We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to be avoided”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Chester
lichfield
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“to be avoided”
Reviewed 28 July 2010

stayed for 2 nights as a treat for our daughter , we were told our room had been changed to the largest in the hotel to give us more room. yes the room was large on the 3rd floor but it was dirty and shabby ,we had booked for dinner bed and breakfast and
ate in the retaurant the first night i ordered salmon with seasonal veg and roated peppers well there was a small salmon fillet smothered in huge chunks of peppers my 16yr old cooks better food potatoe wedge s were grey in colour and greasy.
on checking out we were overcharged by £70.00 good job we check our bill -although i have complained to both best western and direct to the hotel to date we have not had a reply from Mr Jones the Manager i hope he reads this now - do something about it!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    263
    252
    176
    133
See reviews for
92
441
40
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Best Western – A well-known hotel chain. This was the reason for booking this hotel. After checking in we walked down the corridor on the 1st floor to our room 125. The corridor smelled very fusty. Upon entering our tiny room, the smell of damp hit you. There was damp on the far wall and ceiling, the wallpaper was coming off. In the bathroom we were met by further damp and mould and the bath had a crack in it.
Other things in the room – poor pain jobs and cracked tiles, generally just awful.

My partner went and asked the receptionist for another room due to the damp problem– he was given one with no questions asked (which straight away told us that they are aware of all the problems, but just don’t do anything about them) . The 2nd room was better but still not up to standard.

Although the staff are very friendly I would say don’t stop here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m12-c4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Good location. 5min walk from centre of Chester. Clean room, large bed, Free bar between 5-7pm fantastic value, wide range of beer, lager, wine, spirits available.
Plentiful varied choice for breakfast - delicious. Helpful staff. Very handy for station. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moscowgaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed one night at this hotel and it was one night too long. The young man on reception was uninterested and unhelpful. The room was in an appalling state. There was a hole in the wall, the paper was peeling off the ceiling and walls, the furniture was old, worn and stained. The room was far too small to be a double, it might just make a single if it were redecorated. I complained about the state of the room but got nowhere. It seems some rooms have been re-furbished and are probably ok, but it's pot luck if you get one of these. The worst hotel I have stayed in for a long time, and the "couldnt care less" attitude of the reception staff makes it worse. Avoid this horrible place.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somersetcple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
1,020 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 578 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

I think this is an average hotel and fine for the money. I spent ages looking for a cheap decent hotel near Chester train station and this was the cheapest I could find.

Check in was fast and efficient and the reception staff were friendly. The communal parts of the hotel are very clean and were decorated nicely.

Our room was a bit dated (e.g. old TV and furniture) which we expected so that was fine. We had a room at the back so it was quite dark but it as quiet so we had a good night's rest. The bed was huge and very comfortable although one of the sheets had a couple of small holes in which I wasn't very impressed with. The room itself had a few cobwebs that hadn't been brushed away in the corners of the high ceilings and the bathroom was quite basic but functional albeit a little dusty. The shower was hot and powerful and there were also tea and coffee making facilities with some biscuits. The hotel seems quite old with creaky floor boards which was a little annoying when my partner got up for the bathroom in the night.

The breakfast was good, a great selection of cereals, breads, fruit, yoghurts and hot food with coffee and toast brought to the table.

All in all, if I'm just looking for a decent hotel near the station for somewhere to sleep then I wouldn't hesitate staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Friendly staff from the moment we arrived.
Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwindonNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

My husband and I stayed here for two nights as part of a large group on a coach tour of Chester.
The hotel, while clean and comfortable, is definitely in need of a refurbishment and redecoration to bring it up to date. Our room was tiny and there were damp patches on the walls and some peeling wallpaper, although the bedlinen was crisp and clean and the bed was lovely and comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities are available in the room along with shampoo, shower gel and soap in the bathroom. The shower was really powerful.
We stayed on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis and the dinners, whilst being adequate, were nothing out of the ordinary. Service was fairly quick. The breakfast selection and quality of food was fantastic though; normally I'm a cereal-and-toast person but I couldn't resist indulging in the full English this time, which was plentiful and delicious.
Bar prices were quite expensive but not as bad as some hotels I've stayed in.
The hotel is located 10 minutes walk from the city centre which is excellent. There are quite a few pubs located just a few minutes away (I recommend "The Town Crier" situated just next door, with a beer garden) and we found that the drinks prices are fairly cheap - £1.89 for a pint of beer and £1.80 for a 175ml glass of wine. Even the hotel staff defected to the pub next door once they'd finished their shift.
All in all, for a weekend break I'd say the hotel is fine, as long as you're not expecting the Ritz. I'd probably stay there again if the occasion arose.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bollinger_Babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#40 of 44 in Chester
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
716 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
1.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Property: Hallmark Inn Chester
Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Inn Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing