We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality service, nice facilities let down by silly-sized bath” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Quality service, nice facilities let down by silly-sized bath”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is an old, established and well run hotel with good facilities and an impressive entrance (nice sweetie jars on reception). Near the station but not affected by train noise and within reasonable walking distance of the town centre - the route along the canal makes a pleasant walk. No shops within easy reach of the hotel except at the station.
We stayed two nights over Easter, booking a double with bed for a child. We were pleased to find ourselves in a triple (double plus single) as our 12 year old is getting fed up with sleeping on coverted sofas or put-you-up beds, and the charge for her was still only an extra £10 per night. The room was in what I suspect is a newer section down a corridor off the main staircase area where the suites are found and was fine and spacious without being impressive but the bathroom let it down. After a long day's walking we were looking forward to a good soak. First there was no bath plug and it took rather too long for someone to deal with this, although when the porter finally came he sorted it quickly, but the bath itself, although the usual height off the ground, is so shallow that I couldn't even get the water to cover me (I'm not large!). I don't know whether its some kind of eco-friendly idea, but frankly its stupid and spoilt what was otherwise an excellent impression. My husband said the overbath shower worked well and it does have separate controls. The toilet is old-fashioned style and ours was a little reluctant to flush first time. The lack of isolator for the extractor fan is annoying when using the loo in the middle of the night, and the need to turn on a main switch by the door for the room's other lights is not obvious.
Free wi-fi is good. Not impressed with the £15 basic fee pp for breakfast, although reduced to £10 if booked upon arrival. However the hotel made a special effort for Easter breakfast - Bucks Fizz and live music which was good,together with a special biscuit/sweet display in reception.
The car park at £15 per day is very pricy (but not enforced down to the exact hour), but if you can find the cash each day, use the car park for the Town Crier pub opposite (£5 per day - 8-6pm, but you can pay after 6pm for the next day). On street parking is free for one hour whilst you check-in, and after 6pm or on Sundays.
A good base for exploring Chester if you want a little luxury and service. Some nice restaurants up the road so no need to return to the city centre if you don't want to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalmers30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,605
    901
    326
    190
    124
See reviews for
304
1,674
54
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked direct on their website and the rate was very good for the Easter weekend, indeed, cheaper than the Premier Inn. We took the B&B rate although a dinner inclusive rate is available. The dinner for this was served in a separate restaurant with choices from a special a la carte menu

The hotel is large and traditional in layout, the reception staff were pleasant. Parking is expensive - £15 a night, but the railway station car park is directly next to the hotel and £5.90 per night (no notes taken by the machines)

Breakfast was excellent, probably the best I have eaten at a UK hotel. The Bucks Fizz and live music were a nice touch on Easter Sunday

Only downsides were a very snooty Maître d' in the main restaurant for dinner who really should know better and drinks at the hotel bar were expensive - £5.00 for a pint of San Miguel

Aside from the parking, my other recommendation is to book restaurants in Chester in advance of your trip - everywhere we tried was fully booked

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely day, helpful staff and perfect location near to town centre and opposite train station. Hotel was fantastic, beautiful decor and rooms were clean and tidy with very comfortable beds and the most powerful shower I have ever used. Great value for money- booked on booking.com

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roxie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed in Kings area of the hotel in a room which was extremely comfortable with everything we could need and also immaculately clean.
Parking is right next to hotel but payable - owing to the fact that it is right next to the station charging for parking is understandable but perhaps hotel guests should not be charged.
Reception staff were both efficient during check in and out and also extremely helpful.
Breakfast is of good quality with a good selection both hot and cold. Ate in the bar area one evening and the food was of a good standard and reasonably priced.
Close but not in city centre but within a perfectly walkable distance.

Room Tip: Kings section of the hotel is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed in a King room, very comfortable with a huge bathroom & tub. The entire hotel is really stylish - the reception desk is built on old suitcases, the garden terrace is like an Italian courtyard & the rooms are all designed based on a famous monarch (we had Tsar Nikolas). Staff were helpful & the breakfast was lovely. Only downside is the car park charges & they forgot our morning newspaper. But I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Only stopped over one night but wonderful experience. Superb situation, literally across the road from the station, bus stops round the corner. atmosphere superb. Hotel reception first class, room beautiful, clean and very comfortable - for a change as there were two of us, there were actually 2 chairs to sit in. The staff were extremely friendly and informative. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Good hotel opposite the train station. Good friendly staff and fantastic breakfasts. Only downside is the expensive bar prices. Rooms are clean and spacious but try to book away from the lifts which can be noisy at night.
Parking next to the hotel is payable which is another small downside. On the upside there is free wifi in the rooms

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing