We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here with my partner on Monday 10 February as part of the travelzoo deal. From check-in to check-out, it was simply amazing. We stayed in a Queen Standard Room which was excellent, big and spacious, bed was comfortable. We were treated so well. The meal was wonderful in the evening and the breakfast was very nice too.
It literally is across the road from the train station - so convenient.
Don't hesitate - book it!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windsor988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,605
    903
    326
    190
    124
See reviews for
304
1,676
54
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My sister and I stayed here for one night, check-in staff were friendly and informative. Room was clean and size was great. We ate in the restaurant, we could not get a table until 9pm but the food and service were still great. Live music at both dinner and breakfast was a nice touch. Breakfast was the best I have had yet in a hotel, all fresh and full english was not greasy at all. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank B1983716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Have to admit this wasn't our first choice of hotel but it was the only one that had a vacancy at that time.

However, left with a very favourable impression of this well located unique hotel. Loved the ambience of the place....lots of strange unusual features and artefacts placed around the public areas...great bar...unbelievably good breakfasts and really friendly helpful staff. think next time we will pay more for a better room though. The room we were in was to close to the housemaids storage room and they were very chatty and noisy at around 6am in the morning as they collected their equipment for the morning changeover.

All in all wonderful character hotel and also has a great bar and just a short walk into the city centre. Plenty of parking outside as right opposite the station.

Would definitely stay there when next in Chester.

Room Tip: stay in a room far way from were housemaids storage room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 54BJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Quirky hotel, lots of history and original features. We stayed in a queen room which was brilliant, loads of space, well decorated and regal. Great breakfast, bar and meal in the Kings restaurant. Ideal for shopping in chester... We will definitly be back, great vale for money as the hotel has made is feel that we should have paid more for the room!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Djaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My friend and I stayed at The Queen for one night last week, and from the moment we
checked in we were treated extremely well, very good customer care in every department
The room was beautiful, and spotlessly clean, with a lovely view over the amazing garden. The meal in the Kings Restaurant was excellent, with impeccable and friendly service,also
with lovely background music by a live performer. Everything we could want
for breakfast too. So in all in all a most enjoyable stay. We will certainly stay at The Queen
again and highly recommend it, especially when there is a special offer on.

Room Tip: Travel by train, the hotel is right opposite the station and there is a bus running from outside th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilaann34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here on 31 Jan for one night to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. There were 8 of us in total, 4 couples. We couldn't of asked for more. We had all booked the 'executive' rooms and they were all a very high standard. The food in the restaurant was loverly, and all were pleased with their choices. All the staff through out the hotel were polite, professional and pleasant. Breakfast was equally loverly with plenty of choice. We hope to return to this loverly hotel in the spring, and have already recommended it to our friends who have booked in for March.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janett1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
687 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Spent one night at this hotel. Very impressive. Location has good and bad points. Just opposite the station but a long walk to the City Centre past some very uninspiring shopping or residential areas. Reception was most efficient – a nice touch with jars of sweets on the counter. No concierge in place while I was there. The reception area is very pleasing with nice historical touches and the entrance lobby to the restaurant is full of interesting features. There is a long walk round to the function rooms at the rear which are very comfortable for Seminars. The courtyard is a splendid place for the summer. Parking is convenient though I agree £15 is a bit steep for one nights parking. The room was modern, comfortable and very well equipped, Wifi and 32 inch Freeview TV. Good size (4m x 4m) with lobby including wardrobe. Reasonable desk and chair arrangement and occasional table and chair. Complementary water and good hospitality tray. Nice bathroom too. Plentiful toiletries. Lovely fluffy towels. Windows though double glazed were a little draughty. Lighting levels just adequate. Breakfast was fine with more than adequate cold collations and hot selection, including fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, full cooked breakfast, toast, pastries and a selection of fruit juices and hot beverages. Pleasant service. Each room has its own name reflecting its historical connections. The bed (complete with Teddy Bear, was very comfortable and I slept well. The room was very quiet and cosy. Corridors are little narrow. The hotel and my room was very clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing