We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed at the Queens Best Western hotel for the first time last weekend for my Hen weekend. Booked it mostly for its Amazing location right near the station!!

This hotel is just Beautiful!!. The rooms are extremely spacious, Staff were all very friendly and Breakfast was perfect. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.
Many thanks to everyone that made my special hen weekend more special

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,631
    932
    331
    197
    127
See reviews for
317
1,718
54
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights in the Kings suites - lovely room and helpful housekeeping staff . Didn't do the breakfast as we wandered into the town centre but did eat in The Waiting Room and no complaints about the food - was yummy! If you don't fancy walking into the town there is a city-rail link bus outside the station that runs every ten minutes- handy in a downpour! Will be back to stay for a shopping spree again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hayley67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week based on trip advisor recommendations and also following their winter warmer deal. We stayed in a Kings Room which was a bit extra than a standard room but as it turned out overall worth it. The Kings rooms are in a new part of the hotel and are beautifully decorated and the bathrooms are very luxurious.

Overall the stay was great but what topped it was Ryan the Cocktail Barman - its been a long time since I have experienced service like this - we arrived in the Kings Quarters cocktail bar and restaurant and Ryan served us with our drinks going into great detail over how sour for the whiskey sour and how best to serve the gin!! he then went on to do the great entertainment of throwing glasses and bottles which my wife applauded.

Once sat at our table - Ryan appeared with 2 champagne cocktails he had been experimenting with - "Marmaladies"!! - you have to ask for these - in appreciation of our comments.

At the end of the meal I asked Ryan if we could take the remains of our wine to our room - to which he immediately said he would take them for us and off he went with ice bucket etc to the room whilst we went to the Waiting room bar.

When we went back to our room, not only was the wine there but Ryan left a note to say he hoped we enjoyed our stay. WOW the Hotel, the Feathers Group and Best Western must give him a reward for amazing customer service, some of the best I have witnessed in a long long time.

The rest of the stay was good and even thought he reception staff are professional and efficient they could do with looking to Ryan to be a bit more welcoming. The Waiting room Bar is a bit tired but you have to look past that for the overall experience. A great break thank you.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in the Kings rooms - it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivorreview1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A wonderful hotel, but as with many hotels in the UK, they let themselves down by having cold plates out at breakfast for the hit food and then again at lunchtime, despite it being brought to their attention.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolslate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A good hotel with helpful staff.

Quiet at night time but unfortunately there was construction team at work in the day (after 08.00 am), only downside.

Everything clean tidy, and nice rooms . Kings of England theme.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wes053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,574 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing