We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrible”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Having booked in advance to stop here for my first visit to Chester with partner, I was looking forward to our stay. What a disappointment it was. We were given room 211 which was on the second floor and then up a direct v steep set of stairs to what I can only describe as a loft! Also Trying to manage a suitcase up the stairs was a nightmare.
The room it's self is the size of a dog kennel, small and smelly. The decor was dated, the tv had 4 channels, the bed was lumpy and hard and the bathroom was tiny, the shower was cold and dripped more than ran. There was only a ceiling window which took a great struggle to open ,so got hardly any light and when It started to rain we had to close it as rain poured in . I did complain at reception who did say she would upgrade our room, I was shown in the room only to discover it was vacant! How professional! After another complaint we were then given a room at the sister hotel opposite, this was a better standard but got no sleep as our room was next to a corridor door which slammed all night! Overall not impressed with best western, and they will be informed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adunn1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    259
    249
    174
    132
See reviews for
90
433
37
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Only stayed for 1 night but would happily return for several nights. The room was a little small but spotlessly clean. The bathroom was fab. Great shower pressure and spotlessly clean. Tea/coffee facilities in room. Hotel clean and tidy and the bar/lounge area clean and tidy. Drinks average hotel prices, £12 .99 for a bottle of wine. As we were on a coach trip I would not recommend the evening meal as it was badly organised and just warm, however there were people eating in the bar and their food looked fine. The breakfast is however buffet style, plenty of it. hot and very good choice. The hotel is situated just 10 mins walk from the town centre and surrounded by good restaurants and pubs within very short walking distance. Also just a few minutes walk from the train station.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3ohappycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear 3ohappycouple,

Thank you for your kind review we will look forwards to welcoming you back soon hopefully.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is lovely, the rooms are warm, comfortable and clean. Take away the staff and the stay would have been perfect.
On many occasions they have fallen short of 'the basics' which are required for good customer service (not attending to reception, talking on mobiles, anything asked of them was a chore and a smile from anyone was clearly too much to ask for)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ska83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Ska83

Thank you for the review and please accept my apologies, I will speak to all the staff on duty during your stay and make sure that they are reminded of our companies customer service values and make sure that all their training is revisited. I will also make sure they all see a copy of this review.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

booked room only for a weekend in chester, rooms were clean and tidy but a bit on the cramped side, car parking a it steep at £15 a day at the Queens best western across the road best use pub next door for only £5 a day. hotel was only a 10-15 minute walk into town center and really close to train station. I would go back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Briff,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay an hopefully we will welcome you back at the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Terrible if that's best western quality never again very poor service supposed to be 24 hour room service was told none available staff miserable if they don't want to work in a hotel and be pleasant try a new career.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Ian H,

I do apologise sincerely that you had a problem with room service, as we offer a selective cold service menu 24 hours I will investigate with my Night Manager as to why you were unable to be served this during your stay. I will also speak to my team as is unusual to receive comments such as yours as they do pride themselves with their customer service and undergo high levels of training for this.
Once again my apologies.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My wife and I booked this for the proximity to the station, and we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of accommodation, the breakfast and the attentive attitude of all the staff.For the price of a double room with breakfast, this must be one of the best value hotels in Chester.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Steve H,

Thank you for a lovely review, I will pass your comments onto the staff, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel along with another couple for a weekend break between Christmas and New Year. We found the hotel to be clean and tidy and within easy walking distance of the centre of Chester. The hotel is a little dated but the staff were friendly. The breakfast was adequate, basically you get what you pay for. The parking charges were expensive, however you can park in the pub car park next door much cheaper. If you want luxury this isn't the place for you but I would recommend it for a reasonably priced short break.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Sue B

Thank you for responding with a review, hopefully we will welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#40 of 44 in Chester
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
695 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Property: Hallmark Inn Chester
Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Inn Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing