We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Elegant, Excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,685
    955
    340
    197
    132
See reviews for
325
1,774
56
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a one night stay at this hotel in July. its a very grand looking hotel across from the railway station. The rooms aren't very big but have all of the necessary facilities. The breakfast was very good and we don't have any complaints regarding the service. However, for what we got, I don't think it warrants the £180 per night price tag and £15 per day to park on top.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was fabulous . It started at the checkin . We where made to feel special . The room was Queen Ann . Large four poster bed . Very comfortable room . Did not dine has we wanted to spend time in Chester . But the menu look very tempting . Breakfast was great you could not wish for any think better . You name it it was there . The coffee was lovley . And un limited . Which makes a change . Down side cost of car parking £15:00 for twenty four hours . This is nealy London rates . But did not let it spoil our Stan. Would I got back yes yes please .

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I thought the Grosvenor Hotel in Chester could not be bettered. However the Queen Hotel does indeed do this. My wife and I booked a King Room which was quite fabulous. Make sure you ask for a King room as there are others.
Luggage delivered to your room and even jackets hung up for you in the wardrobe!
Bed very comfortable and air conditioning although the electrics somewhat complicated!
Very friendly people at the reception, happily answering all ones questions.
Dinner very good especially breakfast. Nice to be able to sit outside in beautiful surroundings for a drink.
The only problem was that we couldn't find a slope to enter the hotel and navigated the steps with difficulty.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a King Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is deceiving in terms of its size and interior style. Apparently, it was one of the earliest railway hotels and it has retained a grand decor and ambience. There are two main parts. I stayed in the newly refurbished King's block. This is a modern tower but is well fitted out and the rooms are very spacious. There are King Size beds with new matresses, a large en suite and good air conditioning. It is fitted out to high four star standard. Meals were great and staff very helpful. Full marks all round.

Room Tip: Each floor is themed to a royal dynasty so take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilofEnglandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

just got back from long weekend at the queens hotel.staff very happy and helpful.
room a bit hot so chamber maid went and got us really big fan.very cool in room.room very clean .they work very hard to keep up a very high standard .
breckfast excellent.lots of choice.
lounges in hotel very high standard.would recommend for something very special weekend or weddings.train station just outside hotel.
all the staff will make you feel relaxed.carnt do enough for you.city centre just ten minutes away.
go there to feel spoilt.
but very expensive.glass of coke £4.so you will know what to expect with other drinks.
will be going back soon.really enjoyed are stay.big thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: try and get room with air con in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 987654321186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Arrived to a warm welcome from smiling staff. Lovely room in the Kings building with climate control, especially welcome as weather hot! Bathroom modern with power shower & separate bath, comfy bed and room nice and clean too.
Breakfast buffet very tasty with great range of food on offer including Bucks Fizz.
Staff we're very friendly and always ready to help.
Will be returning!

Room Tip: The Kings building offers climate control, comfy beds. Only downside is there's 7 floors and onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing