We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Uk Hotel we have ever stayed in!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leeds
1 review
“The best Uk Hotel we have ever stayed in!!!!!!”
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Me and my girlfriend decided that we would invest in a nice relaxing weekend at Doubletree by Hilton in Chester. We would like to thank the members of staff who were very welcoming and helpful throughout the whole weekend. The leisure centre and spa boast the best facilities whilst the food is out of this world. I would recommend this hotel to any of my family and friends and cannot wait to back again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank formulaonevinnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay at Doubletree Chester.

It is lovely to hear that we exceeded your expectations and your experience was an enjoyable one.
Your feedback is most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,378
    911
    403
    167
    91
See reviews for
451
1,433
51
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Booked this hotel as a Hilton Honours Member but other than a free drink (wine, soft drink or tea/coffee)it made no difference. We were allocated a room overlooking the vents with a small window, the top half of which the seal had gone and it was misted over and the bath had chunks of enamel missing. The safe had been closed which meant that we had to call reception for someone to open it so we could use it. It took over 6minutes for reception to answer. Problem was sorted swiftly however after that.
It was my husband's birthday which was why we were there, and they provided a cake which was a nice touch.
We booked d,b&b thinking we could use the Marco Pierre White restaurant but surprise, surprise that restaurant is not included in those rates. Consequently we ate in the restaurant. Meal was great but beware, it does not come with vegetables although they are available as a side order. The waitress did not point this out so we went without and they missed a sale. Service was appallingly slow and the staff were very uninterested. We were not offered tea/coffee after our plates were removed so went to the bar and had a few drinks there before retiring to bed. After being in our room approx 10mins we were telephoned to say we had not signed our bill. I pointed out that if anyone had been interested we had been sitting around for over 1 hour. When the waitress came to our room for our signature she was very apologetic and said she would speak to the restaurant manager and then us at breakfast.
The bill under our door in the morning was a big shock...charged for the meal (we were dinner b&b) and charged for tips which we had not authorised, not a surprise seeming as though we had complained re the service. The receptionist said she wold sort it "no problem". I should think an apology would be more appropriate.
After speaking to the Front of House manager she refunded the price of the drinks and agreed that it was not an acceptable standard for a Hilton Hotel.

We had a good deal for the Spa courtesy of groupon and it was a great experience. The facilities are great and the staff very pleasant. You can easily spend a day here. I suggest taking a bottle for water as there are no cups, just a water fountain, and something to read. In other spas that I have been to there is reading material around, albeit usually damp, but not here. There is a warm aroma room with subtle flowery aroma, a hotter Hamman and hotter still steam room plus a sauna. The pool is narrow but clean and there is a big jaccuzi area, including a flattened area where you can actually lie down. The jacuzzi area goes outside where there is an area with sliding roof which was very pleasant in the sun.
Ate at the Marco Pierre Restaurant before leaving. Good deal on Mon/Tues between 6 and 7pm. Meal very good, limited choice off set menu but Table d'Hote was more varied. Service lovely and setting elegant.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

I apologise again for the issues you experienced in the Brasserie during your stay, I did speak with you on the morning of your departure, and the comments you made have been adressed with the Food and Beverage Manager also.
The restaurant allocation for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast should have been made clear at booking stage. It does state this information on the website however, I am unclear as to whether you booked online or over the phone.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the spa experience and your meal in the Marco Pierre White Restaurant and I do hope that you will consider staying at the hotel in the future to give us the oppertunity to restore your faith in the hotel.

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Just arrived back from a 2 night stay, lovely hotel and very impressive grounds! Breakfast was lovely, dined in MPW restaurant which was fantastic! Will definitely be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenDraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Chester.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Doubletree and you were able to make use of the great dining facilities we have on offer here.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to the hotel

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Great hotel, excellent facilities especially the gym and spa and the rooms were modern, clean and quiet. The staff are very helpful and Marco's restaurant didn't dissappoint either. Don't think we could stay anywhere else when in Chester.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 27 March 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Doubletree Chester. It is lovely to receive such positive feedback regarding the staff and the facilities.

Your comments are greatly appeciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2011

The hotel itself was amazing to high standards everything you could ever ask for is there the standards are high and staff are excellent you have everything there from swimming pools a gym sauna's jacuzzi's it was an excellent experience and definatley go there again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 27 March 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at the Doubletree on your recent visit to Chester.

Your feedback is much appreciated and it is fantastic to hear that you were more than satisfied with the standard of service and facilities you received during your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Had a weekend off work so booked to go here last minute. Arrived early evening and check in was quick with the obligitory cookie which was yummy! Our room was a standard guest room but was spacious and had the comfiest and biggest bed ever.

Went to the the bar for a drink which was free as we are silver members which we werent expecting so was a nice suprise. There was a great atmosphere with a range of guests from young families to couples young and old. Hotel generally had a nice feel to it.

Had room service that night as it was a last minute stay. Had the chicken caprese and the club sandwich which were really nice. We asked the server for the dessert of the day which we didnt like and they offered us an alternative of fugde cake and carrot cake - FAB!

Breakfast was great and not busy as we had expected. Had a look round the hotel before leaving particulary the spa which we had a tour of from the receptionist who was very friendly and helpful.

The only blip was on entering the room there were no toiletries and the room appeared to be serviced for a single occupant. Went to reception and they were very helpful and took the missing things up to our room straight away - great service!

Didnt spend enough time here, so already booked to go again for two nights in Spring to check out the spa and the Marco Pierre White restaurant. A great hotel, not in the centre of Chester, but would reccommend to all.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 27 March 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree for your recent last minute getaway.

Our aim is to provide exceptional service and facilities, so i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the service you received met your expectations.

It is fantastic that you have re-booked to come again soon, and i'm sure you will have a lovely meal in the Marco Pierre White restaurant and enjoy the spa experience!

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for one night booked with a special offer we decided to go for a junior suite.

The location of the hotel was lovely just a stones throw from Chester center and close to the motorway! We stayed on a Sunday evening after visiting Chester zoo (which is lovely) check in went smoothly and the gentleman checking us in was very pleasant taking concern about our day and the warm cookie was a lovely added touch!

The suite we had was the de hoole suite which was lovely, very clean and tidy with the revolving tv so you can watch at the sofa or the bed! Complimentary Internet was a nice touch! Large comfy bed with a good choice of pillows and a lovely big bath.

Didn't eat at the hotel but menu for marco Pierre White seemed reasonable but as it was a sunday they only serve a sunday lunch. All in all I would recommend this hotel for Chester, Chester zoo, cheshire oaks or discovering countryside.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmy_Lou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 27 March 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel on your recent visit to chester.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your break with us and equally the local tourist attractions on offer.

Your feedback is much appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,632 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,149 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,367 reviews
9.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing