We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the architecture and room decor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved the architecture and room decor!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a chandelier over our bed, a lovely view of a Romanesque patio, and an adorable teddy bear on our bed that we purchased at a low cost and took home with us. This is a very special hotel! The staff was very friendly and accomadating.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,757
    994
    353
    208
    137
See reviews for
335
1,869
60
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is placed really conveniently as it's opposite to the railway station and close to the town. The staff are also really friendly and welcoming especially Paul the night porter who was really helpful in dealing with me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Queen Hotel was the venue for our recent International Conference providing excellent conference facilities, accommodation, meals and entertainment for over 200 delegates from all over the world. Their exeptional organisation ensured every detail was attended to including AV requirements and many special dietary requests. The hotel's efficient, professional, cohesive team provided the perfect atmosphere for our delegates. If you are looking for a great conference venue in an historic location look no further.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Queen side of the hotel are for those who prefer a more traditional room whilst the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I booked a family room here as a family treat for a races trip. The lobby of the hotel is impressive as are the communal areas but unfortunately we were disappointed with our room. It was tired looking (room 150) and had a hole in the wall near the bathroom and the doorstop spring was hanging off. Seems petty but small things to fix. The room was clean and roomy but in need of refurbishment. The main problem was the heat though. It was not a particularly warm day but the temperature in the room was unbearable (no air con). There was a fan in the room so it had obviously been an issue before. My husband and son struggled to sleep because of this. We slept with the window open all night but it didn't help much. The beds were comfy though.
Breakfast was lovely and good value(there was a promotion on). A lovely touch was the young lady singing. She was very good.
On checkout we weren't asked how our stay was hence the review. I think this hotel is overpriced and much prefer the Premier Inn on the same road. Much better value for money.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 150 unless you are very nesh!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pennyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my partner's birthday before our trip to Chester Zoo. Amazing service from beginning to end, so attentive. Our room was beautiful. The hotel and the grounds are full of amazing statues , lots of 'photo opportunities'. The hotel is perfectly situated for a wander into the centre of Chester which is lovely. We drove to the hotel but the train station is right across the road. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a very historic hotel and the communal rooms are really comfortable old style luxury. Our room was in the newer Kings Suites which was a really good sized modern room with a fantastic bathroom with bath and shower. The breakfast was buffet style but, with really good choice. Over all fantastic for a weekend get away within a mile of the city centre so very walkable for those who are able and only a few pounds in a taxi for those who are not but, there is also a main bus stop right outside as well.

Room Tip: If you want modern then ask for a room in the Kings suites, the higher the floor the less noisy it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DINKEtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Husband booked surprise weekend break to this lovely hotel for my birthday. Upgraded to superior room which was in the original part of hotel, listed building. The room and ensuite had recently been refurbished in January and it was absolutely beautiful. Downside was no air conditioning, room really warm and only small window but fan was provided and hotel staff couldn't do enough to please. Booked meal at the kings grill at the hotel. Absolutely fantastic, birthday cake and champagne cocktails courtesy of hotel. What a marvellous weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,632 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,149 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing