We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“such a let down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“such a let down!”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

i booked this hotel for a surprise birthday break for my husband! we normally stay at the queens which is superb but as this was fully booked we opted for this hotel with it being a best western hotel i would assume similar standard! where to start?... the breakfast was a joke! it tasted like it had been warmed up from the day before!....the room view of the fire exit and an extention with an added bonus of a window sill full of bird poo!!! the lights were poorly light due to cheap lighting....but i dind thowever still manage to notice the clump of chewing gum stuck to side of bedside cabinest which had been stuck there for quiet some time! and not to mention the stained bed throws!!! such a let down and i will be complaining direct, i dont normally complain and can tolerate certain faults but this was ridiculous for the price! be warned!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viki l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    256
    244
    171
    130
See reviews for
87
423
37
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

WOW - not what we expected at all ! We thought the hotel would be similar to Premier Inn (et al), but what a pleasant surprise.
The hotel is directly across the road from Chester train station, and is a maximum 10 minute walk along the canal into the centre of town. (Taxi only costs £1 per person if you don't fancy the walk).
The hotel staff were very welcoming and could not do enough to help - at all levels. For example, my hubby was poorly all day, and even though we ordered dinner at the hotel, that evening he was not up to eating - they had served him his choice of Lamb Hot Pot (never seen so much lamb in one place at one time, except when it was still running around a field
!!!), but he apologised and asked for just a slice of toast instead - they duly obliged with not a face-pill in sight.
The rooms are quite compact, but very clean and nice and warm. Fabulous power-shower, too.
(We would ask for a rom at the rear of the building next time, though, as it can get quite noisy around 1-2am when the last of the trains brings the partygoers home !)

We will DEFINITELY stay here again.

Have fun, holidaymakers and business-stayers alike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at rear of the building if you prefer the quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppysteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Absolutely terrible. We were forced to stay in this hotel due to overbooking at the hotel across the road (The Queens Hotel). 9 of us (from a party of 16) were shoved in this hotel as apparently all others in Chester were fully booked. I'm not surprised this one had plenty of vacancies. On checking in, we were all allocated single rooms (although some had double beds in, but not adequate space for 2 people), I WOULD SUGGEST YOU VIEW THE ROOMS BEFORE YOU AGREE TO TAKE THEM. Rooms 119 and 215 were particularly disgusting, 119 smelling of urine, had a carpeted bathroom, and a dirty bath. 215 smelling of dirty nappies, had poor lighting and was generally rank. The doubles were of a better standard, at least being clean, but to me were not of a standard that a 3 star hotel should be. Some of the furnishing were dated and damaged. Our toilet made an horrendous noise when you flushed it and the shower door didn't close properly. The net curtains were black at the bottom and the window covered in condensation. The kettle had also not been emptied from the previous guests. Had we not have been forced to stay there, I would never have considered staying. There were also several other complaints about rooms at the same time, hence the receptionist was quite flustered. Needless to say, not an enjoyable experience. I'm glad we didn't stay for breakfast. We were given the rooms at a reduced rate of £40, they normally charge £50 a night for this dog hole. I would not stay again unless some considerable refurbishment is made and for a Best Western Hotel, very poor.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank shewood76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for highlighting your views when some of your party due to a technical problem with a number of rooms at our 4 star Queen Hotel you had to be booked into our 3 star Westminster Hotel. To reflect the bookout from the Queen Hotel you will appreciate that rather than paying £60 per person sharing bed and breakfast you were allocated single ensuite rooms in our hotel at the reduced rate of £40 per person and were also offered the opportunity of enjoying your breakfast across the road at the Queen Hotel (along with a complimentary bottle of wine per person for the inconvenience). Given that one of your colleagues expressed the group’s dissatisfaction at the end of your stay, the hotel refunded a further £20 per person, resulting in your party being charged £20 per person bed and breakfast.

I cannot agree with your criticism of the rooms, particularly at the substantially reduced price and as an example I have attached a photograph of room 215 which is a recently fully refurbished bedroom, which having inspected it once again today is a highly satisfactory single ensuite room.

I am sorry to note that the frustration of having being accommodated in our 3 star property has resulted in you expressing your frustrations in this way despite the fact that this 3 star hotel does have quality facilities and very caring staff and management.


Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

exeter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This hotel was booked for me by a corporate booking company, so I had no say in selecting it. The hotel has a very attractive facade, but you can tell that it is several years overdue a refurb as soon as you go in the main door. The room was very run down with mould on the Walls, curtains hanging off the rail and holes in the sheets. Being due a refurb is one thing, but what was really disappointing was the rubbish still in the bin, the magazines from the previous occupant left on the bed and general low confidence that the room had be cleaned properly. There was old furniture in the hall way, rags on the floor along the bottom of the door opposite, and a poorly maintained fire escape door. After thinking long and hard I decided that I couldn't stay there in those conditions, needless to say they had no other rooms available so I had to find another hotel late at night after a long hard day at work. I ended up in the Premier Inn, which was very clean and smart with friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flint
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

enjoyed it here for a short xmas break and it was good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bignedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

we stayed here for a fri and sat night with 4 guys as we were working in the area,i hope my boss isnt reading this review!!!! the hotel is great and close to centre and local places for a carry out not to mention a few pubs and a restursants ...we all slept well thanks to the bar man serving us on the friday,the breakfast was excellent at 10am(suppose to start at 830am on site)rooms all prefect staff are great ...lets just say sat nite was great not to mention half day sunday!! sorry gaffer!!!!!on a whole the hotel is perfect!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbgolfing2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

After reading the reviews for this hotel, we were very dubious as it was a last minute booking, however, we had an executive double room which was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was good, staff helpful. We got more than we paid for at £70 per night for B & B, and free bar, this was excellent value. Admittedly the decor is rather strange, especially the fushcia walls in the lounge bar but this was not important to is. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bordersfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#39 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Property: Hallmark Inn Chester
Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Inn Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing