We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely second rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The Queen was our preferred hotel but it was booked out, so we walked around the corner and had no trouble getting a room at the Westminster Hotel. The staff were very helpful and we managed to find a parking space overnight at the pub alongside the Westminster. Our room was unmemorable, but for 79 pds including breakfast the deal seemed reasonable, especially as there was a lift. The offer of free drinks at the bar for a two hour happy hour seemed extraordinary. The bar, however, was not somewhere we cared to linger and when a bus emptied its load of OAPs readying themselves for a night of dining and music, as they thronged into the bar we decided to try the pub next door, which was very pleasant and served excellent fish and chips. Our room overlooked machinery beside the hotel and a side street. Hardly romantic, but at least it didn't overlook the main street and railway. However, the town came very noisily to life at 6 am, led by the garbage collection trucks. Our breakfast was unmemorable.

Room Tip: Hard to know which rooms are good - rely on the staff's recommendations when booking.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Inn Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

881 - 887 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

Our weekend away was just perfect, the hotel was lovely, we opted for the executive double room, very roomy, quiet, nice size bathroom

Breakfast was perfect, staff very accommodating, and the free bar on Friday was a bonus

Room Tip: the free bar on Friday was excellent - just a perfect weekend away
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smftpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

i booked this hotel for a surprise birthday break for my husband! we normally stay at the queens which is superb but as this was fully booked we opted for this hotel with it being a best western hotel i would assume similar standard! where to start?... the breakfast was a joke! it tasted like it had been warmed up from the day before!....the room view of the fire exit and an extention with an added bonus of a window sill full of bird poo!!! the lights were poorly light due to cheap lighting....but i dind thowever still manage to notice the clump of chewing gum stuck to side of bedside cabinest which had been stuck there for quiet some time! and not to mention the stained bed throws!!! such a let down and i will be complaining direct, i dont normally complain and can tolerate certain faults but this was ridiculous for the price! be warned!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viki l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

WOW - not what we expected at all ! We thought the hotel would be similar to Premier Inn (et al), but what a pleasant surprise.
The hotel is directly across the road from Chester train station, and is a maximum 10 minute walk along the canal into the centre of town. (Taxi only costs £1 per person if you don't fancy the walk).
The hotel staff were very welcoming and could not do enough to help - at all levels. For example, my hubby was poorly all day, and even though we ordered dinner at the hotel, that evening he was not up to eating - they had served him his choice of Lamb Hot Pot (never seen so much lamb in one place at one time, except when it was still running around a field
!!!), but he apologised and asked for just a slice of toast instead - they duly obliged with not a face-pill in sight.
The rooms are quite compact, but very clean and nice and warm. Fabulous power-shower, too.
(We would ask for a rom at the rear of the building next time, though, as it can get quite noisy around 1-2am when the last of the trains brings the partygoers home !)

We will DEFINITELY stay here again.

Have fun, holidaymakers and business-stayers alike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at rear of the building if you prefer the quiet
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppysteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Absolutely terrible. We were forced to stay in this hotel due to overbooking at the hotel across the road (The Queens Hotel). 9 of us (from a party of 16) were shoved in this hotel as apparently all others in Chester were fully booked. I'm not surprised this one had plenty of vacancies. On checking in, we were all allocated single rooms (although some had double beds in, but not adequate space for 2 people), I WOULD SUGGEST YOU VIEW THE ROOMS BEFORE YOU AGREE TO TAKE THEM. Rooms 119 and 215 were particularly disgusting, 119 smelling of urine, had a carpeted bathroom, and a dirty bath. 215 smelling of dirty nappies, had poor lighting and was generally rank. The doubles were of a better standard, at least being clean, but to me were not of a standard that a 3 star hotel should be. Some of the furnishing were dated and damaged. Our toilet made an horrendous noise when you flushed it and the shower door didn't close properly. The net curtains were black at the bottom and the window covered in condensation. The kettle had also not been emptied from the previous guests. Had we not have been forced to stay there, I would never have considered staying. There were also several other complaints about rooms at the same time, hence the receptionist was quite flustered. Needless to say, not an enjoyable experience. I'm glad we didn't stay for breakfast. We were given the rooms at a reduced rate of £40, they normally charge £50 a night for this dog hole. I would not stay again unless some considerable refurbishment is made and for a Best Western Hotel, very poor.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank shewood76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Thank you for highlighting your views when some of your party due to a technical problem with a number of rooms at our 4 star Queen Hotel you had to be booked into our 3 star Westminster Hotel. To reflect the bookout from the Queen Hotel you will appreciate that rather than paying £60 per person sharing bed and breakfast you were allocated single ensuite rooms in our hotel at the reduced rate of £40 per person and were also offered the opportunity of enjoying your breakfast across the road at the Queen Hotel (along with a complimentary bottle of wine per person for the inconvenience). Given that one of your colleagues expressed the group’s dissatisfaction at the end of your stay, the hotel refunded a further £20 per person, resulting in your party being charged £20 per person bed and breakfast.

I cannot agree with your criticism of the rooms, particularly at the substantially reduced price and as an example I have attached a photograph of room 215 which is a recently fully refurbished bedroom, which having inspected it once again today is a highly satisfactory single ensuite room.

I am sorry to note that the frustration of having being accommodated in our 3 star property has resulted in you expressing your frustrations in this way despite the fact that this 3 star hotel does have quality facilities and very caring staff and management.


Kind regards

Jamie McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This hotel was booked for me by a corporate booking company, so I had no say in selecting it. The hotel has a very attractive facade, but you can tell that it is several years overdue a refurb as soon as you go in the main door. The room was very run down with mould on the Walls, curtains hanging off the rail and holes in the sheets. Being due a refurb is one thing, but what was really disappointing was the rubbish still in the bin, the magazines from the previous occupant left on the bed and general low confidence that the room had be cleaned properly. There was old furniture in the hall way, rags on the floor along the bottom of the door opposite, and a poorly maintained fire escape door. After thinking long and hard I decided that I couldn't stay there in those conditions, needless to say they had no other rooms available so I had to find another hotel late at night after a long hard day at work. I ended up in the Premier Inn, which was very clean and smart with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

enjoyed it here for a short xmas break and it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bignedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belgrave Hotel
Belgrave Hotel
#40 of 44 in Chester
193 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £35 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Inn Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing