We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely couple of days in Chester” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Inn Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely couple of days in Chester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had a lovely couple of days in Chester, staying at The Westminster Hotel. We couldn't have been better looked after .The staff looked after us from the moment we arrived,nothing was too much trouble . We had booked an evening meal really glad we had, the food was excellent quality and the service was first class (I am in the catering trade and couldn't be bettered for the price we paid.)Drinks formed part of our package (wine and two drinks vouchers)and breakfast,all this for £99 per room.The room was comfortable, could have been a little more up dated and cleaner( hotel take note) , but all in all a good break at a good price.Yes I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carole w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Carole w,

Thank you for your review and taking time out to comment on your stay, we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    242
    235
    166
    124
See reviews for
84
392
36
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Westminster last night and couldn't have asked for more exceptional and attentive service. From the moment we arrived, the staff and manager couldn't do enough to look after us and make us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. There were two gentlemen behind the bar, James and Nick, both of whom looked after us exceptionally well without being intrusive. Both members of staff that I encountered on reception (Paul and Kirsty) were very welcoming and happy to assist. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rach2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Rach2101

Thank you for taking time to respond and review your stay, I am very pleased you enjoyed your visit and will pass on your comments and recognition to the team members and hopefully you will stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

As a Chester resident with a friend wanting to experience the city we thought the Westminster would be ideal but how wrong we were,the price included complimentary drinks on arrival which we didn't get,the tea cups in the room had tea rings on the inside along with dirty water,all that had been done is a quick rinse under the tap,not nice.
We weren't allowed to use the bars due to a private party and after being told what time we could order food up until we were then told the dining area was being used by a private party so were advised to go the the nearby put to eat,being treated like second class guests was not a good way to welcome someone to Chester.
The bed was lumpy and was two singles pushed together leaving an uncomfortable raised central line, the window frame was also rotting and mouldy and to top off that my friend was over charged and is not even sure they will refund her.
I would not recommend or advise other's to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I'd booked a festive treat via Laterooms which included a complimentary drink etc, after checking in and being directed to our room, not only had some of the light bulbs blown, plasterwork was crumbling from around the windows and the mugs left as part of the tea making facility were filthy with tea rings and stagnant water, the television basically didn't operate effectively either together with the room itself being quite dirty. On reporting these issues, we went searching for the restaurant, although there was a private function, this hotel boasts 3 restaurants and 2 bars....we were told to head to the restaurant prior to 9pm to order, then told that we MAY be able to order a light meal if chef was able to accomodate us....I suggested that we perhaps use the aforementioned facilities but we were told that if we wanted to eat or drink, we would need to visit the pub next door....needless to say, we received a much improved service at the pub! to cut a very long story short....this experience ruined what was supposed to be a pleasant pre Christmas treat and to rub salt in the wound,I arrived home to find that not only had the hotel overcharged me but disconnected my call when I rang to complain....I really wouldn't bother using this establishment with alternative options within easy reach of Chester city centre.....the only plus point was its proximity to the station.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Can't comment on the actual rooms in the hotel but visited here on 12/12 for a works Xmas do. Took advantage of the fully inclusive package which was £39.95 pp and Included Buck's Fizz and canapés on arrival, a three course carvery meal, wine and beer with the meal then after the meal a fully inclusive bar, a disco and at midnight mini fish and chips! Can't complain at all! The service was fab and the food was amazing! Defo will book to go back next year!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank blondiexx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

stayed for three days 10th/13th Dec 2013 could not switch the radiator off in our room like a sauna had to sleep with window open our friends had no heating in bedroom also there phone didn't work they couldn't even sit down on the toilet unless they sat side saddle!!!.parking is a problem £10 a day across the road, we tried to book an evening meal but we were told no it was not possible even tho we were staying there, plates were cold at breakfast not got a nice thing to say about this hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terence a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#40 of 45 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Property: Hallmark Inn Chester
Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Inn Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing