We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Booked this as an anniversary treat and it was not cheap and did not include breakfast but we accepted that. On arrival we were told parking was an additional £15.00 a night!! Bit of a shock as we would have got the train if we had known this! Hotel itself very grand and impressive so very excited to see our room. Quite upset by our room, shower door seal broken, mould on the bath tiles, room small, stuffy, window didn't open, my bathroom at home better, most we have ever paid for a hotel room and the worst we have had! Stayed in Dubai and Australia in superb hotels for less!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenH0tel, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Walt198,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your valued feedback.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the room that you were allocated, had you raised your comments with our reception or duty management team we of course would have offered alternatives to ensure that you were happy. Instead as you did not allow us this opportunity we were unable to deal with your dissatisfaction.

The car parking charges are sign posted on two signs prior to entry to the car park underneath a barrier. Being in a city centre there are other places in which parking is available, some cheaper and some more expensive which our concierge team could have advised of given the opportunity.

Thank you once again for sending your valued feedback, I do hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Richard J Dixon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,721
    977
    347
    204
    135
See reviews for
332
1,825
58
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Wonderful old railway hotel with easy car access and walking distance to the city centre. Rooms were large with great lighting and bathroom. Concierge worthy of an academy award. Very large hotel with tour groups at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bombered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenH0tel, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear bombered,

Thank you for taking the time to write following your short stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found Iwan our concierge to be entertaining. He is a great asset to the hotel and takes great pride in providing our guests with a wonderful experience.

I do hope even though you are in Australia we will be able to welcome you back to the Queen some time soon.

Kind regards,

Richard J Dixon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taipei
Level Contributor
430 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Wow what a fantastic historic building! It was a sheer delight to explore the hotel interior and gardens, such a shame that in some of the public areas it felt a bit shabby and rundown. We had a room in the new block, large and well furnished with a good size bathroom with bath and shower. Massive bed was heavenly with top quality pillows and linens so we slept like a log, and was looking forward to brekkie, and this is where we felt disappointed. Yes there is a huge selection, both hot and cold, but even at 6 am all the cooked food tasted like it had been cooked the night before. "Crispy bacon" was not at all crispy, the beans and tomatoes were lukewarm and the pastries were just awful, made the day before and dry and tasteless. How difficult is it to ensure the food stays hot by ensuring plates are heated? Lunch was the same story---overcooked pasta with no seasoning and a bland and watery olive and tomato sauce, and no Parmesan cheese. Dinner was in our side of the building in the Kings restaurant. Waited over 30 minutes to place an order, seems like a large party got preference, fishcake starter was just bland and mushy fish, fish main was better but they had not cooked the skin first so it was soggy, accompanying veggies and potatoes were good, fresh and crunchy. Choice of wine was very limited and of dubious quality, the Pinot Grigio was like dishwater and the Chilean Sauvy Blanc not much better. Staff overall were very friendly and helpful, even if a little inexperienced, especially 1 poor server who had been dragged down from banqueting and it was the only time she had served in the restaurant, but she was very nice. Like many historic hotels in the UK, it really does need to update some of the decoration, and regarding the food, well they are going to struggle because Chester is one of the better places to eat and drink in a part of the country not exactly brimming with quality.

Room Tip: Ask for the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madfish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenH0tel, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear madfish8

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thorough review. I am most disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We are in business to make people happy and I am sorry that we clearly have not achieved this on your most recent visit.

I have thoroughly gone through all your feedback with our Executive Chef in order that we can improve our offering, although I am confused regarding your comments about a pasta dish as we do not have pasta on our lunch menus.

I am pleased that you enjoyed exploring our wonderful building. We have a rolling refurbishment programme which this year has seen a £1 million investment in refurbishment and development of our reception and lobby areas along with 30 executive bedrooms.

Thank you once again for leaving your valued feedback, I hope we can welcome you back to the Queen very soon.

Kind regards,

Richard J Dixon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here with a few friends for the races. The welcome was good, the staff very friendly, helpful and attentive- I forgot my suit (idiot) so had to nip into town- ten minutes walk by the way, to buy a replacement. On return to the hotel, the staff went out of their way to help me- whisked me off to a room where I could iron my shirt. (As we were too early to check in) get changed etc, they were brillant in such a rushed, hectic situation. Especial thanks to "Iwan" the concierge, who couldn't have done any more for us- brilliant guy. As for the stay, the rooms were nice, fully equipped and quiet. We didn't have breakfast there so can't comment. The bar staff were helpful and attentive also.
Deffo worth a stay if you visit Chester.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank QualityreviewsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenH0tel, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Mattyniceguy,

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review following your stay with us. I am delighted that we were able to assist you following your 'mishap'!

Iwan is a great asset to the hotel and always offers the warmest of welcomes. He quite often has some great tips over race meetings. Be sure to ask him next time you visit!

Kind regards,

Richard J Dixon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandhurst
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed with my son for 2 nights.
Lovely Grand hotel and room.
Just a coupl of niggles.
- No holder for the loo roll, 4 star hotel ?? !!
- Sealant around bath coming away
- Quite noisey as lots of weddings/ events. ok when windows closed and slept well. But their is no air con or fans. Not a problem as weather cold.
_Also no biscuits on tea tray on 2nd day, a bit mean
-Breakfast poor in first room at the front, better in jubilee room
Staff helpful and friendly, room clean, had to pay for parking, but is in city centre and right next to hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenH0tel, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear kathy b,

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for bringing your 'niggles' to my attention. It certainly seems very strange that there was no toilet roll holder in your room and that the biscuits in your room were not replenished - as a biscuit lover myself I understand your frustration.

Thank you also for your comments regarding our team - it is always lovely to hear such kind sentiment.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Richard J Dixon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend booked this hotel for one night on the bank holiday weekend in May for my birthday. The room was lovely, the bed was one of the comfiest I have slept in and the breakfast was exceptional. The location is also very accessible literally opposite the train station an just off the main roads. Definitely would recommend and stay again

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenH0tel, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Ben T,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the Queen so much you signed up to tripadvisor. Thank you also for your comments regarding breakfast. As the most important meal of the day we take great pride in our offering and on the last count there were 104 individual items.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Queen very soon when you are celebrating another special occasion.

Kind regards,

Richard J Dixon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,613 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,079 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
0.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#20 of 44 in Chester
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing