We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed it but one or two tiny niggles....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it but one or two tiny niggles....”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Okay..well we stayed here over the weekend 17th to 19th Aug, arrived Friday evening and left Sunday morning. Drove here and found it easily right by the train station so may go via rail next time. Not at all noisy despite close proximity. The first and main niggle was upon arrival, having to pay £15 per night to park the car across the road on the sister hotels car park. Now if i had looked around or asked maybe a cheaper alternative could have been sought but i feel an extra £30 on top of the £187 for 2 nights was a bit excessive. Reception was great and were soon booked in and a lovely room on the second floor. Ok the room was small but perhaps that was due to the amount of furniture/chairs in there... but still it was clean and tidy with kettle and drinks and all you could need... oh yes niggle 2.. the TV was like something off a car boot sale with all of 5 channels on it and reception was awful.... flat screens are a must these days and this really let them down...especially as a huge plasma was in reception and their reception was fine. location is about a 5 to 10 minute walk into town, you pass over a canal bridge on the way past a great pub on left called the Harkers Arms... really great and does great looking food. Chester is fantastic and we went to La Tasca in town which was lovely then the slug n lettuce for a few drinks then back to hotel. The bed was huge and comfy but both of us noticed it was really hot in the night and perhaps a tad uncomfortable, not much room ventilation so perhaps a fan needed in Summer months ? Anyway the bathroom was clean and a good shower the next morning woke us up for a great buffet style breakfast in the dining room. The selection was wide with cereals and yogurts and a full hot selection with tea/coffee etc. No complaints at all. Enjoyed Chester thoroughly and this hotel is a great choice, ok if you look at the nearby holiday inn/travel lodge types that are all new and gleaming then this does appear old but it has real character and the food and location are superb. Get the car parking sorted and the in room entertainment and this will be hard to beat.

Room Tip: second floor was quiet room 227 was ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianwillishall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your response following your recent stay with us, I have investigated the television and had it replaced with a new one, along with having the engineers check the reception.The car parking charges are for a secure, monitored area belonging to both hotels there are other car parks in the area but these are not secure which is reflected in the price.Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westminster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    264
    252
    177
    134
See reviews for
92
444
40
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Just got home from our stay, i'm shattered, this could be because the toilet in our room kept waking us up making wierd, loud suction like noises or because we couldn't open our very little window to cool the room down as it was very warm! We also got woken up by a neighbouring room resident having a bad time on the toilet, not that the hotel can help that but it goes to show how thin the walls are...not pleasant. The room itself was nicely decorated, comfy bed & decent tele, however rather small & stuffy. The bathroom was nice & clean but we found the shower to be a little pathetic, but that could just be personal preference with regards to shower strength. I paid £89 for a double room for 1 night, no breakfast or anything included, i do not think it was worth the money & we certainly over paid!! On checking out, i complained about the toilet i got a confused, screwed up look from the receptionist, no apology & no offer of anything off or something to make up for it... However, he was pleasant on arrival & when leaving, but after a pretty rubbish nights sleep, a little more than that would have been much better!! The hotel was quite easy to locate & It is in quite a good location, near the station if you were travelling by train & a short walk to the city centre... Anyway, We will be returning to chester but not to this hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrigNo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your review it is comments such as yours that help us improve in all areas, I have had our maintenance team repair the toilet and would like to thank you that you brought this to our attention I have also spoken to the receptionist on duty that morning and they have apologized for not being more sympathetic as customer service is one of our high priorities. Hopefully you will return to Chester and the hotel to enable us to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We booked 2 rooms for the 9th Aug 2012 till the 11th as a birthday treat for my wife. We travelled with our two children aged 13 and 14. On arrival, we were early so left our bags so we could explore Chester. On our return, we registered. We were suppose to recieve drinks vouchers as part of our package but these were only offered when I pointed it out later that day. Our rooms were tiny, you couldn't swing a cat there, so we asked for bigger rooms, which the staff readily agreed to at no extra cost. In our room 108, the toilet flush system is to say the least adequate, in fact it didnt work most of the time. The room were adequate. We were at the rear of the hotel near to some heating/air conditioning system. At 10pm on the first night we could not sleep as the room was too hot, we had the windows open, only to be disturbed by noise and abuse from in the small courtyard below us. Only when I shouted for the persons responsible to be quiet, that it stopped and the fire escape door on that level was shut and the air con system came on. Eerie that. The hotel denied it was any of there staff, but else could it have been. The rooms are too wafer thin and noisey residents are heard nearby. In the dining area for dinner there was only one waitresss on, verey nice but overworked as a party of 4 waited for over 90 mins for there first main meal.in the breakfast room, the skirting where we were sat needs a deep clean, very grubby. The waiting staff need to be tidier. The general manager not very helpful either, so we checked out a day early and went to another better hotel in the centre of Chester.Would we reccomend this hotel and visit again NO, NO.

Room Tip: Not great rooms especially 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Rooms were sub standard - very small, especially bathroom.
Skirting board and tea tray covered in dust/dirt. Mould on bath room ceiling.
Dark and dismal room - needed lights on even in bright sunshine.
On a positive note - the staff and breakfast were great

Room Tip: Go to Queens across the road - best western but much higher standards for similar price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and would like to apologise that you were unhappy with your room, I am unsure as whether this was brought to my front of house team at the time as we do not have a room number to check and we would have done everything possible to rectify the situation so that you were happy.
I have passed your kind comments about the staff on to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The inside of this hotel was sublime. The staff (as always at Best Westerns) were wonderful. I went on a quiet night in the week and the lovely lad on reception upgraded me when I told him it was my birthday. The room was gorgeous such a lovely change from those hotels such as Hiltons, Raddisons etc who get all the furniture from the 'contemporary hotel furniture shop' in Hotel-land. It was a brilliant location for the station and for the wonderful city of Chester (about a ten minute walk away). I am itching to get back to this particular hotel but want to go when I have enough money to eat there too as the dining area looked fabulous!

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ludlowcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for your review, it is lovely when guests take the time to write compliments and I shall pass the comment on to the rceceptionist who was on duty.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel via a coach tour, from 30/07/12 - 03/08/12. My son and myself stayed at the Westminster and found the staff to be very friendly and efficient, and nothing was too much trouble for them. This made our stay all the better. The food was of a high standard and the chef is a credit to the hotel. Congrats also to Lewis (One of the waiters), who just started this week, though we didn't know this until management told us after we mentioned that he was good at his job. Will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
I would like to say thank you for your kind words and comments and am extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay, we do pride ourselves on customer service and the service the staff provide and I have spoken to Lewis who was delighted to have this recognition in his first week, I have also passed the review to the Chef and his team.
We all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Have just returned from a nights stay at the Westminster hotel , nice hotel , very friendly staff ,on arrival we were given a free bottle of wine and 6 free drinks tokens , so we never had to buy a drink during our stay which was brilliant !!! Breakfast was exellent loads to choose from and buffet style so could eat as much as you liked . Our room (208) was a lovely family room newly decorated . Only down side was the £10 charge for parking and no free view channels on the tv in the rooms which were advertised . Overall we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
On behalf of myself and my team at the hotel, thank you for taking the time to write your review we always appreciate comments and feedback which help us to improve and provide our guests with a happy stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,367 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
1.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Property: Hallmark Inn Chester
Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Lastminute, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Inn Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing