We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb, waiting for next time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Liverpool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb, waiting for next time”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

A lovely hotel, a warm welcome at reception with a warm cookie to eat as well, rom was very clean with a "large" bed. Food was excellent both in the Brasserie and the Marco Pierre White restaurant. All the staff were very attentive. I don't think you can ask for better.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LegsLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay.

It is fantastic to hear that you were delighted with the facilities and service you received during your visit.

We aim to provide a warm and welcoming experience for our guests on arrival and i am delighted that we acheived this.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    883
    392
    154
    85
See reviews for
430
1,388
49
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one night in June and loved our stay. Big room, comfy bed, great spa facilities (especially loved the jacuzzis). Had dinner in the Marco Pierre White restaurant - food was lovely and thought it was very good value for money. Buffet breakfast was varied and plentiful. Would love to go back for longer and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel on your recent visit to chester.

It is fantastic that we have met your expectations and you had an enjoyable stay with us in June.
Your feedback on the room, spa and dining facilities is appreciated, it is great to hear that you were pleased with the quality of the food and the facilities provided and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to chester.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The doubletree is a modern hotel with fantastic spa facilities. If you have children the one problem is they are not allowed in swimming pool until 4pm which if you have been out all day isn't a problem but if youre just staying for those facilities then you can be hanging around waiting for it to open. I have stayed in this hotel on many occasion and it is always very clean and the breakfast is great. It is a car ride into Chester itself buy taxi only costs about 4 per trip and you can pay that for parking in Chester centre if you don't know where you're going. Look out for special prices as it can be expensive if you book direct. I have always booked through travel republic paying between 60-80 pounds a night for room with breakfast for 2. Big garden for kids to run around whilst you have coffee/alcoholic drink and you can sit and watch. Friendly staff and yummy chocolate biscuits free when you check in. Only downside hotel lacks a bit of character

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

Unfortunately, we do have to restrict the childrens swim times to a few hours in the morning and a few hours in the afternoon due to the number of members the club has, but i am pleased that you were still able to make use of them.

It's fantastic to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and it's great that you have stayed with us many times previously.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Make sure you check your spa booking, my booking was made 2 months earlier, but we were not booked in on the day we arrived. It was sorted but not ideal. The hotel was really lovely and the room was very nice, some staff did not know the products very well on the bar but the service overall was very good and I would definitely go back there

Room Tip: The dinner bed and breakfast deal is fantastic value, we paid £141
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelleandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay.

It is very dissapointing to hear that your treatments were not booked in on your arrival, although this was sorted out for you, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.
However, It is great that you enjoyed you stay overall and you were pleased with the service and facilities provided during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Stayed here with my husband and the hotel lived up to our expectiations
Very clean and friendly staff.

We will visit again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthGilboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your visit to Chester.

I am pleased that the hotel lived up to your expectations and you were satisfied by the cleanliness and service of our staff.

It is great to hear you will return to the hotel in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnbroe, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Overall, a lovely hotel and acceptable value for money - we paid just over £130 for a one night stay including breakfast.

We stayed in a garden suite - excellent with a separate sleeping area for our children, two flatscreen TVs and fridge stocked with still mineral water. Bathrobe and slippers provided for use in the fantastic spa which we all loved.

Breakfast was fine, not the best but just what I expected. Beautiful grounds and room for our children to have a playabout safely.

Really poor service in the bar; we asked for a cocktail menu which seemed to be a problem - it took over 15 mins for the waiter to locate one, by which time we had to leave as we had a dinner reservation in Chester. I had really been looking forward to my cocktail as well - so a bit disappointed!

Chester city centre is easily accessible via taxi which was £7 each way.

Room Tip: book a garden suite if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that you were more than satisfied with the room and spa facilities provided.

I do apologise however, for the poor service you experienced in the bar regarding your cocktail order, I will ensure your comments are relayed to the Manager so that training can be reviewed with the staff members as a matter of urgency.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights as a base for exploring Chester. Overall great value for money, the room was average size and clean, bar area not bad but quite small, the breakfasts (buffet style) were ok but we have had better elsewhere. We had a great meal in the Marco Pierre White restaurant, the food and service were excellent, but there are lots of great places to eat in Chester so only ate at the hotel once. Only downside was on the second night they had a function going on and the music was ridiculously loud in our room so we had to complain to reception. Overall a good hotel in a nice setting and we would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinaColada20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent visit to Chester.

It is great to hear that you were satisfied with the facilities and that you particularly enjoyed your meal in the Marco Pierre White restaurant during your stay.

Your feedback is important to us and I sincerely apologise for the inconvinience caused by the noise, however, I am glad this did not marr your stay and that you would stay with us again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing