renovation. The hotel including the new rooms in the new building are done in roman style, I liked the way they did it.

The hotel is located just opposite the Chester railway station. A car park is located behind the hotel. During warmer spring or summer times, you can also enjoy the small garden, The check-in was done in time with friendly staff. All the staff we met were very friendly, always with a smile, greetings or a small chat on their lips ..... very welcoming. The room was well equipped with furniture, thick matress, a bit soft but very good sleeping. Everything was clean. Free coffee and tea with biscuits and bottles of water (both renewed every day!!!) makes the stay really enjoyable. Wifi is available for free, no login nessary and good speed, all the comfort that you need.

We stayed in the extended part of the hotel, which seemed new. The walk to the restaurant is a bit long, inhouse to the main house. The gangway is not heated, so a bit chilly during cold winter times. Breakfast was very good, offered in buffet style. The eggs were not too good, but they are offering freshly cooked omelet, which was just perfect. A wide selection is offered for breakfast, including fresh fruit, cereals and the normal english selection. If you need more, they also offer an additional menu card. Quality and service were both very good.

I will surely book again the queen hotel, when returning next time to Chester.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Always_0n_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before it was refurbished. I liked it then, I like it even more now. It is in a very romantic location by the station and is wonderfully traditional. The room, food and service were great. What has prevented me from giving a five star review is the feeling that they were trying to squeeze money out of me. the room wasn't cheap, yet, still parking was fifteen pound, room service traycharge was five pound per person (!) and the drinks in the bar were really dear. A bit of a shame as if it wasn't for this disregard for the traveller I would have rated it one of my favourite hotels ever!

Room Tip: Be mindful of all the extra charges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed on a DBB deal in the Kings block and found all of the staff welcoming and polite. The room was modern, comfortable and very well equipped, Wifi, Freeview TV, ipod dock etc. Nice bathroom too with bath and walk in shower. The Daily Dinner Menu in the Kings Quarters was not gourmet but very nice food nonetheless and good value too. Breakfast was fine although the Jubilee room which hosts it seems rather less sumptuous than many other parts of the hotel.

Aah... the hotel - the original Queen hotel is a total contrast to the modern Kings. The Queen, unlike many shabby contemporaries, retains it's air of luxury from the heyday of the Empire with period features and artifacts along with some unashamedly luxurious rooms - the Prince Albert sitting room off reception is quite beautiful and transports you back to the 19th century.

Next time we stay it will be in a suite in the Queen; although Kings was perfectly comfortable, we want more of that historical style and opulence.

If you're planning on staying in Chester look no further.

Room Tip: Kings for modern Luxury, Queens for traditional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuntboys-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing