We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Just back from a one night stay and cannot fault it. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room had all we needed and clean. All the complaints on here must have been unlucky or expecting 5* which it aint trying to be. If I had one complaint and was to be pushed shower screen in our room 211 is tired and needs replacing end of. Will return

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Dan B

Many thanks for taking the time to review, we hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    250
    239
    170
    129
See reviews for
86
408
37
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed here for two nights 7th and 8th february for a short break with my fiancee, i have stayed here before on business but never really took the time to appreciate the charm of the old building which only adds to the overall experience of chester itself. We upgraded to an executive room which was very spacious and clean with a really comfortable bed which if my fiancee hadnt of dragged me out of I could of stayed in all day. Breakfast was included with our room and was very nice even in a buffet setting but we found this better as it meant you could get exactly what you wanted. The drinks range in the hotel was good which we enjoyed both nights after a long day exploring the city with the staff although very busy all too happy to stop and talk with us about the city giving us vital information of where to go during our time in Chester.

We found the staff very helpful and never saw one of them without a smile on their face which really makes this hotel as it automatically puts you at ease anything we needed or asked was never too much trouble.

we have nothing bad to say about this hotel and will be happy to return again and again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186337Griff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear 186337Grif79

Wow, what a lovely review, many thanks for taking the time to submit this and I am very happy you had a great stay I shall pass all of your kind comments on the staff
Hopefully we will welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here twice last week. Once on the second floor where my room was a little tired, with old fashioned TV, and secondly on the first floor in a bigger room with new bathroom and all mod cons.

Both nights I slept extremely well, despite a busy road outside, and the only thing missing was a shower cap which was not provided. Difficult to have a shower with a fixed head if you don't want to wash your hair!

We had drinks in the bar and dinner on both occasions which was super, beautifully cooked and served. Nothing was too much trouble, and the staff were incredibly helpful.

Breakfast was very nice with good coffee.

A morning paper was provided on request, we were given a map and directions to our destination, bags were carried and we were very impressed with the customer service.

Many thanks, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Westminster.

Room Tip: Take your own shower cap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear LisaDH

Thank you for your review and taking the time to post your comments, I shall pass on all detail to the team and we hope you will return again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quite dated; most walls could do with a lick of paint and the bathroom needed completely re-tiling. The bed was fine. My partner and I only stayed for one night and we weren't at the hotel much so it was fine for a short stay but wouldn't want to stay any longer. It's very close to the train station which is great, about 10min walk in to the city centre. Breakfast wasn't included in our price so I can't comment on that.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is very close to the train station and only a 10 minute walk to the town centre.
Good points: room door has a chain inside for security, the room was warm, reasonably clean, free WiFi, a suitcase stand and woodern hangers. There is an ornate wooden staircase to the rooms but this is less down by worn carpet.
The decor is dated and the whole place would benefit a lick of paint. The TV in the room only had 5 channels and the remote was dirty with exposed batteries, little things like this spoil what could be a 3* budget hotel.
I have scored one less point as the room I had on the 2nd floor overlooked the road and the noise was constant. I know that is is not always easy to glaze windows of old buildings but the window let in draughts as well as the noise. I did not sleep well and would ask for a room at the back if I had to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from the road that leads to the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Two night, business trip in January. Got an upgraded room as a bw card holder. Furnishings ok, but overall impression is "grubby", with cobwebs on the light fittings, dust on shelves, that sort of thing. Bathroom was ok, but the standard of finish in the fittings was poor (water pouring down from the shower screen,despite liberal application of silicone sealant).
Windows really let this place down, being ancient drafty, rattling casements. Old energy-saving lights don't help the dark colour scheme.
Breakfast buffet the first morning, but on the second day the had so few guests it was cooked to order. Tasty and fresh.
I had a steak with my colleague in the restaurant one night: again well cooked, but the we were the only diners.
Beer was poor: Guinness, bitter and lager all being rejected as sour. We were reduced to drinking cider or bottled peroni. Obviously didn't have enough guests to keep the flow moving and the pipes clean

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Property: Hallmark Inn Chester
Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Inn Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing