We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor sleep quality but very clean and impressive decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Chester
North West
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor sleep quality but very clean and impressive decor”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Mixed feelings about our stay. Myself, my partner and our 3 year old son were firstly put in a large family room, however it was extremely hot in the room with no airconditioning. In addition the window was broken and had no prop so couldnt stay open wide without me propping it with a coat hanger. When I rang down to reception they brought up a (very old) fan which just seemed to swirl the warm air around the room. Whe I asked if there were any family rooms with air conditioning the reply was no. After an awfully hot and restless nights sleep I complained and was eventually (after my refusal to pay for an upgrade) given a free upgrade to a honeymoon suite. This was absoloutally gorgeous with a huge corner bath and lovely features in the room.
Finally we thought we would get a good nights sleep, however there was a wedding party in the function room below us and at 10pm the music was cranked up some what and the bass of the music was vibrating our room. I rang down the reception, they said they would ask him to turn down the bass, he did slightly but it did not make much difference. Eventually at midnight we got to sleep. The next day we gave up trying to speak to the manager who seemed very busy and have now put our complaint in writing.
I just feel that they knew we had a young son and relocate us to a room directly above the function room was somewhat thoughtless. Also to let the DJ play the music so loud in a hotel with other guests was also thoughtless.

Such a shame as the hotel is lovely and right opposite the train station, just think we had a bad experience and hope other people who stay there do not have the same experience as us. Dont stay on the first floor at alll!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTaylor263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,727
    977
    348
    204
    135
See reviews for
332
1,831
58
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2010

extremely good value for money, staff very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean, only a short walk into chester. Very good selection for breakfast, will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallettLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend and we had a wonderful time. The rooms were very clean and well decorated. We booked for the evening meal at the hotel,and it was a wonderful experience all round. The food was outstanding and the staff made you feel very special. The staff throughout the hotel were very pleasent and polite and they always had a smile on thier faces. The breakfast was very good plenty of chose,and if there was a suggestion to be made it is that they invest in a new form of appliance for toasting the bread as the toasters they have now does not do the job very well. But apart from this only one very small thing the whole of our stay was outstanding,more so that we have booked again to go back again to celebrate my birthday in august.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReaBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

In June we stayed at this hotel for one night. We had booked on line and managed to get a cheap rate in one of the basic standard rooms, but on arrival we were upgraded to a suite, compliments of the hotel. The room was very large and nicely decorated with a large en-suite bathroom, unfortunately there were problems with the water pressure and there was some very annoying noises coming from the pipe work. Also the shower was pretty much pointless as it only seemed to trickle. Breakfast was nice, plenty of choice both hot and cold, set in a buffet style.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and the concierge was brilliant, he made sure we knew exactly how to get into the centre of Chester and also advised us of all the best places to eat and noted these on a map for us. The hotel is only a short walk into town along the canal or you can jump on a free bus which you can catch just across the road outside the train station.

There was ample parking at the hotel but this did come at a price of £10 for 24 hours, which I personally think is a little steep but it did seem safe and secure.

All in all a good clean central hotel, shame about the shower but we would certainly stay there again and encourage others to.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2010

I was worried that it would be noisy being so close to the railway station. In fact the room was very quiet. Stayed in the old building. The stay was good & we had no problems.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WollatonHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wootton Bassett
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Have just spent a very happy weekend with friends at The Queen Hotel. All our rooms in the Kings Suite were super - very tastefully decorated and appointed - could not find any faults.

We had a most enjoyable meal in the Restaurant on the Friday evening - food excellent and staff very obliging - nothing was too much trouble and they all appeared to be enjoying their work which helped to make our evening a success.

We would certainly return and have already recommended this Hotel to friends.

I cannot think that the previous reviewer AngeAde stayed in the same Hotel

Well done to the staff

Moll

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janicegriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We stayed here with some colleagues. I can recommend the King Suite rooms. Very modern but still coming with a warm atmosphere from antique details. Food, Service and staff were great.
We only had a little queue in the breakfast room every morning. One more person there to show guests to their tables would really help.

I can highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again the next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepbluehh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenH0tel, Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, 6 June 2010
Dear deepbluehh,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Best Western Premier Queen Hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind words are most appreciated and I have passed them on to team who I know will be greatly encouraged by your generous sentiments.

Apologies that you had a short wait for breakfast, I understand that this can be frustrating.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to the Queen very soon.

Kindest regards
Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,615 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,081 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,335 reviews
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#20 of 44 in Chester
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing