We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value for money break”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We booked one night on the hotel Summer Deal offer and we were very pleased. It is in a good position right opposite the train station, although we travelled by car with parking available on the hotel premises or on the station car park at the rear of the hotel.
We had a standard room, which wasn't huge but ample for us and good facilities. The bathroom was modern and bright.
A three course meal was included in the price, and a free drink each in the bar. The meal was superb, served in the Kings Grill, with great service. When they found out it was my wife's birthday, a cocktail each was provided at the end if the meal- a nice touch! The buffet breakfast was also very good, with an excellent choice.
Queens is situated just out of Chester centre, but a lovely 15 mins walk along the canal takes you to the main area.
I have not awarded 5 stars for two reasons;
1. We had a faulty loo seat, and completed a form and hung it outside the room door as instructed, but it had stil not been fixed when we checked out.
2. The same receptionist checked us in and out, and appeared a little surly. We were not told the breakfast arrangements or advised that the door key operated the electrics. On check out, we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay, or if everything was to our satisfaction. No real interest shown in us as customers.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,721
    977
    347
    204
    135
See reviews for
332
1,825
58
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a perfectly beautiful hotel! We stayed here for five nights and found that the breakfast buffet was consistently terrific and our rooms were consistently quiet. We were located in the Kings Quarters and it was a reasonable distance. The rooms were large enough for our needs and all was clean and well-maintained. We had all of the amenities that we wanted and were grateful for the air conditioning. I felt that, although the beds were firmer than expected, we definitely got good value for our money. The location was excellent (directly across from the train station), yet we found that our rooms were very quiet. This hotel is an easy 15-minute walk from the main pedestrian area. Please note that the room cards need to be re-programmed frequently (They get de-programmed after exposure to cellular phones and interac cards).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our 2nd stay to this hotel in the space of 2 months. We stayed in June and again treated ourselves to an upgraded room in the Kings Quarters, we love it that much we really could not stay in any other part of the hotel ever again.
We stayed on a Sunday this time and got quite a good deal on the price by shopping around making it all that more tempting to return.
The staff as always were very welcoming and friendly, offering to take your bags to your room, morning calls and newspapers.
We again stayed on the 7th floor of the Kings Quarters, going back again to see if we can have a different floor next time, just being nosy we didn't mind. Beautiful room again that just takes your breath away. My only disappointment is that the rooms do not come with a fridge so although you have complementary water is it not cold (or as cold as I like it)..a fridge would go down well- with this couple at least.
Parking is expensive at the hotel but we always park at the train station which is £6 for 24 hours a lot cheaper than the £15 for the hotel parking and is only 2 minutes walk from the hotel either way.
We ate out (as spent the day walking around Chester) but then did come back to the cocktail bar located in the Kings Quarters. A lovely relaxing atmosphere, nice place to chat and the option to eat too.
We will be back for our third visit and recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra for the executive Kings rooms...you won't be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel was ok and the food was lovely. We staid on a hot summers night and with no air conditioning we struggled to sleep as the room was unbearably hot. The staff were friendly but told us we would have to pay another £60 / night to move to an air conditioned room. Our room was not cheap so to pay another £60 seemed a bit too much

Room Tip: Check if the room has air conditioning if in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliJ2958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic stay at this hotel. We loved the regal charm of the hotel, the traditional decor tastefully combined with the more modern features. We had a fantastic meal in the restaurant and found all the staff throughout the hotel to be extremely friendly and helpful. I will be recommending the hotel to family and friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emmalga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a one night stay at this hotel in July. its a very grand looking hotel across from the railway station. The rooms aren't very big but have all of the necessary facilities. The breakfast was very good and we don't have any complaints regarding the service. However, for what we got, I don't think it warrants the £180 per night price tag and £15 per day to park on top.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,613 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,079 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
0.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#20 of 44 in Chester
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing