We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for Chester and Cheshire Oaks Shopping Village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location for Chester and Cheshire Oaks Shopping Village”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Nicely refurbished Hotel - formerly a Country House, on the outskirts of Chester. Easy to access from M53 and A55/A483 on the Warrington/Hoole Road. The Hotel retains some of its olde world character with it's Georgian facade and charming fountain, pond and gardens. It has merged with the present day with its modern clean, comfortable rooms. A warm cookie awaits you on arrival (simply delicious!) and the front of house staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. Free internet and a plentiful supply of tea, coffee and biscuits in our King sized bed guestroom. Crabtree and Evelyn quality toiletries in a clean and modern bathroom and soft fluffy towels galore! There is a Marco Pierre White restaurant which looked inviting but unfortunately we had made other plans for dinner - perhaps next time... The Spa and swimming pool were closed for refurbishment - but as we had been advised of this, it was not a problem. Breakfast was busy but we were shown to our table straight away and informed that breakfast was a 'serve yourself' buffet. The food was plentiful, even though we were close to the 1000am cut off point. A variety of choices from Continental, to full English with a healthy fruit/yogurt option were available. We sat in a lovely light and airy part of the conservatory - ie glazed panel at the bottom and open to the elements at the top - looking on to the garden (which to add to our delight was warm and sunny)! Cheshire Oaks Shopping Village is literally ten minutes away in the car (Head North on the M53 towards Liverpool and you practically fall into it)! A Haven for shopping enthusiasts with many designer outlets, various eateries and next door at the Coloseum - a Cinema and other out of Town stores.

You can walk to Chester City Train Station from here- it takes approx twenty five minutes for the able bodied! You can then pick up the 'City Link' bus service which is a free ride into town - a great idea but beware, the bus gets very busy- passengers are packed in - so avoid if you suffer from claustrophobia! Alternatively, a taxi will take you directly to the Centre which is about a 7 minute ride and costs between £8-10.

In conclusion, a nice Hotel for quality clientele in an excellent location with a good range of facilities - check in advance for any proposed maintenance works! Loved the welcome cookie!! Recipe please!

Room Tip: Ask foir a quiet room and you will lose the view of the Garden but you will get a quiet wooded area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaynor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Doubletree.

It is great to hear that you were impressed by the hotel and it's location. I do apologise that you were not able to make use of the leisure faciliities on this occasion, however, I am glad you left satisfied by the overall experience and I hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Chester.

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    924
    414
    168
    93
See reviews for
462
1,457
52
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The staff, food, organisation was fantastic and we could not have chosen a better venue. We would highly recommend it. Meal night before in MPW restaurant was spot on and they even have some offers on at the moment. Thank you to Katie, David and Rob with organising everything for us.
Moira and Angela

Room Tip: The suites are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angenol27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Doubletree to celebrate your special day.

I am delighted that you had a fantastic time and that the day was a complete success. I will ensure that your thanks is passed onto the team involved, and I wish you all the very best for the future.

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This is a lovely hotel with great views and a good looking Spa. Myself and my partner stayed over night as we were going to the zoo the next day. Great location for the zoo! The staff are very nice but do need to learn how to take a joke and relax a bit, as the poor lady held back her laughter, why? I don't know. We are a fun loving couple whom like our luxury but we can still laugh and joke. The food at the steak restaurant was very nice!! 5 *. We had breakfast in bed which was fantastic and arrived on time. All in all a wonderful stay and would advise anyone to pay a visit. One little problem was that our room was very very hot, we had the air con on but was doing nothing. We mentioned this to the lady at reception on check out she did apoligise, but was completely our fault as we never complained on the night, it did lead to myself having no sleep. I hate complaining!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atashi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at the Doubletree Chester.

It is fantastic that you enjoyed the hotel and the food both in the Steakhouse and at breakfast.

I am disappointed however, that you had a problem with the air conditioning in your room, We would have been more than happy to rectify the issue for you at the time rather than you leave unsatisfied, but I am glad that this did not tarnish your stay and you would happily return and recommend the hotel.

Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed last Friday for the one night to enjoy an evening in Chester. Beautiful looking hotel, staff very helpful and friendly and breakfast was absolutely fantastic. Easy to get into Chester with the bus stop right outside the gates and grabbed a short taxi journey back (less than a fiver). Would advise to shop around for room rates as they seem to vary ALOT. We booked a room through Travel Republic which we found to be the cheapest but also worth checking Laterooms etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiggersBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent visit to Chester.

We aim to provide a warm and comfortable enviroment for our guests, so it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, and found the staff friendly and helpful.

The rates can vary a litle depending on our availability, but there are often great promotions available online to book.

We appreciate your feedback, and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed at the Doubletree by Hilton Chester for 2 nights at the end of November 2009 (a while ago I know but have only recently joined TripAdvisor). To sum it up in one word... perfect.

The location is good, a short taxi ride from the centre of Chester (which the hotel will arrange for you) and a short walk to the local pub should you not want to eat in the hotel. Staff were welcoming and helpful and check in was efficient, with a smile and a warm chocolate chip cookie!

We stayed in a Junior Suite which was spacious and modern... it was even large enough for the 6ft Christmas tree that was next to the sofa! The lounge area featured a bookcase, desk, sofa, recliner chair, coffee table and partition wall containing a large TV and DVD player that could be turned to face the lounge or bedroom areas. The bedroom had a table and chairs and very comfortable king sized bed. The bathroom was massive with a huge bath and separate walk in shower. The room was very comfortable and had everything you could possibly need.

The spa had only just opened when we stayed and was very pleasant and finished to a high standard (small swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool and bio-thermal rooms). Although it wasn’t busy when we stayed, it wasn’t the largest so could possibly get busy at peak times.

Breakfast was a self service buffet and had a very good selection of hot and cold options that kept us full all day.

Overall this is a fantastic hotel, finished to a high standard with friendly and welcoming staff. Would definitely recommend and like to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_Rowberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Doubletree.

It is lovely to hear that you had a fantastic experience and left the hotel satisfied with the facilities provided during your stay.
The suites are particularly nice, especially at Christmas time! and i'm pleased that you had a comfortable and enjoyable visit.

We hope that you will return to the hotel again in the future, and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Myself and 8 other girls stayed here last weekend for a hen do and it was fab! We used the hotel spa which was lovely and had lunch at the spa terrace restaurant- again lovely!
At check in we each had warm cookies from reception, very yummy!! The room was clean and had tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits, a comfy bed, plasma tv, hairdryer, decent shower and nice towels.
Breakfast was very nice, there was a wide range of food on offer- full english, cereals, pastries, juices, tea and coffee etc. The staff were friendly here and i would definitey stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I am pleased that you had a lovely weekend and you were satisfied with the facilities and service you received during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

What a lovely hotel. Location was lovely £6 in a taxi to the town centre but away from the all the noise. The rooms were spotless and when requesting extra towels the cleaner kindly let us! Although the rooms are expensive it's worth every penny. The spa is clean and spacious and very nice for a chill out. The only thing was although the reception staff was efficient, they lacked warmth, conversation and smiles. But everything else made up for this. We will be back!!!! Thank you

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truthonlythanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent visit to Chester.

I am delighted that you were pleased with the location and facilities within the hotel.

I am disappointed however, that you felt the welcome lacked warmth, this is unusual as we pride ourselves on having friendly and efficient staff throughout the hotel, and is certainly not the norm.

It's great to hear you will return, and we look forward to giving you a warm welcome on your next visit!

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,658 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,232 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#13 of 44 in Chester
1,399 reviews
9.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing