We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changed - but not for the better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Changed - but not for the better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

My wife and I stayed here on Friday 6th August. We have stayed many times and enjoyed every visit but this is the first time we have stayed since the opening of the Kings Quarters. Unlike the 'old' bedrooms, the new bedrooms (which I think are housed in an old HBOS building) are typical travelodge fayre...very small, bland and claustrophobic. I understand that they have to get as many rooms in as possible but they have sacrificed style and character for more revenue, but I guess in this current environment they have to.
As for the 'free' drinks between 5 and 7pm, we hated it. There were queues into the corridor and the whole experience of going to the bar between these times is something I dont want to experience again.
Breakfast is good, in fact it is probably the best buffet style english breakfast we have ever had, the only problem is the wait to get seated and it felt a bit like a holiday camp that I experienced as a kid with my mum and dad in the late 70s.
Overall, I love Chester and I used to love the Queens hotel but we would not stay there again after this experience. Oh and charging £10 to park in the hotel car park for residents is a bit much as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harro2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenH0tel, Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
Dear harro2904,

Thank you for your review following your stay here at the Queen Hotel.

I am very sorry you did not like our new £20 million extention to the Queen in the form of the King building. Whilst not of the size of the huge victorian bedrooms in the original building, the King rooms are very generously proportioned with six foot beds and every imaginable digital mod-con. They have been finished to an exceptionally high standard with bespoke Italian furniture, unique luxurious carpeting and Designers' Guild wall coverings and soft furnishings. The bathrooms offer drench showers and seperate tub and are oversized in comparison to other modern hotels. I do, however, realise that you may prefer the personality of the older Victorian rooms, which are certainly full of character. We are very lucky at the Queen to be able to offer guests the best of both worlds.

The free bar has been a pheonominal success. Naturally it does get busy due to its popularity.

Thank you for your kind words regarding breakfast. We have spent much time developing the content into being the best breakfast in the city.

Let me know personally when you are next visiting Chester and I will ensure that you are allocated a room in the original building.

Thanks again

Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,605
    902
    326
    190
    124
See reviews for
304
1,675
54
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend as a short trip from Dublin. Right besude train station and central to town. Excellent location. Staff very friendly and helpful despite being busy. Excellent breakfast with buck fizz. Promotion price very reasonable. Hotel presentation and facilities excellent. And the management offered free drinks in the evening. Beat that!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Ainscough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenH0tel, Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
Dear Peter,

Thanks for your review following your stay here at Best Western Premier Queen Hotel.

It was really generous of you to let the world wide web know how much you enjoyed your stay here in Chester.

I've passed your kind words on to the team who are equally grateful.

The free bar has certainly been popular - a nice g&t at the end of a hectic day always hits the right spot, especially if someone else is paying!

I'm so glad you enjoyed breakfast so much. We like to think it's the best around and the bucks fizz on the weekends and live jazz on Sundays adds to the buzz.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards
Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for our wedding anniversary. We booked this on laterooms.com. We had an executive room in the Kings area of the hotel. The reception staff were very helpful and our room was very very nice. Staff were helpful and very friendly throughout our stay. We ate in the hotel both nights and the food and service were fabulous. An ideal location for looking around Chester. There were two weddings on whilst we stayed there but we experienced none of what other reviewers have mentioned. Definitely no noise in the Kings area. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammi2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenH0tel, Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
Dear sammi2383,

Thank you for your review about the Queen.

Your positive comments about all aspects of your stay are very gratefully received.

I am so pleased you enjoyed the food on both nights of your stay. The new Kings' Grill and Cocktail Lounge has been a huge hit since it opened last year, the chef brigade take a great deal of joy providing for guests in such lovely surroundings, and the live music at weekends gives the area a lovely atmosphere.

The Queen is a very busy city centre hotel with tonnes going on in all areas. We always try our very best to minimise noise and I'm delighted that our efforts are being rewarded.

Thank you again for your very kind feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards
Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed here for a touch of luxury and we got it, the room was outstanding the food was fab and the staff great.

The car park was expensive but at least I knew the car was tucked up safely during our stay and it was only a short walk to the town centre.

Looking now to re-book for after christmas

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Br0wnbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenH0tel, Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
Dear Brownbear,

We'd love to see you again around Christmas time. The hotel and the Baltic Exchange Gardens look spectacular in the snow!

It was really good of you to write such a nice review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay, the food and and the friendliness of the team.

Car parking is always frustrating in a city centre. We're lucky to be one of the only hotels in the city with a car park, but being in the city centre and next to the railway station, it does need to be controlled. I see from your review that you're from the West Midlands. You can get a direct train from either Birmingham New Street or Wolverhampton and being attached to the station, what could be easier or more relaxing?

Thank you once again for being so generous and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards
Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HERTS
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

Having visited the hotel earlier in the year for business , I though that I would try it again for pleasure and glad that I did.
Got a very good deal on Laterooms.com but unfortunately did visit on the weekend when the races were on so do check as I think the prices go up a bit then and we weren't going to the races.
Lovely warm welcome from reception and an upgrade to The Kings Suites which were lovely, clean, spacious and a little bit of a view.
We only ate breakfasts at the hotel which was fabulous lots of it and buzz fizz on arrival. On the Sunday there was a live jazz band which was very nice.
It is about a 15 minute walk into the town centre (keep on the roads as the underpaths could be a bit dark at night) and Chester is a wonderful city with lots to do and see. As mentioned the races were on and the town was full of people dressed up (some good and some very badly dressed!).
The were a few things that were on the down side, the lift broke down one night and we had to walk 5 flights which is fine as we were resaonably fit but if you were older or had children then it may have been difficult. Apparently the lift has broken down before.
The other downside is that our radiator was on full in the bathroom , making it very hot as it 30 degrees outside - this was quickly rectified when reported. Also I think that the parking charges were a little steep at £10 for 24 hours which is a bit steep on top of what you have paid, I think this should be free for guests. That said the car park is reasonably secure.
This hotel is 10 seconds from the train station . Strongly recommend the Thai restaurant less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

All in all a lovely visit and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALIHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

Well placed hotel just a short walk into the centre, stayed in the kings suites absolutely spot on, very clean and fresh, very friendly and helpful staff in all departments, breakfast was first class with plenty of choice, and the kings restaurant food is first rate, enjoyed a 3 day relaxing break away, i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, I even managed to arrange the most beautiful flowers for my partner thanks to mark in reception,

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casperf16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

hotel just across the road from the train station. 10 mins fr centre of chester along canal
or went via church and park along river on sunday, lovely walk. Breakfast was good ,
House keeping a little lax, things like tissues, cookies etc not replaced. Given outdated
password for wi-fi in our room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southwestgal85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing