We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Went on a travelzoo deal & stayed in a kings suite which was very contemporary and modern. Great situation opp the railway stn, just a walk into town.
Very helpful & efficient front desk.
Had dinner in the kings restaurant which was 3 courses all of which were superb.
Breakfast the following morning just as good, will definitely be returning.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank JandAL15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,625)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,132 - 2,138 of 3,626 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just loved this hotel. The reception desk is unusual, the memoribilia on the walls, the courtyard, the food, and it is across the road from the railway station, so a great location too.
We jagged a fantastic, spacious room, which was filled with character. We walked up the grand staircase and turned left and there it was, a foyer marking the entrance. We opened the door and our mouths fell open. More like a suite than a hotel room, complete with king bed, a humungous bathroom and a cute teddy bear was sitting on the lounge awaiting our arrival. The floor was slightly sloping, and creaked with age but it only added to the character of the room. We had room 119 the room that Charles Dickens stayed in January 1867.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the first floor and above. Friends had a room on the ground floor which wasn't v...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is right opposite the station and a short walk into the town. . The room was available from three o clock , we had a three course evening meal , a drinks voucher for one drink each at the bar and a lovely buffet breakfast. That was included in a deal for £99 from travel zoo. If you are interested in ghosts the hotel will be good for you as its haunted.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jennyj68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our second visit to the hotel and probably our last.
You can't fault the property and food but the location of the room was terrible on this side of the hotel, although being a member of Best Western we were promised an upgrade, if available, it was definitely not based on our first visit.
If you like peace and quiet and an average sleeper you'll be awake from about six am listening to cars passing by and also the conveniently positioned buses that stop directly under your window.
I attempted to express my disappointment when booking out but didn't really get that far other than being told that the buses don't actually start running until eight thirty in the morning and also that when booking on my next occasion to ask for a room on the opposite side.
Tired and disappointed.

Room Tip: Noisey rooms opposite station.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finnyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed in the queen hotel last night and I have to say the place itself is very beautiful and quirky. We loved the attention to detail all around, the historical and artistic displays. We stayed in the kings quarters. Our room was clean but some of the surfaces are slightly damaged with water marks, the remote control back was falling off and the lamp had a flickery bulb. None of these things really impacted our short stay though. Dinner was quite nice and all the staff were very lovely and attentive. An extra bonus was the live entertainment; they had a singer/guitar player who was very good.
The only major disappointment was at the end of our stay checking out and having a £15 bill for parking. As we booked through secret escapes I don't think we were informed of this detail. When we were only staying overnight I feel this is a very steep charge and also expensive when you are paying so much for the room. Very disappointed by this!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We've stayed at this hotel several times in the past and it has always offered good value for money. This occasion the value was outstanding. A complementary drink at the bar and breakfast were included. Previously we had stayed in the original hotel building but this time we were on the third floor of the adjacent Kings Building. It was previouly a 1960s office block that has been converted into comfortable air conditioned rooms with the restaurant/ bar on the ground floor and a connecting coridor to reception. There is 30 minutes of free parking outside the hotel entrance and a charge of 10 pounds for using the car park. The drinks vouchers clearly stated three complimentary drinks each but the barman insisted that it really meant one. As the whole package was such good value for money we really didnt mind. Check out involved standing in line for some time as there was only one person working at the reception desk and she also had to answer the phones as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCKeogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We booked one night on the hotel Summer Deal offer and we were very pleased. It is in a good position right opposite the train station, although we travelled by car with parking available on the hotel premises or on the station car park at the rear of the hotel.
We had a standard room, which wasn't huge but ample for us and good facilities. The bathroom was modern and bright.
A three course meal was included in the price, and a free drink each in the bar. The meal was superb, served in the Kings Grill, with great service. When they found out it was my wife's birthday, a cocktail each was provided at the end if the meal- a nice touch! The buffet breakfast was also very good, with an excellent choice.
Queens is situated just out of Chester centre, but a lovely 15 mins walk along the canal takes you to the main area.
I have not awarded 5 stars for two reasons;
1. We had a faulty loo seat, and completed a form and hung it outside the room door as instructed, but it had stil not been fixed when we checked out.
2. The same receptionist checked us in and out, and appeared a little surly. We were not told the breakfast arrangements or advised that the door key operated the electrics. On check out, we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay, or if everything was to our satisfaction. No real interest shown in us as customers.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,685 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,314 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,442 reviews
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £71 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing