We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Wonderful spa and gym facilities. Great breakfast, nice rooms. Nice touch, being able to dine at MPW. Easy access into Chester by bus or Taxi (taxi to train station only £5 through hotel reception, what a bargain!). Plenty to do in Chester for a long weekend/short break. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhvvgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable and relaxing break away with us and that you were happy with the service and facilities you received during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,974 - 2,980 of 3,196 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2011

This is a very welcoming hotel with hot chocolate cookies- lovely.
The hotel is clean with good sized rooms. Location is good and with a regular every half hour bus into Chester right outside the hotel.
Breakfast was very busy properly because there was a wedding on, but still had everything we needed.
Good place to stay as a base to visit Chester

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_J007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent visit to chester.

I am delighted to hear that the hotel was suitably located for your needs and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to chester

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

My wife and I stayed here last weekend:-) it was absolute pure luxury from arrival to departure! The hotel boasts a 1st class Spa and health club as well as the famous Marco Pierre White restaurant all surrounded in buetifull grounds. The only niggle i had was the pillows in room were on the soft side and prefer the firm type !! But that's my preference.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is fantastic to hear that you were happy with your stay and impressed by the facilities on offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the Doubletree in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Just stayed here 2 night...wow...great service and food......we had dinner both nights, dinner in the Brasserie was eaxcellent overloking the walled gardens, and is very reasonably priced!! next night was in the Marco Pierre White restaurant which was out of this world, great service and the steak was one of the very best. As for the overall hotel the rooms were clean and well appointed, and the Healthe club/spa was absolute the icing on the cake....LUXUARY!!....and we will be both back soon! Thank you for a very romantiv break!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz776615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel on your recent visit to chester.

I am pleased that you were impressed with the service and facilities you received during your two night stay, and its great to hear that you were able to experience both restaurants, and were more than satisfied with the food.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Everything ran smoothly from the initial check-in to the final morning. All of the staff that I encountered were professional, helpful and friendly.
My room was fine - well proportioned and perfectly adequate for my needs.
I was very pleased with the free internet access which was easy to connect to.
I enjoyed the use of the swimming pool and various steam rooms, I was disappointed that the hydrotherapy pool wasn't available but appreciate that maintenance has to take place at some time.
The food was very good, well presented and plentiful.
On the whole a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winniefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

It is great to hear that your had an enjoyable experience and were able to make use of the many facilities on offer at the hotel.
It is lovely to receive such positvive feedback not only about the facilities but the members of staff, who are often praised for their polite and attentive attitude, your comments are most appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Warm welcome, attention to detail, rooms excellent, food fabulous! Lovely conservatory.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasonedtraveller058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Staying at the Doubletree Chester for a leisure weekend was fantastic, the rooms, spa location was lovely cannot fault and would highly recommend. Avoid Marco Pierre White's restaurant which is located in the Doubletree hotel, the food portions were unbeliavable, We had the set menu and the bill came to £60 with 2 glasses of wine, the presentation of the food was lovely but the quantity was terrible. I wouldn't go again. We left and an hour later and ordered room service. Overpriced under-portioned and dissapointing. You will leave as you entered - hungry! The hotel restaurant on the other hand was fantastic and highly recommended, Our weekend stay was lovely from the welcomeat reception to the rooms, spa and the location. Give it a go you will not be dissapointed! Can't wait to re-book again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at the Doubletree on your recent visit to Chester.

Your feedback is very welcome, and it is lovely to hear that you were impressed with the facilities on offer, though it is dissapointing that you were not as satisfied with the food portions in the Marco Pierre White restaurant!
It is fantastic that this has not dettered you from booking again in the future however, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,780 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,594 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,182 reviews
9.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £63 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing