We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbished room or don't go!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Having read some very poor reviews on Trip Advisor before travelling to this hotel, I contacted them in advance of our stay to express concerns (it was a non-refundable booking via Tesco Clubcard or else I may have cancelled.) My partner doesn't keep in the best of health so I was fearful of finding ourselves in a room that was unsuitable. After speaking to a very helpful chap on the phone, I was told we would be allocated one of the refurbished rooms, room 202. When we arrived and checked-in, I found we had been allocated room 228. I explained that I had called earlier in the week and been told we would be in room 202, a refurbished room. When I explained about my telephone call to the hotel the girl on Reception told me that I should not have been 'promised' a specific room and that this room was unavailable. I'm sorry, but that was hardly my fault if the person I spoke to was not following normal procedure. Anyhow, we took the keys to Room 228 and I can best describe this as the type of room you would find in a hostel, it was dreadful. The bed didn't look made, the wallpaper was torn and dirty, the net curtain was torn and stained and the fixtures were equally as tired and dirty looking. There was an 'antique' centre light with 5 bulbs, only 2 of which were lit, I'm sure to disguise other failings in the room. By far the biggest issue however was the fact the bed was only accessible from one side with the other flush against the wall, Really not suitable when you have a 6ft 4" partner with mobility issues (all of which was explained to the hotel.) Deciding we couldn't possible stay in this Room, we complained to Reception and very quickly we were moved to Room 218 which was indeed a refurbished room. On first impressions Room 218 was infinitely better, certainly more modern and apparently cleaner. It was however not without its problems. We had a toilet that wouldn't flush without having to press in the flush about a dozen times in quick succession, no mean feat I can say, as well as a toilet roll holder that only a contortionist could reach! There was a also a bulb missing in the spot light above the mirror, it only held two so must've been noticeable to housekeeping, there were also damp and mouldy patches on the ceiling on a room that has only very recently been decorated. Quite laughable that you have a 'do not disturb' sign for the room but nowhere to hang it outside the door??!! After our first night, the shower gel was was not replenished in the room, all basic, basic standards that the Best Western couldn't achieve.

Breakfast in the hotel was an 'experience.' There were several tables reserved for what appeared to be a party from a conference. On the first morning we were allocated a table that was set but hadn't been cleaned. The was a dirty cup that had been turned over as if ready for use and when my partner went to use his napkin that was folded for use found it to be covered in lipstick, completely unacceptable. The service was, at best, slow. The chap who was serving tried his best but with so many tables to serve it was inevitable he wouldn't be able to keep up. The second morning on asking for tea, the tea arrived minus milk, petty yes, however I repeat, very basic standards that shouldn't be difficult to attain.

In summary, we would never stay here again, probably not even if you paid us, it was quite frankly one of the worst hotels we have stayed in for a long time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottishTravellerNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive review and I would like to apologise that you were not happy with your stay, sometimes we do get things wrong but if discussed with us directly we do all we can to make everyone's stay memorable for the right reasons so apologise that we were unable to do this for you, should you wish to return please contact the hotel directly.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,027)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Inn Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

The room I was in was filthy, and stank of cigarettes. The bathroom smelt even worse. The heating was on full blast with no way of turning it down, and the windows were unable to open so the room became a smelly hot box! I ended up having to use the ironing board (that would have been better off in the bin) to wedge the door open when I was getting ready. And to top it all off the shower was lukewarm.

I left the room feeling dirty, smelly, and disgusting...only to find the breakfast was poorly stocked and consisted of mostly greasy fry up that had been left out too long,

I would recommend staying WELL AWAY from this place if you plan on having a pleasant stay in Chester!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123AmandaB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for your review, I have investigated your room and have had maintenance look at the shower and the radiator which are both now fixed. Unfortunately prior guests had been smoking on back checking and despite housekeeping's efforts this was obviously still and issue and I sincerely apologise, hopefully you would consider staying with us again to prove that this was an isolated incident, I am unsure as to whether this was reported to reception as they would have moved your room.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at this hotel!!!! must be honest when my partner said he booked this hotel I immediately checked it out on Trip Advisor (As I do with each hotel I stay at) . To say I was apprehensive about staying here was an under statement!!!!!. Negative comments about hotel and having to pay lots of money for overnight parking!!!!!
We arrived and checked in, all super efficient, Cassie the Receptionist was really up on her knowledge of the local area as regards to where to go and eating out!!!!! We went to our room and after checking out previous reviews checked the bed and the bathroom and the general decor!! The bed was made up of fresh super white sheets and duvet cover, the bathroom was amazing, really clean and fresh and smelt of cleanliness. The room was not ultra modern, but, when you come somewhere that says on the signpost "The Historic Town of Chester" you dont expect "22nd Century"!!! The toilets that were downstairs in the Reception area were so clean and fresh and well stocked with toilet rolls and tissues!!!
We had dinner included in our stay for the first night, which was a £20 allowance each, we were able to have a starter and main meal each for this amount and the quality of the food was fantastic!!! Each day we were entitled to breakfast which on working out what we had paid ammounted to £3.50 per head each day for an "All you can eat ....help yourself buffet" which was really good value for money in any hotel!!!!
Cassie was a hub of information on what to do and where to go to eat, and on our second night recommended "Barton Rouge" the Indian Restaurant, which was nearby on the Canal Side. This place was a 5 Star Restaurant with prices that were as of those in your local "Curry House"!!!! The place is a "Must Visit" for anybody who appreciates a really good Indian meal!!!!
Finally I must say to anybody checking out this Hotel on Trip Advisor.....check it out, speak to Cassie and enjoy your stay at the "Westminster" xxxxx

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I have passed your comments on to the Head Chef and to Cassie who was delighted you mentioned her. It is great to receive positive comments and we are all really happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
King Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The room was very dirty - mould in bathroom to an unacceptable state even for a dirty bedsit. Showerhead very scaled up and dust everywere - cleaning very poor and we made sure we complained . There was some effort to clean but the really mouldy shower screen seal was just taken away so water has now nowhere to go other than on floor - if we even risk the shower as still dirty. Dust was found in many places including the bed drape that was over you when you slept - better clean options nearby - a refund is really the only decent thing that should be on the cards for this hotel - 3 stars it says on the door - the inspectors need another visit

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padams54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for your review, I would like to apologise that you were not happy with your room, I immediately checked your room and have had all the issues mentioned dealt with and repaired as part of our programme. Hopefully you will revisit and give us a chance to prove how we have dealt with the issues and that we are constantly driving refurbishment should you wish to do so please contact the hotel directly and they will make sure you receive a free upgrade to one of our superior executive rooms on booking.
kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had booked an overnight stay as we were visiting Chester. We were given a room on the third floor.as soon as I opened the door I was shocked firstly the size, it was a cramped double with a very small window. My husband used the toilet and once flushed we heard a very load banging noises which went on for some time.
To be fair the staff were very good and moved us to a larger room which was better. Breakfast was buffet and the hot food looked as if it had been cooked for hours. The bacon was dry and chewy, sausages awful and I was disappointed as I only have cooked breakfast if I am away and was looking forward to it. The coffee was stale and we had to ask for toast.
I would not stay here again, I think you can get much better value at other hotels. Everything looks tired and a bit dated

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalestorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for your review, I apologise that you had an issue with the toilet in your room this was fixed on the same day by a maintenance operative, bit am glad that the staff responded quickly and gave you a room you were happy with. I have spoken to the Head Chef and he has apologised and was unhappy that you did not enjoy breakfast which is something we pride ourselves on, hopefully you will return to allow us to show you a proper Westminster Breakfast.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Have been waiting six weeks for response to my complaints about this Hotel.They seemed to paper over the cracks of deficiances in the basic Housekeeping of the Hotel.Namely, Poorly - maintained Toilets where a jug was offered to quicken the process of re-filling the cistern. Bulbs that were not working in the two Rooms that we were offered; scalding hot water which made it impossible to use. BEWARE ROOMS 222 + 3 !!! The response we received was that when Management tried them they were Fine! Allowing for the fact that it was over the New Year period, there was no real excuse for such a situation. A poor all-round experience. Definitely would not recommend a stay at this Hotel. It certainly left a lot to be desired, and spoiled the whole visit for us.

Room Tip: Impossible to do at this Hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Sir, Thank you for responding and would like to let you know that I have responded under separate cover to you directly, through your booking agents.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I don't normally do this sort of thing but seriously, this hotel was vile! Read a few reviews on it and thought, everyone's being dead critical it looks lovely in the pictures. how wrong I was. My boyfriend booked us in for a night for my birthday, he chose that one because it looked a bit more posh than a travelodge, oh dear. Turned up to find out we had to pay £15 to park in a car park down the road, fair enough. I can't fault the staff to be fair, they were lovely and so was the décor and quality downstairs and even in the hallways and so on. So we were thinking that it was a lovely hotel, but the shock I had when I opened the bedroom door. I can't even explain it, the very dated wall paper that was hanging off the wall, the retro sliding door to the bathroom, the shower curtain rail that was held up by a chain that was nailed to the roof, the window that wouldn't even shut properly (baring in mind, January is very cold!). Still I'm not stuck up and put a brave face on as we were going out and "would only be sleeping there". When we got back after our evening out and got into bed we realised that it was two single beds pushed together, which is fine if they would stay together. I kept falling in-between them all night! But the best bit came whenever either of us rolled over, in our single beds, the light switch for the two wall lamps were behind the headboards, therefore the lights were constantly flashing on and off all night. In the end i had to get up and push both beds against the bathroom door (baring in mind the room was quite small). All of this is fine if your paying dirt cheap prices, but it was 80 odd quid! okay, its not breaking the bank, but we booked that because from the pictures it looks lovely and I would even stretch to 'luxury'.. I'd much proffered the travelodge if I'm honest. Put a right damper on my birthday. Just a caution, if your not willing to spend £100+ for one night DON'T BOOK HERE! i can't express how horrific it was. oh and i'll add, that was WITHOUT breakfast.

Room Tip: if your paying £100 or more, i'm sure your room will be lovely, if not then don't bother. ch...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I apologise you were unhappy with the room you were given and It does disappoint us when we receive reviews of a negative nature. We are currently carrying out a refurbishment & maintenance program within the hotel so rooms are constantly being upgraded, I have checked the room and had the maintenance team in to fix the the window which was reported also by our housekeeping team on the morning of your departure, also a new bed has been put in the room. Should you have cause to stay with us again please contact the hotel directly and mention this and I will, subject to availability upgrade you to one of our superior executive rooms, to allow us to restore your faith in the Westminster. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belgrave Hotel
Belgrave Hotel
#40 of 44 in Chester
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,443 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £34 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Inn Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing