We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Queens Hotel Chester” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,607
    906
    327
    192
    124
See reviews for
306
1,680
54
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, Cumbria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the Queen Hotel for one night on a Saturday in February for my Husband's Birthday and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We have never been before, but as I work for another Best Western, I had been recommended to stay at the Queen from colleagues who know it well. We arrived early to make the most of a day in the city and were greeted outside by a lovely gentleman on concierge. He immediately offered to carry our bags inside and was a fountain of knowledge about directions, where was good to eat during the day, where my Husband could watch the football match etc... Once inside, we were surprised to find that our room was ready straight away (we arrived at 12pm), which was great. We were also given a complimentary upgrade to a Four-Poster Suite with it being a special occasion, which was also a lovely touch and certainly appreciated. Our room was set in the older part of the hotel on the second floor, which was accessible by lift and overlooked a pretty courtyard. The room was decorated in traditional decor, which I expected from a Hotel with such character and history. The bathroom appeared to have been newly refurbished with a jacuzzi bath...lovely after a busy day shopping!

We ate out in the evening, so didn't get an opportunity to experience the restaurant or cocktail lounge in the new part of the building. Breakfast was served between 8am and 11am on Sunday morning and we were pleasantly greeted with a complimentary glass of bucks fizz in the dining room and an acoustic singer was playing guitar in the background...a lovely way to enjoy a good breakfast. A magic moment perhaps? The food was well cooked, tasty and there was certainly plenty to choose from. There was a little queue for freshly cooked fried eggs or omelettes at the end of the hot buffet, but you don't mind waiting so much when you know you're getting freshly cooked food at the end of it.

I would certainly like to return to Chester and the Queen Hotel in the future. There is lots of history to discover in the Hotel itself and would certainly be a great base to explore the city and surrounding areas. An extremely pleasant stay and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending to others.

Room Tip: I have heard that the rooms in the newly refurbished part of the Hotel are beautiful...I'd certa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicPos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My boyfriend & I made a snap decision to explore Chester. Through Booking.com we found this hotel. Perfect location as we stepped off our train, out the station only to see our hotel staring back. We were put in the new wing in the King Charles suite which included a huge spongey bed & an interesting, cosy decor. It was a lovely clean room, a little small but perfect for what we wanted with a high view of the streets & shops below. The bathroom was spacious & clean also & we were provided with soft bathrobes & slippers. There was no fridge in the room which is not important for us as we ordered room service which was delivered in no time by friendly staff. We opted for breakfast in bed the next day & went all out with a traditional & continental meal. We stayed out at night in the beautiful garden which has giant games for the kids at heart, beautiful sculptures & tables with tea light lanterns atop. We also enjoyed reading through the history of the hotel & the ghost stories! Had such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Would recommend this hotel unreservedly. Large room, comfortable bed, large bathroom. Courteous and helpful staff. Only problem was a temporary arrangement for breakfast which, when it came, was rather cold and unappetising. Food at dinner the previous evening was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyS149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a Kings room which was lovely, I'd definitely like to check out the other part of the hotel on our next visit. Iwan the doorman was absolutely lovely and really made our stay special, great guy. We eat in the kings grill on valentines night and the food was fantastic, we'd left it late to book anywhere else so I was a bit nervous but I shouldn't have been as the food was beautiful, drinks prices were reasonable for a hotel too. The only other meal we had was breakfast on our last day and that again was great. I think it's the first place I've stayed where coffee in the breakfast room was hot and not like dirty dish water, so I was very happy! I'd definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely visit again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerrymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I agree with most of what the previous reviewers have said, quirky, interesting building, helpful staff (the receptionist at check-in did tell us that the hotel charged £15 for parking (!), but we could park for much less in the adjacent station car park). The room was good, bathroom was fine and that shower was amazing!
We did find the room, and the part of the hotel we were in, which seemed like an annexe, too hot, even leaving the window open overnight.
I was a little disappointed with the food in the restaurant; it was only OK, but the service was excellent. Breakfast was poor. It was a breakfast buffet; maybe we were just too late getting there (it was only 9.30 on a Sunday), there was no streaky bacon left, despite being advertised and everything else was only lukewarm, grilled tomato tasted of kipper! Maybe should have had omelettes - they were cooked to order!.
Chester was great though and we'll plan to go back in the summer, but will probably look for somewhere else to eat!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCountrylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked a winter warmer deal which was a three course dinner, drink at the bar, room and breakfast for £96.
The meal was scrumptious. We were very impressed by the surroundings and service. Even the breakfast was high end. There is an extras menu so that you could order individual cooked kippers, eggs Benedict etc, for a nominal extra- say £2 or £3. My eggs were perfectly cooked and were hot- not as is normally the case at other hotels- luke warm.
The hotel has real charm, and is themed with roman figures. The hotel was built in1860 and was the first large hotel of its kind in the world. It is directly opposite cheater train station.
We decided to park in the train station car park which was 5.90 for 24 hours, instead of the hotels car park which is £15 a night, and it was very near and very secure.
Its a 5 to ten min walk into town where there are lots of pubs and restaurants etc.
We will be going back to this hotel and would recommend it whole heartedly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leigh1076968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing